DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 4 April 2023.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
The title is not descriptive. Examiner suggests Manufacturing a Half-Bridge Power Module with less Parasitic Inductance and a DC Link Capacitor.
It is both ordinary and customary to include other applications filing dates and publication dates (if available) in the background section.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 5 October 2020.
Drawings
Figure 3 is objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to for the following informalities: Generally speaking, the independent claim should refer to “An electrical system” in the preamble and the dependent claims should refer back to “The electrical system”. While what it is understood what is meant so this does not rise to a 112(b), proper antecedent basis in the independent and dependent claims are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
As to claim 1, applicant claims “two electrical conductors facing each other and extending at least partially outside the inner space”. As near as can be determined, the applicant appears to refer to items 222 and 230 in Figure 2, and neither of them appear to face each other in the drawing shown. As such, it is unclear which portion of the specification seeks protection. Also in claim 1, applicant claims substrates as well as inner conductors but then specifies in a later dependent claims that the substrates for the conductors. Generally speaking, if applicant is claiming that a specific part of something, it needs to refer back to the same part for proper antecedent basis (E.g, the source of the MOSFET). For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the conductors are part of the substrates.
As to claim 2, applicant uses “for example”. Exemplarily claim language is generally regarded as unclear per MPEP 2173.05(d). For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claim reads as “The electrical System of claim 1, wherein two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors extend in the inner space of the power module and are respectively bonded to the inner DC electrical conductors by soldering.”
Claims 4 and 5 specify that previously unique parts are now part of a larger part. This is improper antecedent basis, and may also lead to 112(d) issues.
As to claims 9, 10, 14, 17, 19, these are method steps dependent upon apparatus claims and have already had the structure corresponding to the method claimed. Generally speaking, method steps in apparatus claims are indefinite per MPEP 2713.05(p).
Claim 10 is also unclear if capacitors electrical conductors refer to the connections or the rolled conductors. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed to be the former.
Claims 2-20 depend directly or indirectly from a rejected claim and are, therefore, also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) , or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph for the reasons set above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-20 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (US 20120106220).
As to claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses Electrical system comprising: a power module (Fig. 7) comprising: a first substrate (26n), a second substrate (26p) facing said first substrate, the first and second substrates defining between them an inner space of the power module (the encapsulated area between the two substrates), two switches (Swp, Swn) connected in series, forming a switching leg and supported by the first or second substrate (Fig. 1 is supported by 26p or 26n, depending on which way gravity/normal force goes) and extending in the inner space (20, area between switches and SC) of the power module, and inner electrical conductors extending in the inner space (26p, 24p, 34p, 36, 24n, 34n, 26n) of the power module and connecting the switching leg, the inner electrical conductors including two inner DC electrical conductors (24p, 34n) for receiving a DC voltage; a DC link capacitor (SC) connected in parallel to the switching leg and comprising two capacitor electrical conductors (items connecting 26p SC and 26n) facing each other and extending at least partially outside the inner space (it has area outside the encapsulated space 20 between 26p/26n which are fed a differential voltage for the capacitor and switches – See Fig. 1) of the power module and respectively connected to the inner DC electrical conductors for stabilizing the DC voltage (capacitors do not change voltage quickly).
Fig. 7 does not explicitly teach an overmolding encapsulating at least partially the substrates, the switches, the inner electrical conductors, the DC link capacitor with its capacitor electrical conductors.
Fig. 20B teaches an overmolding (70) encapsulating at least partially the substrates, the switches, the inner electrical conductors, the DC link capacitor with its capacitor electrical conductors (See Fig. 20B, which shows only an RC circuit outside of the connected power module).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 20B to provide further protection for the power module.
As to claim 2, Yamaguchi teaches wherein two respective portions (221', 226') of the capacitor electrical conductors (221, 226) extend in the inner space (208) of the power module (107) and are respectively bonded to the inner DC electrical conductors. He does not explicitly teach soldering. This however is old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 6144269 Claim 2, US 6407532 Claim 5, US 20150187502 Claim 15).
As to claims 3, 11 Yamaguchi (Fig. 7) does not teach wherein each substrate comprises a non-conductive core layer with an inner surface oriented towards the other substrate, an inner conductive layer being applied on this inner surface of the core layer, and wherein the inner conductive layer of at least one of the substrates forms at least one of the inner DC electrical conductors (Fig. 2 discloses the non-conductive core layers with the claimed features, and the substrates are electrical conductors).
Yamaguchi Fig. 2 teaches wherein each substrate comprises a non-conductive core layer with an inner surface oriented towards the other substrate, an inner conductive layer being applied on this inner surface of the core layer, and wherein the inner conductive layer of at least one of the substrates forms at least one of the inner DC electrical conductors (Fig. 2 discloses the non-conductive core layers with the claimed features, and the substrates are electrical conductors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 2 to reduce heat losses.
As to claim 4, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the inner conductive layer of one of the substrates forms both inner DC electrical conductors (See Fig. 7).
As to claim 5, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the inner conductive layer of one of the substrates forms one of the inner DC electrical conductors and the inner conductive layer of the other of the substrates forms the other of the inner DC electrical conductors (Taught by Fig. 7).
As to claims 6, 12, 15 Yamaguchi (Fig.7) does not disclose wherein, for each substrate, an outer conductive layer is being applied on an outer surface of the core layer, opposite the inner surface of the core layer, and further comprising a cooling system for cooling each outer conductive layer (See Fig. 2 showing heat sinks 44/48 on the outer surface).
Yamaguchi Fig. 2 teaches wherein, for each substrate, an outer conductive layer is being applied on an outer surface of the core layer, opposite the inner surface of the core layer, and further comprising a cooling system for cooling each outer conductive layer (See Fig. 2 showing heat sinks 44/48 on the outer surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fig. 7 and Fig. 2 to reduce heat losses.
As to claims 7-8, 13, 16, 18, 20 Yamaguchi discloses a capacitor. He does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor electrical conductors are two electrically conducting films, wherein the films are rolled up together. However, rolled film capacitors are old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 4240127 Claim 1, US 425034 Claim 5, US 4578736 Claim 8).
As to claim 9, 14, 17, 19 Yamaguchi discloses connecting the two capacitor electrical conductors of the DC link capacitor to the inner DC electrical conductors of the power module (this has to happen in order for the capacitor to sustain a voltage); then overmolding at least partially the substrates, the switches, the inner electrical conductors and the DC link capacitor with its capacitor electrical conductors (Fig. 20B requires that the overmolding happen last, otherwise parts would be exposed).
As to claim 10, Yagamuchi teaches further comprising: obtaining the DC link capacitor; separating two respective portions of the capacitor electrical conductors; and wherein connecting the capacitor electrical conductors to the inner DC electrical conductors comprises inserting the separated portions into the inner space of the power module and connecting the separated portions to the DC electrical conductors (this appears to correspond to the soldering claim above, and is obvious for similar reasons).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839