DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 16) drawn to a compound of Formula (I),
wherein R1-4 are defined and the species election of
in the reply filed on October 15th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17 – 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (a method for treating a heart disease), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Additionally, claims 7 – 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected chemical species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 15th, 2025. Hence claims 1 – 6, and 16 are being examined on the merits herein.
However upon searching the elected species
; the elected species was found to be free of the prior art. Thus the search was expanded to rejoin chemical species with the following features: instant R1, R3, and R4 are phenyl groups with any of the substituent groups as defined by instant claim 1.
While chemical species having instant R1, R3, and R4 are phenyl groups with any substituent groups are rejoined; these chemical features are not encompassed by claims 7 – 15. Thus claims 7 – 15 are still withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected chemical species or rejoined chemical species wherein instant R1, R3, and R4 are phenyl groups with any of the substituent groups as defined by instant claim 1. Nonetheless, the election of species has been modified to only rejoin chemical species wherein instant R1, R3, and R4 are phenyl groups with any substituent groups. Hence the restriction requirement set forth in the office action mailed August 15th, 2025 is maintained.
Hence claims 1 – 6, and 16 are being examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Patent Publication WO 2009/099177 A1 to Yasuhara et. al. (herein after Yasuhara’177; cited on the ISR Form).
Regarding claims 1 – 3, Yasuhara’177 teach compound species 4-(chloromethyl)-N-[1-(2-methoxyphenyl)-4-phenyl-1Himidazol-2-yl]benzamide of structure
(claim 1)(page 27 paragraph 0088) which is embraced by general formula (I) wherein instant R1 , that is Ar1, is a phenyl; instant R2 is H; instant R3 is a phenyl wherein instant R3a is OCH3 and instant R3b is H (claim 2); instant R4 is phenyl wherein instant R4a is CH2Cl in the para-position (claim 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Publication WO 2009/099177 A1 to Yasuhara et. al. (herein after Yasuhara’177; cited on the ISR Form).
The teachings of Yasuhara’177 as they relate to claim 1, from which claims 4 – 6 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Yasuhara’177 fails to teach a compound of claim 1, having Formula (II)
wherein instant R3a is in the para-position with respect to the imidazole (claims 4 – 6), Ar1 is a phenyl, and instant R5 is H (claims 5 – 6).
Nevertheless, Yasuhara’177 does teach compound species 4-(chloromethyl)-N-[1-(2-methoxyphenyl)-4-phenyl-1Himidazol-2-yl]benzamide of structure
(page 27 paragraph 0088) wherein instant R3 is a phenyl wherein instant R3a is OCH3 and instant R3b is H. Given that the only difference between instant Formula (II) of structure
and prior art compound is the position of the methoxy, that is prior art (meta position) versus instant claim (para-position), both the prior art compound and the instant compound are positional isomers. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978)(MPEP 2144.09(II)). Thus it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the prior art compound of Yasuhara’177 by moving the methoxy group from the meta position to the para position of the phenyl ring.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Publication WO 2009/099177 A1 to Yasuhara et. al. (herein after Yasuhara’177; cited on the ISR Form).
The teachings of Yasuhara’177 as they relate to claim 1, from which claim 16 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Yasuhara’177 fails to teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt hereof and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient (claim 16).
Nevertheless, Yasuhara’177 further teach that in the metabotropic glutamate receptor mGluR5 the compounds, which includes compound species 4-(chloromethyl)-N-[1-(2-methoxyphenyl)-4-phenyl-1Himidazol-2-yl]benzamide of structure
(page 27 paragraph 0088) was dissolved in 100 µL of the evaluation buffer which is (20 mM HEPES solution, pH 7.4, containing 130 mM sodium chloride, 5 mM potassium chloride, 1.8 mM calcium chloride, 1 mM magnesium chloride, 10 mM glucose, 2.5 mM probenecid and 0.1% bovine serum albumin (BSA)) (translation pdf page 128 paragraph 1). Thus Yasuhara’177 suggest that the compounds of the disclosure which include, 4-(chloromethyl)-N-[1-(2-methoxyphenyl)-4-phenyl-1Himidazol-2-yl]benzamide, can be dissolved in buffer which further includes water which is a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the compound of Yasuhara’177 in a pharmaceutical composition which includes water. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to administer the compound to a patient as a therapeutic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the compounds of the disclosure were dissolvable in the solution.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 6, and 16 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627