DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 5 and 12-15 claim “A use” or “the use” and use claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories, process, machine, manufacture, or composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (WO 2016/140164) (hereafter “Yoshida”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-15, Yoshida teaches a triplet quencher compound that can be used in a composition with a semiconductor laser dye (pages 17 and 18 of the machine translation) (claims 5 and 6). Yoshida teaches that the composition is found in a coating on a substrate (page 17 of the machine translation) (claims 9-11). Yoshida teaches that the amount of the quencher in the composition is 1% to 20% (page 58 of the machine translation) (claim 8). Yoshida teaches that the composition is used as an active gain medium for light amplification in organic solid state lasers (pages 19-21, 54, and 58 of the machine translation) (claims 12, 13, and 15). Yoshida teaches that the laser is electrically pumped (pages 58-60 of the machine translation) (claim 14). Yoshida teaches that the quencher can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
(page 12 of the machine translation) (claims 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (WO 2016/140164) (hereafter “Yoshida”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-15 above, and further in view of Mamada et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2018, 28, 1802130) (hereafter “Mamada”).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida does not limit the laser dye used (page 18 of the machine translation). Yoshida teaches the laser dye can have the following structure,
(page 18 of the machine translation).
Yoshida does not specifically teach a compound that meets the applicant’s claimed compound.
Mamada teaches laser dyes for used in organic solid state lasers (page 1 introduction). Mamada teaches the dye can have the following structure,
, where 1-d and 2-d are the same as the applicant’s claimed compounds (page 2 Figure 1). Mamada teaches that 1-d and 2-d are red shifted compared to 1-a (taught by Yoshida) and 2-a (page 5 Table 2).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoshida so 1-d or 2-d of Mamada was used as the laser dye. The motivation would have been to red shift the color of the laser.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or make obvious the applicant’s claimed quencher formula and compound. The closest prior art Yoshida et al. (WO 2016/140164) (hereafter “Yoshida”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, teaches that the quencher can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
(page 12 of the machine translation). These compounds do not meet applicant’s claimed formula or compound and Yoshida nor the prior art teach of make obvious modify the compounds to arrive at the applicant’s claimed compounds; therefore, claims 3 and 4 comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blanchard et al. (US 2015/0011731) teaches a quencher that meet applicant’s formula 1.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759