Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim uses the word plumbum to refer to lead. Plumbum is the latin word for lead and is not used in the English language. Similar use of the term plumbum at pages 4, 12, and 48-50 is noted and should be corrected. The correct use of lead in place of plumbum would not be considered to be new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 30,34, 36, and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/12/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of group I, claims 1-3, 8-10, 13, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, and 26 in the reply filed on 2/12/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant notes the desire to rejoin the withdrawn claims upon the allowance of a base claim. As the withdrawn claims are products and the elected claims are to a process, rejoinder is typically not possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 17, 23-24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park in their publication ‘Development of highly efficient blue-emitting ZnSexTe1-x/ZnSe/ZnS quantum dots and their electroluminescence application’.
Regarding Claim 1: Park teaches a method for preparing a quantum dot. Park teaches providing several solutions a first precursor solution of zinc oleate solution comprising zinc acetate, TOP and oleic acid (Precursor for shell), a second precursor solution of zinc acetate, oleic acid and ODE (Synthesis method for alloy core), a first selenium precursor solution of DPP-Se (Synthesis method for alloy core), and a second selenium precursor of TOP-Se (ZnSe shell formation). Park teaches adding the first selenium precursor solution to the second precursor solution to form a quantum dot core, which is an intermediate of the final quantum dot. After the formation of the quantum dot, a ZnSe shell is formed upon the core (intermediate form). The intermediate is not cleaned prior to such addition. Said shell is formed by adding the first precursor solution and the second selenium precursor solution to the intermediate of the quantum dot, and making the first precursor solution, the second selenium precursor solution and the intermediate of the quantum dot react. The second selenium precursor Se-TOP has a lower reaction activity than the first selenium precursor solution containing Se-DPP (See Paragraph preceding experimental section).
Regarding Claim 2: The first and second precursor solution are zinc precursor solutions and the quantum dot contains ZnSe and is thus a ZnSe quantum dot.
Regarding Claim 3: Park teaches the growth of shell layers on the first ZnSe quantum dot to create a second ZnSe quantum dot having a core shell structure wherein the first ZnSe quantum dot is a core of the second ZnSe quantum dot. The core being a first ZnSe quantum dot further comprising Te. The first shell may be a ZnSe layer. The second shell may be a ZnS layer (See Experimental). Park shows that the first shell’s thickness may be adjusted such that it has several layers to improve characteristics (See Fig 1). Park discusses the bandgap of the various layers in the second column of page 350. Park sets forth that the core, which includes Se and Te has a narrower and gap than the Se shell. Park describes a type I band offset, which means that the shell’s VB is lower than the core’s VB and the shell’s CB is greater than the core’s CB. The bandgap of the shell is thus greater than that of the core.
Park teaches growing a shell layer on a surface of the first ZnSe quantum dot (here being a ZnSeTe/ZnSe quantum dot) to form a second ZnSe quantum dot with a core-shell structure. The ZnS layer of Park increases the particle size from 10 to 12 nm (See Page 353). An atomic layer of ZnS has a monolayer thickness of about 0.3 nm.
Regarding Claim 17: The first and second zinc precursor contain the same material as a solute being zinc acetate. The first and second zinc precursor contain the same solvent being ODE (See Experimental section). The first zinc precursor contains 1 mmol zinc acetate and 5 mL of ODE. The second zinc precursor contains 8 mmol of zinc acetate and 7.5 mL of ODE. Thus the ratio of solute to solvent in the first zinc precursor solution is different from the ratio of solute to solvent in the second zinc precursor solution.
Regarding Claim 23-24: Park teaches that the first selenium precursor is provided in terms of a 1M solution of DPP-Se. In terms of the claimed ratio, this corresponds to a ratio of 1 mmol to 1 mL, 2 mmol to 2mL […] and 10 mmol to 10 mL. Park teaches that the second selenium precursor is also provided as a 1 M solution of TOP-Se, which also corresponds to a ratio of 1 mmol to 1 mL, 2 mmol to 2mL […] and 10 mmol to 10 mL. As is discussed above, the second selenium precursor of Park has a lower reaction activity than the first.
Regarding Claim 26: Both DPP (diphenylphosphine) and TOP (trioctylphosphine) are organophosphorus compounds having active electrons that may form a compound with selenium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in their publication ‘Development of highly efficient blue-emitting ZnSexTe1-x/ZnSe/ZnS quantum dots and their electroluminescence application’ as evidenced by Xu in the attached publication.
Regarding Claim 6: Park teaches a method of creating the claimed quantum dots according to the method of claims 1-3 as is discussed above.
