DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 4 April 2023.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 5 October 2020.
Response to Arguments
The specification objections have been withdrawn.
The claim objections have been withdrawn.
The 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks on the merits have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Yamaguchi does not teach “wherein two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors extend in the inner space of the power module and are respectively bonded to the inner DC electrical conductors”. Judging by applicants remarks, it appeared applicant thought examiner was referring to the external snubber circuit. However, the RC snubber is external, the internal capacitor is clearly shown within the module. As such, this argument is not persuasive. Even if the office pointed to the external capacitor however,, making things separate or integral (MPEP 2144.04V) is not patentable nor is changing the location of parts (MPEP 2144.04VI). As such, the rejection should (unfortunately) be sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12, 15, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (US 20120106220).
As to claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses Electrical system comprising: a power module (Fig. 7) comprising: a first substrate (26n), a second substrate (26p) facing said first substrate, the first and second substrates defining between them an inner space of the power module (the encapsulated area between the two substrates), two switches (Swp, Swn) connected in series, forming a switching leg and supported by the first or second substrate (Fig. 1 is supported by 26p or 26n, depending on which way gravity/normal force goes) and extending in the inner space (20, area between switches and SC) of the power module, and inner electrical conductors extending in the inner space (26p, 24p, 34p, 36, 24n, 34n, 26n) of the power module and connecting the switching leg, the inner electrical conductors including two inner DC electrical conductors (24p, 34n) for receiving a DC voltage; a DC link capacitor (SC) connected in parallel to the switching leg and comprising two capacitor electrical conductors (items connecting 26p SC and 26n) facing each other and extending at least partially outside the inner space (it has area outside the encapsulated space 20 between 26p/26n which are fed a differential voltage for the capacitor and switches – See Fig. 1) of the power module and respectively connected to the inner DC electrical conductors for stabilizing the DC voltage (capacitors do not change voltage quickly).
Fig. 7 does not explicitly teach an overmolding encapsulating at least partially the substrates, the switches, the inner electrical conductors, the DC link capacitor with its capacitor electrical conductors wherein two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors extend in the inner space of the power module and are respectively bonded to the inner DC electrical conductors.
Fig. 20B teaches an overmolding (70) encapsulating at least partially the substrates, the switches, the inner electrical conductors, the DC link capacitor (19) with its capacitor electrical conductors (See Fig. 20B, which shows only an RC circuit outside of the connected power module) the DC link capacitor (19) with its capacitor electrical conductors wherein two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors extend in the inner space of the power module and are respectively bonded to the inner DC electrical conductors. .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 20B to provide further protection for the power module.
He does not explicitly teach soldering. This however is old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 6144269 Claim 2, US 6407532 Claim 5, US 20150187502 Claim 15).
As to claims 3, 17, 19 Yamaguchi (Fig. 7) does not teach wherein each substrate comprises a non-conductive core layer with an inner surface oriented towards the other substrate, an inner conductive layer being applied on this inner surface of the core layer, and wherein the inner conductive layer of at least one of the substrates forms at least one of the inner DC electrical conductors (Fig. 2 discloses the non-conductive core layers with the claimed features, and the substrates are electrical conductors).
Yamaguchi Fig. 2 teaches wherein each substrate comprises a non-conductive core layer with an inner surface oriented towards the other substrate, an inner conductive layer being applied on this inner surface of the core layer, and wherein the inner conductive layer of at least one of the substrates forms at least one of the inner DC electrical conductors (Fig. 2 discloses the non-conductive core layers with the claimed features, and the substrates are electrical conductors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 2 to reduce heat losses.
As to claim 4, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the inner conductive layer of one of the substrates forms both inner DC electrical conductors (See Fig. 7).
As to claim 5, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the inner conductive layer of one of the substrates forms one of the inner DC electrical conductors and the inner conductive layer of the other of the substrates forms the other of the inner DC electrical conductors (Taught by Fig. 7).
As to claims 7-8, 16, 18, 20 Yamaguchi discloses a capacitor. He does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor electrical conductors are two electrically conducting films, wherein the films are rolled up together. However, rolled film capacitors are old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 4240127 Claim 1, US 425034 Claim 5, US 4578736 Claim 8).
As to claim 9 this appears to be a method claim corresponding to claim 1 and is obvious for similar reasons.
As to claim 10, Yagamuchi teaches further comprising: obtaining the DC link capacitor; separating two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors; and wherein connecting the capacitor electrical conductors to the inner DC electrical conductors comprises inserting the separated portions into the inner space of the power module and connecting the separated portions to the DC electrical conductors (this appears to correspond to the soldering claim above, and is obvious for similar reasons).
As to claims 12, 15 Yamaguchi (Fig.7) does not disclose wherein, for each substrate, an outer conductive layer is being applied on an outer surface of the core layer, opposite the inner surface of the core layer, and further comprising a cooling system for cooling each outer conductive layer (See Fig. 2 showing heat sinks 44/48 on the outer surface).
Yamaguchi Fig. 2 teaches wherein, for each substrate, an outer conductive layer is being applied on an outer surface of the core layer, opposite the inner surface of the core layer, and further comprising a cooling system for cooling each outer conductive layer (See Fig. 2 showing heat sinks 44/48 on the outer surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 2 to reduce heat losses.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839