DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: at line 22, “of the third facet” should be amended to read “the third facet”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 23, there does not appear to be support for the limitation “wherein the first facet is positioned above the first surface of the substrate, above the second surface of the substrate, and above the substrate tip” in the written description. That is, the specification does not describe the first facet as being positioned above the other features, or the orientation that the device must be held in order for these limitations to be true.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 23, it is unclear how the limitation “wherein the first facet is positioned above the first surface of the substrate, above the second surface of the substrate, and above the substrate tip” is intended to be interpreted. Since the razor blade is a part of a handheld tool, it would appear that whether the first facet is above the other recited features is dependent on the orientation in which the device is held. Since the terms are dependent upon an unclaimed orientation, the claim is indefinite. Examiner recommends using terms that are true regardless of the orientation of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai (US 20120317822) in view of Skrobis (US 20170136640), and further in view of Wort (US 20050028389).
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai discloses a razor blade (the cutting tool may include razors; see paragraphs [0018, 0063]) comprising: a substrate including a substrate tip (base member 6 comprises end edge 6c; see fig. 4), a first surface extending in a first direction from the substrate tip (first surface 6a extends in a first direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4), and a second surface extending in a second direction different from the first direction from the substrate tip (second surface 6b extends in a second direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4); and a coating, layered on the first surface (coating 7 is formed on base member 6; see paragraphs [0024-0025] and figs. 1-4) the coating comprising: an ultimate tip (cutting edge 5a; see fig. 2); and a first cutting surface (a first cutting surface is formed on first surface 6a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below), wherein the first cutting surface includes a first facet extending from the ultimate tip (the first facet extends from cutting edge 5a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below) and a second facet extending from the first facet (see annotated portion of fig. 2 below), wherein a first line tangent to the first facet (the first line is tangent to the first facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below) and a second line tangent to the second facet are not parallel (the second line tangent to the second facet is not parallel with the first line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below), wherein the ultimate tip is deviated from a central line that divides the substrate in two and passes through the substrate tip (cutting edge 5a is deviated from the central line; see annotated portions of fig. 2 and 4(b) below), a first distance between the central line and a perpendicular line that passes through the ultimate tip and is parallel with the central line (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) below), wherein the substrate is symmetrical with respect to the central line (base member 6 is symmetrical with respect to the central line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below).
Ochiai does not explicitly disclose a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate, wherein the first distance is between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers, wherein a first thickness between the first surface and the first cutting surface is thinner than a second thickness between the second surface and the second cutting surface based on a point at a predetermined distance away from the substrate tip.
Skrobis discloses a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate (a plurality of coatings is layered on each side of substrate 11; see paragraphs [0061-0066] and figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ochiai in view of Skrobis to include a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate. Skrobis discloses a razor blade that includes a plurality of layers on both the first and second surfaces. Each layer has a different benefit; for example, the interlayer facilitates bonding of the hard coating layer to the substrate (see paragraph [0062]), the hard coating layer provides improved strength and corrosion resistance (see paragraph [0063]), overcoat layer facilitates bonding of the outer layer to the hard coating layer (see paragraph [0065]), and lastly, the outer layer provides reduced friction (see paragraph [0066]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that these layers provide increased blade strength while providing a comfortable shave for a user. Further, as suggested by Skrobis, providing a layer on each side of the blade ensures high strength and corrosion resistance on both surfaces. Therefore, in order to improve the strength, corrosion resistance, and reduce friction on the entirety of the blade, such a modification would be obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the first distance between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the first distance “may” be within 20 nanometers to 300 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0064]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai in view of Wort to make the coating asymmetrical such that the first thickness is thinner than the second thickness. Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1) and teaches that the effective full angle of the blade should be kept as low as possible to provide a strong edge while reducing drag on hair being cut (see paragraph [0004]). Wort further discloses that in a symmetrical blade as shown in fig. 2, the effective full angle is double that of the asymmetrical blade. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to the device of Ochiai as modified in order to yield a blade with an asymmetrical coating. In this way, the first thickness can be thinner than the second thickness. Therefore, in order to provide increased blade strength while reducing drag on hair being cut, such a modification would be obvious.
Ochiai as modified discloses a second cutting surface (as modified to include a coating on the second surface, a second cutting surface is formed on second surface 6b) extending from the ultimate tip and corresponding to the first surface and the second surface, respectively (as modified, the first cutting surface corresponds to first surface 6a and the second cutting surface corresponds to second surface 6b, where both extend from the ultimate tip; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the second cutting surface includes a third facet extending from the ultimate tip (as modified, a third facet is formed on the second cutting surface; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the second facet and of the third facet are positioned on opposite sides to each other with reference to the central line (the second facet and third facet are located on opposite sides of the central line; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are disposed on opposite sides relative to the ultimate tip and configured to contact with a user's skin (the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are on opposite sides of cutting edge 5a, and are capable of contacting a user’s skin; see annotated portion of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), and wherein a length of the third facet is greater than a length of the second facet (the third facet has a greater length than the second facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 2, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the third facet has a flat profile (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the ultimate tip is biased toward the second surface from the central line (cutting edge 5a is angled towards the second surface from the central line; see annotated portion of figs. 2 and 4(b) above).