Park teaches the growth of a shell layer on the surface of the first ZnSe quantum dot (being considered to be the ZnSeTe/ZnSe quantum dot) to form a second ZnSe quantum dot with a core-shell structure. Park teaches adding a sulfur precursor solution to the solution of the first ZnSe quantum dots to grow a first ZnS shell on the surface of the first ZnSe quantum dot to form a second ZnSe quantum dot (See Coating with the ZnS shell). Park teaches adding a sulfur precursor solution to a solution of the first ZnSe quantum dots to grow a first ZnS shell thereon. Park teaches that the sulfur precursor solution is added to the first ZnSe quantum dots at a temperature of 230C and is then heated to 320C.
Park is silent as to the addition of the sulfur precursor at 300C.
However, as the solution is heated from 230 to 320C for processing, those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the sulfur precursor at any temperature between about 230C and 320C. Those of ordinary skill in the art would expect the addition of sulfur at any point in such a heating process to have the same effect and accomplish the same purpose.
Park teaches that the addition of the ZnS shell causes the quantum dots to increase in size from 10 to 12 nm (See Page 353). The core covers the quantum dots and thus the ZnS shell thickness must be about 1 nm. The evidentiary document to Xu teaches that ZnS has a monolayer thickness of about 0.3 nm (See first paragraph of Section 3). Thus the ZnS shell of Park must include about 3 atomic layers, which includes at least two atomic layers as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8: The sulfur precursor solution of Park is TOP-S, which is a solution containing sulfur and trioctylphosphine (TOP).
Regarding Claim 9: Park teaches the size of the quantum dot having a ZnS shell is 12 nm, which is about 10.2 nm (See Page 353).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li in US20120205598.
Park teaches the creation of ZnSe quantum dots through a method that includes the use of a first and second Selenium precursor having different reactivities and a first and second cationic precursor solution. Each of the first and second cationic precursor solutions of Park make use of Zinc.
Park is silent in terms of the use of other cations such as Pb or Cd and the creation of PbSe or CdSe.
However, Li teaches that synthetic approaches to creating quantum dots such as ZnSe may also be applied to other II-VI semiconductor compounds such as PbSe or CdSe. Li shows the creation of all of ZnSe, PbSe, and CdSe and shows that the synthetic methods of creating each are generally similar (See Examples 1-5, 7-14, 21-32). Those of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to make use of the general teachings of Park with other cations such as Pb (plumbum) or Cd (cadmium) to create similar quantum dot compositions, PbSe or CdSe, wherein the first and second precursor both comprised either Pb or Cd precursor solutions. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the same or similar effects of providing Selenium precursors of different reactivities in the creation of such a composition. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Park and Li in order to expand the compositional range of the quantum dots created and create materials having a wider range of luminescent properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 17-18, 20, 23-24 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12221575. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims teach a closely overlapping method, wherein the patented claims set forth that the first and second precursor solutions are zinc precursor solutions. The patented claims further set forth the use of a first and second selenium precursor, wherein the second selenium precursor also has a lower reactivity (See Patented Claim 1). The various solutions are added in the same combinations and order as the instantly claimed solutions. The product of the patented claims is a ZnSe quantum dot as is set forth in instant claim 2 (Re instant claim 1-2). The patented claims set forth that the quantum dot may be provided with a shell comprising ZnS (See Claim 18). The shell as set forth is necessarily grown and has a bandgap greater than the core (Re instant claim 3). Instant claim 17-18 corresponds to patented claims 6-7. The ratio of the various components in the patented claims may be the same or different. Instant claim 20 corresponds with patented claims 9-12 setting forth the identity of the various solvents and Se, Zn compounds. Instant claims 23-24 corresponds to patented claim 9 and 13. Instant claim 26 corresponds to patented claims 11-12
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22, 25-30, 34, 36-39 of copending Application No. 17/750965 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims teach a closely overlapping method, wherein the copending claims set forth that the first and second precursor solutions are zinc precursor solutions. The copending claims further set forth the use of a first and second selenium precursor, wherein the second selenium precursor also has a lower reactivity (See copending Claim 1). The various solutions are added in the same combinations and order as the instantly claimed solutions. The product of the copending claims is a ZnSe quantum dot as is set forth in instant claim 2 or a CdSe or PbSe quantum dot as is set froth in copending claim 21 or 22 (Re: instant claim 1-2 and 21). Copending claims 3-5 collectively correspond to instant claim 3. Copending claim 7 generally corresponds to instant claim 6. Copending claim 8 corresponds to instant claim 8. Copending Claim 9 corresponds to instant claim 9. Copending claims 10-12 collectively correspond to instant claim 10. Copending claim 13-14 correspond to instant claim 13. Copending claim 15-16 correspond to instant claim 15. Copending claim 17-19 correspond to instant claim 17-18. Copending claim 20 corresponds to instant claim 20. Copending claim 21-22 correspond to instant claim 21. Copending claims 39-39 correspond to instant claims 23-24. Correspond claim 26 corresponds to instant claim 26
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO2022108360 is noted as using a first and second Se precursor with different reactivity in addition to precursors for at least Zn, Te, and S. The teachings of ‘360 may be applied to the independent claim to a similar extent as the reference to Park cited above.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734