DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0163561 by Grevers, JR.
Regarding claim 1, an information processing system, comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires map information (paragraph 0021 teaches “In addition, the processor 160 obtains (and updates) geolocation information 175 of the endpoint device. The geolocation information 175 may be obtained using Global Positioning System (GPS) capabilities of the endpoint device 105 or other land-based triangulation techniques when the endpoint device 105 is a mobile device.”, paragraph 0025 teaches “The information sent to geo-targeting advertising service 110, which may comprise keywords and corresponding geolocation information combined by packager 180, may be formatted into a markup language format, e.g., an Extensible Markup Language (XML) format, which includes the keywords themselves, geographic data specific to the local user, such as his or her location, country, region or state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol Address, or Internet Service Provider.”);
a setting unit that associates a region, playback target content, and type information with each other and sets the region, the playback target content, and the type information as content region information, the region being set on a basis of the map information, the type information indicating a playback control type for the playback target content (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0020 teaches “Endpoint device 105 may send information to geo-targeting advertising service 110, as well as receive and display information from geo-targeting advertising service 110. For example, the endpoint device 105 may send to the geo-targeting advertising service 110 information comprising one or more keywords derived from a video or audio communication session in combination with geographical location, and may receive from the geo-targeting advertising service 110 information including one or more advertisements, information associated with advertisements, and/or information used to retrieve advertisements.”); and
a playback control unit that controls playback of the playback target content on a basis of the type information (in addition to discussion above, fig. 3A-3B, paragraph 0032-0039 teaches “…Referring now to FIG. 3B and continuing with the example of FIG. 3A, a technique is shown for precisely managing the order or sequence in which advertisements are presented to a user of the endpoint device. In particular, advertisements are presented in a sequence (from top to bottom, bottom to top, left to right, right to left, etc.) that tracks the occurrence of a keyword obtained for captured audio. For example, the first advertisement may be displayed in the upper right portion of the display screen 140, where the first advertisement 315(1) corresponds to an advertisement related to "dinner", and "dinner" is the first identified keyword in the example of FIG. 3A. Once the second keyword is identified, supplied to the geo-targeting advertising service, and corresponding results returned to endpoint device 105, a second advertisement 315(2) may be displayed in the upper right hand corner of display screen 140 and the first advertisement 315(1) may scroll to the middle of the screen. Likewise, the third keyword may return advertisements associated with keywords corresponding to nearby theaters 315(3) and that would replace the second advertisement 315(2) in the top position on the display screen 140….”).
Regarding claim 2, the information processing system wherein the playback control unit controls playback of the playback target content on a basis of a position of a viewer with respect to the region (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0033-0034 teaches “Such customization may be based on the location of the endpoint device. Still referring to FIG. 3A, a specific example is shown in which three keywords are selected from a spoken sentence that is translated into text. The sentence is "After dinner, we are going shopping and then to see a movie." The three keywords are selected based upon events and objects, while other words are deemed not to be relevant and are ignored. Once selected, keyword "Dinner" 310(1) may be provided to geo-targeting advertising service 110, in combination with geolocation information, to trigger the display of advertising material directed to nearby restaurants shown at reference numeral 315(1).”).
Regarding claim 3, the information processing system wherein the playback control unit controls playback of the playback target content in accordance with entrance or exit of the viewer in/from the region (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0021 teaches “In addition, the processor 160 obtains (and updates) geolocation information 175 of the endpoint device. The geolocation information 175 may be obtained using Global Positioning System (GPS) capabilities of the endpoint device 105 or other land-based triangulation techniques when the endpoint device 105 is a mobile device.”).
Regarding claim 12, the information processing system wherein the setting unit associates the type information with the playback target content in accordance with a type of the playback target content (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0037 teaches “Referring now to FIG. 3B and continuing with the example of FIG. 3A, a technique is shown for precisely managing the order or sequence in which advertisements are presented to a user of the endpoint device. In particular, advertisements are presented in a sequence (from top to bottom, bottom to top, left to right, right to left, etc.) that tracks the occurrence of a keyword obtained for captured audio. For example, the first advertisement may be displayed in the upper right portion of the display screen 140, where the first advertisement 315(1) corresponds to an advertisement related to "dinner", and "dinner" is the first identified keyword in the example of FIG. 3A. Once the second keyword is identified, supplied to the geo-targeting advertising service, and corresponding results returned to endpoint device 105, a second advertisement 315(2) may be displayed in the upper right hand corner of display screen 140 and the first advertisement 315(1) may scroll to the middle of the screen. Likewise, the third keyword may return advertisements associated with keywords corresponding to nearby theaters 315(3) and that would replace the second advertisement 315(2) in the top position on the display screen 140.”).
Regarding claim 15, the information processing system wherein the setting unit associates at least one of a region designated by a user or a region other than the region designated by the user with the playback target content and the type information and sets the content region information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0025 teaches “The information sent to geo-targeting advertising service 110, which may comprise keywords and corresponding geolocation information combined by packager 180, may be formatted into a markup language format, e.g., an Extensible Markup Language (XML) format, which includes the keywords themselves, geographic data specific to the local user, such as his or her location, country, region or state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol Address, or Internet Service Provider.”).
Regarding claim 16, the information processing system further comprising an output unit that outputs assistance information related to designation of the region by the user (in addition to discussion above, fig. 3-4 shows information, paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 17, the information processing system wherein the assistance information includes at least one of image information including the map information, a graphical user interface (GUI), an icon, or an audio guide (in addition to discussion above, fig. 3-4 shows information, paragraph 0030 “Geo-targeting advertisement service 110 may transmit a message or response, e.g., in XML format via XMPP, to endpoint device 105. The response may include data, e.g., in XML format, which identifies a thumbnail image, corresponding text, and a URL destination which may be selected by a user. The response from the advertisement service 110 is received by endpoint device 105, and formatted for visual presentation as an overlay onto a portion of the display screen 140, visible only to the local user(s) of endpoint device 105. In other words, the received advertisement would not be visible to remote users of the video or audio teleconference.”, paragraph 0040).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0163561 by Grevers, JR. in view of US 11,017,020 by Desmond et al.
Regarding claim 18, Grevers, JR. discloses the information processing system further comprising a display control unit that superimposes and displays the information (fig. 3-4), but fails to disclose displays the region on the map information.
Desmond et al. discloses displays the region on the map information (fig. 5 shows interactive map.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ability to include displays the region on the map information, as taught by Desmond et al. into the system of Grevers, JR., because such incorporation would allow for the benefit of displaying information to a user, thus increase user accessibility of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-11 are depends on claim 4, therefore, claims 5-11 are also objected.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is depends on claim 13, therefore, claim 14 is also objected.
Conclusion
/NIGAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484