Regarding claim 4, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein a value obtained by dividing the first thickness the second thickness at a point a predetermined distance away from the substrate tip is between 0.1 and 2.5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the value obtained by dividing the first thickness by the second thickness between 0.1 and 2.5 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the value “may” be between 0.1 and 2.5 (see instant specification paragraph [0062]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a wedge angle, which is an angle between the first line and the second line (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the wedge angle is between 100 degrees and 160 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the value obtained by dividing the wedge angle be between 100 degrees and 160 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the value “may” be between 100 degrees and 160 degrees (see instant specification paragraph [0037]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a tip angle, which is an angle between the first line and a third line tangent to the third facet (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the tip angle is between 55 degrees and 130 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the value obtained by dividing the tip angle be between 55 degrees and 130 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the value “may” be between 55 degrees and 130 degrees (see instant specification paragraph [0049]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a second distance between the ultimate tip and a first horizontal line that passes through the first point at which the first line and the second line intersect and is perpendicular to the central line (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the second distance is between 50 nanometers and 400 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the second distance between 50 nanometers and 400 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the second distance “may” be within 50 nanometers to 400 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0066]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a third distance between the substrate tip and the ultimate tip (the third distance extends from end edge 6c to cutting edge 5a; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the third distance is between 100 nanometers and 600 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the third distance between 100 nanometers and 600 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the third distance “may” be within 100 nanometers to 600 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0068]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a fourth distance between the substrate tip and the first point at which the first line and the second line intersect (the fourth distance extends from end edge 6c to the point where the first and second lines intersect; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth distance is between 100 nanometers and 400 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the fourth distance between 100 nanometers and 400 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the fourth distance “may” be within 100 nanometers to 400 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0069]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a fifth distance between the ultimate tip and a first point at which the first line and the second line intersect (the fifth distance extends from cutting edge 5a to the point where the first and second lines intersect; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the fifth distance is between 100 nanometers and 600 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the fifth distance between 100 nanometers and 600 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the fifth distance “may” be within 100 nanometers to 600 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0070]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses an angle between the first line and a third line tangent to the third facet (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above), and a first angle between the second line and the third line (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the value obtained by dividing the tip angle by a first angle is between 1.5 and 3.5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the value obtained by dividing the tip angle by the first angle between 1.5 and 3.5 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the value “may” be between 1.5 and 3.5 (see instant specification paragraph [0075]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a sixth distance between a first point at which the first line and the second line intersect, and a second point at which a first horizontal line that passes through the first point and is perpendicular to the central line intersects the third facet (the sixth distance extends from the point where the first and second lines intersect to the point where the first horizontal line intersects the third facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the sixth distance is between 150 nanometers and 700 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the sixth distance between 150 nanometers and 700 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the sixth distance “may” be within 150 nanometers to 700 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0071]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a seventh distance between a first horizontal line that passes through a first point at which the first line and the second line intersect and is perpendicular to the central line, and a second horizontal line that passes through the substrate tip and is parallel with the first horizontal line (the seventh distance extends from the first horizontal line to the second horizontal line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the seventh distance is between 20 nanometers and 350 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the seventh distance between 20 nanometers and 350 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the seventh distance “may” be within 20 nanometers to 350 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0072]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein a second angle, which is an angle between a third line being tangent to the third facet and a fourth line being tangent to the second surface (cutting edge angle θ; see fig. 2), is between 10 degrees and 40 degrees (cutting edge angle θ is formed to be 10 degrees to 20 degrees; see paragraph [0036] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Ochiai discloses a razor blade (the cutting tool may include razors; see paragraphs [0018, 0063]) comprising: a substrate including a substrate tip (base member 6 comprises end edge 6c; see fig. 4), a first surface extending in a first direction from the substrate tip (first surface 6a extends in a first direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4), and a second surface extending in a second direction different from the first direction from the substrate tip (second surface 6b extends in a second direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4); and a coating, layered on the first surface (coating 7 is formed on base member 6; see paragraphs [0024-0025] and figs. 1-4), the coating including: an ultimate tip (cutting edge 5a; see fig. 2), and a first cutting surface (a first cutting surface is formed on first surface 6a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the first cutting surface includes a first facet extending from the ultimate tip (the first facet extends from cutting edge 5a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above) and a second facet extending from the first facet (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a first line tangent to the first facet (the first line is tangent to the first facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above) and a second line tangent to the second facet are not parallel (the second line tangent to the second facet is not parallel with the first line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the third facet has a flat profile (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a central line divides the substrate in two and passes through the substrate tip (the central line divides base member 6 in two and passes through cutting edge 5a; see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above), a first distance between the central line and a perpendicular line that passes through the ultimate tip and is parallel with the central line (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above), wherein the substrate is symmetrical with respect to the central line (base member 6 is symmetrical with respect to the central line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai does not explicitly disclose a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate, wherein the first distance is between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers, wherein a first thickness between the first surface and the first cutting surface is thinner than a second thickness between the second surface and the second cutting surface based on a point at a predetermined distance away from the substrate tip.
