DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 14) in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 18, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a target region ratio C ≥ 15% wherein the target region ratio C is obtained by following test method: dividing a SEM section of an anode material particle into regions with an area of AxB, wherein A and B are both ≤ 1 micrometer, counting distribution of the active material within all of the regions of single the anode material particle, setting number of regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of 10 nm to 300 nm as N1, setting a total number of regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of less than 10 nm and the regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of greater than 300 nm as N2, and defining a target region ratio X of single the anode material particle as X=N1/N2, wherein C is an arithmetic average of X values of any five of the anode material particles” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7 which recites “…setting number of regions…”should recite “...setting a number of regions…” for purposes of consistency and clarity.
Claim 1, line 5 which recites the acronym SEM should recite “scanning electron microscope (SEM)” for purposes of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7, recites “…counting distribution of the active material within all of the regions of single the anode material particle…”. This claim language meaning is unclear, as it is unclear if Applicant is claiming counting distribution of the active material within all of the regions of the single anode material particle (and if so, how is the active material distributed within a single anode particles particle?) or if the meaning is regarding counting distribution of the active material within all of the regions having a single anode material particle?
Claim 2-7 and 14 also rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “at least one of the following features (1) to (6)” wherein feature (2) “the conductive carbon” lacks antecedent basis, e.g., when it is the only feature selected from the list or when feature (1) is not selected. Examiner suggests incorporating “the conductivity enhancer comprises a conductive carbon” with feature (2).
Claim 7 recites “at least one of the following features (1) to (8)” wherein features (2) and (3) reciting “the carbon layer” lacks antecedent basis, e.g., when (2) or (3) are the only feature selected from the list or when feature (1) is not selected. Examiner suggests incorporating “the anode material further comprises a carbon layer” with features (2) and (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin et al. (US 2021/0313617) in view of Lu (US 2009/0246625).
Regarding Claim 1, Yushin et al. teaches a blended anode (i.e. anode material) comprising conversion-type anode material particles (Para. [0061]) wherein conversion-type anode powders may comprise an anode powder comprising a plurality of agglomerated nanocomposites (Para. [0070]) (i.e. comprising an aggregate) comprising carbonaceous conductive additives (i.e. a carbon material) which may be attached or grown on the surface of carbonaceous active materials (Para. [0118]) (i.e. an active material and a carbon material) and a porosity of the blended electrodes is about 5 vol% to about 50 vol% (Para. [0100]) (i.e. overlapping with the anode material has a porosity of ≤10%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Yushin et al. does not teach a target region ratio C ≥ 15% wherein the target region ratio C is obtained by following test method: dividing a SEM section of an anode material particle into regions with an area of AxB, wherein A and B are both ≤ 1 micrometer, counting distribution of the active material within all of the regions of single the anode material particle, setting number of regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of 10 nm to 300 nm as N1, setting a total number of regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of less than 10 nm and the regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of greater than 300 nm as N2, and defining a target region ratio X of single the anode material particle as X=N1/N2, wherein C is an arithmetic average of X values of any five of the anode material particles.
However, Lu teaches anodic electrodes including a number of graphene nano-ribbons, wherein lithium-ions are intercalated on graphene nano-ribbons (i.e. a carbonaceous active material) having spacing ranging the spacing preferably ranging from about 10 nm to about 250 nm (Para. [0243] and claim 3) as such sized nanopores are accessible to ionic liquid electrolyte (Para. [0243]) providing substantially sufficient large lithium-ion intercalation/deintercalation and ionic liquid accessibility (Para. [0269]) (i.e. the number of regions having active material with a spacing of 10 nm to 250 nm affects intercalation and ionic liquid accessibility properties). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the target region ratio C (which is an arithmetic average of X values of any five of the anode material particles, wherein X = N1/N2, wherein N1 is the number of regions having the active material with a spacing to each other of 10 nm to 300 nm and N2 is the number of regions having a total number of regions with a spacing to each other of less than 10 nm and greater than 300 nm) of the anode material of Yushin et al., in order to achieve desirable large lithium-ion intercalation/deintercalation and ionic liquid accessibility. Thus, the target ratio C ( ≥ 15%) as claimed (obtained by the test method as claimed), is result effective variable (i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result) and modifying the target region ratio of the anode material of Yushin et al. to be ≥ 15% would be discovering the optimum range through routine experimentation.
It has been held that when the general conditions are disclosed in the art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding Claim 2, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches composite anodes may comprise metal oxides (Para. [0057]) (i.e. wherein the aggregate further comprises a metal oxide).
Regarding Claim 3, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches conductive additives in the anode such as carbon nanotubes and carbon nanofibers (Para. [0117]) (i.e. the aggregate further comprises a conductivity enhancer).
Regarding Claim 4, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 2 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches composite anodes may comprise metal oxides such as silicon oxide [SiO2] (Para. [0057]) (i.e. comprising at least feature (3) the metal oxide has a chemical formula of MxOy wherein y/x = 2 (within 0.2 ≤y/x≤3) and M is Si).
Regarding Claim 5, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 3 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches conductive additives in the anode such as carbon nanotubes and carbon nanofibers (Para. [0117]) (i.e. the conductive carbon comprises at least one of carbon nanotube and carbon fiber).
Regarding Claim 6, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches the nanocomposite anodes comprising alloying-type active material such as aluminum (i.e. Al), magnesium (i.e. Mg), zinc (i.e. Zn), germanium (i.e. Ge), phosphorus (i.e. P), tin (i.e. Sn) (Para. [0057]) (i.e. comprising at least feature (1) the active material comprises at least one of Al, Mg, Zn, Ge, P, and Sn).
Regarding Claim 7, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches the anode intercalation-type carbonaceous powders exhibits a median particle size of about 2.5 to about 25 micron (Para.[0085]) (i.e. comprising at least feature (4) a median particle size of the anode material is 0.5 micrometers to 30 micrometers).
Regarding Claim 14, Yushin et al. as modified by Lu teaches all of the elements of the anode material in claim 1 as explained above.
Yushin et al. further teaches a Li-ion battery cell with the suitable blended anode (Para. [0183] and claim 1) (i.e. a lithium ion battery, comprising the anode material).
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729