DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/247,935. Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 23, 26-28, 33, 37, 40, 45, 51, 53 are pending in the application.
Claims 15, 23, 26-28, 33, 37, 40, 45, 51, 53 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The applicant’s amendment filed July 20, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the term “60 wt % loss of volatiles” is indefinite. The method of claim 1 does not require the coating composition to contain volatiles. Therefore, it is unclear what is required by the term “60 wt % loss of volatiles.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 2021/0170444) in view of Diaddario et al (US 2009/0032145).
Moore et al teaches a method of forming a coating on a substrate comprising applying a coating composition to a substrate using a valve jet to spray droplets in a jet (par. 4, 33, 86). The coating composition comprises water (aqueous carrier) and film-forming polymer (resin) (par. 158-159). The polymer includes a cross-linking functional group including hydroxyl (par. 160). The composition further comprises a cross-linking agent having an isocyanate group (co-reactive material) (par. 179). The method includes curing the coating composition after applying the (uncured) coating (par. 177). The coating layer has a solvent resistance of at least 20 MEK double rubs as measured according to ASTM D4752 (par. 80).
Moore et al does not teach the solvent resistance as measured according to ASTM D5402. However, the method of Moore et al includes all of the steps and materials of the claimed method. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed 100 MEK double rubs (solvent resistance) to naturally arise.
Regarding claim 2, Moore et al is silent regarding loss of volatiles upon baking the composition. However, Moore et al teaches the claimed coating composition including the aqueous solvent. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed loss of volatiles to naturally arise.
Regarding claim 3, the coating composition comprises water, which is a one-component composition.
Regarding claim 4, Moore et al is silent regarding the viscosity ratio of the first component and the second component. However, Moore et al teaches the claimed coating composition including the claimed film-forming resin and claimed co-reactive material. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed viscosity ratio to naturally arise.
Regarding claim 6, Moore et al is silent regarding the ratio of viscosity at 0.1 s-1 shear rate to 1000 s-1 shear rate. However, Moore et al teaches the claimed coating composition including all of the components. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed ratio of viscosity to naturally arise.
Moore et al does not teach any of the claimed rheology modifiers.
However, Diaddario et al teaches a coating composition comprising rheology modifier including polyvinyl pyrrolidone (par. 55).
Moore et al teaches that the composition includes a rheology modifier, but does not teach a specific example of a rheology modifier. Diaddario et al teaches that polyvinyl pyrrolidone is a suitable rheology modifier (par. 55). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the rheology modifier of Diaddario et al with the method of Moore et al in order to obtain a suitable rheology modifier.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the rheology modifier of Diaddario et al with the method of Moore et al. However, Moore et al teaches that the composition includes a rheology modifier, but does not teach any specific example of a rheology modifier. Diaddario et al teaches that polyvinyl pyrrolidone is a suitable rheology modifier (par. 55). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need for a known rheology to combine the rheology modifier of Diaddario et al with the method of Moore et al.
Conclusion
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information