Skrobis discloses a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate (a plurality of coatings is layered on each side of substrate 11; see paragraphs [0061-0066] and figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ochiai in view of Skrobis to include a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate. Skrobis discloses a razor blade that includes a plurality of layers on both the first and second surfaces. Each layer has a different benefit; for example, the interlayer facilitates bonding of the hard coating layer to the substrate (see paragraph [0062]), the hard coating layer provides improved strength and corrosion resistance (see paragraph [0063]), overcoat layer facilitates bonding of the outer layer to the hard coating layer (see paragraph [0065]), and lastly, the outer layer provides reduced friction (see paragraph [0066]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that these layers provide increased blade strength while providing a comfortable shave for a user. Further, as suggested by Skrobis, providing a layer on each side of the blade ensures high strength and corrosion resistance on both surfaces. Therefore, in order to improve the strength, corrosion resistance, and reduce friction on the entirety of the blade, such a modification would be obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the first distance between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the first distance “may” be within 20 nanometers to 300 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0064]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai in view of Wort to make the coating asymmetrical such that the first thickness is thinner than the second thickness. Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1) and teaches that the effective full angle of the blade should be kept as low as possible to provide a strong edge while reducing drag on hair being cut (see paragraph [0004]). Wort further discloses that in a symmetrical blade as shown in fig. 2, the effective full angle is double that of the asymmetrical blade. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to the device of Ochiai as modified in order to yield a blade with an asymmetrical coating. In this way, the first thickness can be thinner than the second thickness. Therefore, in order to provide increased blade strength while reducing drag on hair being cut, such a modification would be obvious.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a second cutting surface (as modified to include a coating on the second surface, a second cutting surface is formed on second surface 6b) extending from the ultimate tip and corresponding to the first surface and the second surface, respectively (as modified, the first cutting surface corresponds to first surface 6a and the second cutting surface corresponds to second surface 6b, where both extend from the ultimate tip; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the second cutting surface includes a third facet extending from the ultimate tip (as modified, a third facet is formed on the second cutting surface; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the second facet and the third facet are positioned on opposite sides to each other with reference to the central line (the second facet and third facet are located on opposite sides of the central line; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are disposed on opposite sides relative to the ultimate tip and configured to contact with a user's skin (the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are on opposite sides of cutting edge 5a, and are capable of contacting a user’s skin; see annotated portion of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), and wherein a length of the third facet is greater than a length of the second facet (the third facet has a greater length than the second facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 19, Ochiai discloses a razor blade (the cutting tool may include razors; see paragraphs [0018, 0063]) comprising: a substrate including a substrate tip (base member 6 comprises end edge 6c; see fig. 4), a first surface extending in a first direction from the substrate tip (first surface 6a extends in a first direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4), and a second surface extending in a second direction different from the first direction from the substrate tip (second surface 6b extends in a second direction from end edge 6c; see paragraph [0024] and fig. 4); and a coating, layered on the first surface (coating 7 is formed on base member 6; see paragraphs [0024-0025] and figs. 1-4), the coating including: an ultimate tip (cutting edge 5a; see fig. 2), and a first cutting surface (a first cutting surface is formed on first surface 6a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the first cutting surface includes a first facet extending from the ultimate tip (the first facet extends from cutting edge 5a; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above) and a second facet extending from the first facet (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a first line tangent to the first facet (the first line is tangent to the first facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above) and a second line tangent to the second facet are not parallel (the second line tangent to the second facet is not parallel with the first line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), a first distance between the central line and a perpendicular line that passes through the ultimate tip and is parallel with the central line (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above), wherein the substrate is symmetrical with respect to the central line (base member 6 is symmetrical with respect to the central line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai does not explicitly disclose a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate, wherein the first distance is between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers, wherein a first thickness between the first surface and the first cutting surface is thinner than a second thickness between the second surface and the second cutting surface based on a point at a predetermined distance away from the substrate tip.
Skrobis discloses a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate (a plurality of coatings is layered on each side of substrate 11; see paragraphs [0061-0066] and figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ochiai in view of Skrobis to include a coating layered on the second surface of the substrate. Skrobis discloses a razor blade that includes a plurality of layers on both the first and second surfaces. Each layer has a different benefit; for example, the interlayer facilitates bonding of the hard coating layer to the substrate (see paragraph [0062]), the hard coating layer provides improved strength and corrosion resistance (see paragraph [0063]), overcoat layer facilitates bonding of the outer layer to the hard coating layer (see paragraph [0065]), and lastly, the outer layer provides reduced friction (see paragraph [0066]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that these layers provide increased blade strength while providing a comfortable shave for a user. Further, as suggested by Skrobis, providing a layer on each side of the blade ensures high strength and corrosion resistance on both surfaces. Therefore, in order to improve the strength, corrosion resistance, and reduce friction on the entirety of the blade, such a modification would be obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the first distance between 20 nanometers and 300 nanometers since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, Ochiai as modified discloses the structure as recited, but lacks the specific dimensions. It appears that further modifying Ochiai to have the above dimensions would not cause it to perform differently. Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the recited range, simply indicating that the first distance “may” be within 20 nanometers to 300 nanometers (see instant specification paragraph [0064]). Therefore, such a modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai in view of Wort to make the coating asymmetrical such that the first thickness is thinner than the second thickness. Wort discloses an asymmetrical blade (see fig. 1) and teaches that the effective full angle of the blade should be kept as low as possible to provide a strong edge while reducing drag on hair being cut (see paragraph [0004]). Wort further discloses that in a symmetrical blade as shown in fig. 2, the effective full angle is double that of the asymmetrical blade. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to the device of Ochiai as modified in order to yield a blade with an asymmetrical coating. In this way, the first thickness can be thinner than the second thickness. Therefore, in order to provide increased blade strength while reducing drag on hair being cut, such a modification would be obvious.
Ochiai as modified further discloses a second cutting surface (as modified to include a coating on the second surface, a second cutting surface is formed on second surface 6b) extending from the ultimate tip and corresponding to the first surface and the second surface, respectively (as modified, the first cutting surface corresponds to first surface 6a and the second cutting surface corresponds to second surface 6b, where both extend from the ultimate tip; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the second cutting surface includes a third facet extending from the ultimate tip (as modified, a third facet is formed on the second cutting surface; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a third angle between the first line and a central line (see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above) that divides the substrate in two and passes through the substrate tip (the central line divides the substrate in two and passes through end edge 6c; see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above) is different from a fourth angle between a third line tangent to the third facet and the central line (the third angle is larger than the fourth angle; see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above), wherein the second facet and at least a portion of the third facet are positioned on opposite sides to each other with reference to the central line (the second facet and third facet are located on opposite sides of the central line; see annotated portions of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), wherein the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are disposed on opposite sides relative to the ultimate tip and configured to contact with a user's skin (the first cutting surface and the second cutting surface are on opposite sides of cutting edge 5a, and are capable of contacting a user’s skin; see annotated portion of figs. 2 and 4(b) above), and wherein a length of the third facet is greater than a length of the second facet (the third facet has a greater length than the second facet; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 20, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the central line bisects the substrate in two equal halves (the central line bisects base member 6 into two equal halves; see annotated portion of fig. 4(b) above).
Regarding claim 21, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 20 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the first line and the second line intersect a first point (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a first vertical distance is defined between the ultimate tip and a first horizontal line that passes through the first point and is perpendicular to the central line (the first vertical distance extends from cutting edge 5a to the first horizontal line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein a second vertical distance is defined between the ultimate tip and a second horizontal line that passes through the substrate tip and is parallel with the first horizontal line (the second vertical distance extends from cutting edge 5a to the second horizontal line; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Ochiai as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the second vertical distance is greater than the first vertical distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Ochiai to make the second vertical distance greater than the first vertical distance. Ochiai discloses the opposite, where the first vertical distance is greater than the second vertical distance. However, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 23, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the first facet extends from the ultimate tip and to a first point at which the first line and the second line intersect (see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein the first facet is positioned above the first surface of the substrate, above the second surface of the substrate, and above the substrate tip (depending on the orientation the razor blade is held, the first facet may be positioned above the first and second surfaces and above end edge 6c; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), wherein at least a portion of the second facet extends along and parallel to the first surface of the substrate (as modified to apply the coating asymmetrically, the second facet may extend parallel to the first surface; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above), and wherein at least a portion of the third facet extends along and parallel to the second surface of the substrate (the third facet extends parallel to the second surface; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 24, Ochiai as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Ochiai as modified further discloses wherein the coating has a wedge shape at a point where the first facet and the second facet meet (the coating at the point where the first facet and second facet meet forms a wedge shape; see annotated portion of fig. 2 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-15, 18-21, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724