DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 with respect to Malgat’s teaching of tobacco cut filler have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “shreds of "reconstituted tobacco, homogenised tobacco, extruded tobacco and expanded tobacco" are clearly not "tobacco cut filler"”. The Examiner disagrees. This argument is contradicted by Applicant’s specification, see page 12, lines 8-10: “As used herein, the term “cut filler” is used to describe to a blend of shredded plant material, such as tobacco plant material, including, in particular, one or more of leaf lamina, processed stems and ribs, homogenised plant material.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combination of Malgat and Campbell have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combination of Malgat and Doppelt have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malgat (US 2019/0075845) in view of Robinson (US 2008/0092912).
Malgat teaches an aerosol-generating article [Fig. 2], comprising: an aerosol-generating substrate 20 [104]; a downstream section (from support element 30 to downstream end 70) extending from a downstream end of the aerosol-generating substrate to a downstream end of the aerosol-generating article; and an upstream section 91 upstream of the aerosol-generating substrate 20, the upstream section having a resistance to draw from 20 to 40 millimeters H2O [0015]. Malgat teaches an aerosol-generating article length of 45 mm [0109] and an aerosol-generating substrate length of 12 mm [0104], i.e. a ratio of a length of the aerosol-generating substrate to a length of the aerosol-generating article is 0.27. Malgat teaches the aerosol-generating substrate comprises shreds of tobacco [0028], i.e. cut tobacco filler.
Malgat is silent to a density of the aerosol-generating substrate. Robinson teaches an aerosol-generating article comprising cut tobacco filler having a density of 0.1 to 0.4 grams per cubic centimeter [0072]. As this is a conventional tobacco cut filler substrate density known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this density to the cut tobacco filler substrate of Malgat to achieve predictable results.
Malgat teaches the aerosol-generating substrate comprises an aerosol former [0027]. Although the weight percent is not specifically taught, Robinson teaches tobacco cut filler substrate may comprise an aerosol former content of up to 20 percent by weight [0067]. As this is a conventional tobacco cut filler aerosol former level known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this weight percent to the cut tobacco filler substrate of Malgat to achieve predictable results.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malgat and Robinson as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Aoun (US 2021/0177041).
Modified Malgat does not teach a first ventilation zone at a location along the downstream section. However, this configuration is known in the art as taught by Aoun [0097; Fig. 3] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the article of modified Malgat to enable air to flow into the article.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malgat and Robinson as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dubey (US 2022/0192254).
Malgat teaches support element 30 of the downstream section is hollow [0052], i.e. has a low resistance to draw, and that cooling element 40 of the downstream section has a low resistance to draw [0057]. Malgat does not specifically teach the downstream section has a resistance-to-draw of less than about 30 mm H2O. Dubey teaches a downstream section should have a pressure drop (resistance-to-draw) of 29 mm H2O allow sufficient aerosol, including desirable compounds such as flavor compounds, to pass through the mouthpiece to the consumer [0127]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this RTD to the downstream section of modified Malgat for the reasons above suggested by Dubey.
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malgat and Robinson as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zinovik (US 2017/0055587).
Malgat teaches the aerosol-generating article is used with an aerosol-generating device comprising an inductor (heater) [0100], i.e. configured to heat the aerosol-generating substrate, but does not disclose further details about the device. Zinovik teaches an aerosol-generating device having a distal end and a mouth end, the aerosol-generating device comprising: a body extending from the distal end to the mouth end, the body 10 defining a device cavity 14 configured to removably receive the aerosol-generating article 2 at the mouth end of the aerosol-generating device, and an inductor heater L2 configured to heat the aerosol-generating substrate 20 when the aerosol-generating article 2 is received within the device cavity, the heater of the aerosol-generating device is configured to circumscribe the aerosol-generating article when the aerosol-generating article is received within the device cavity [0078-0079], and the heater has a length of 8-14 mm [0053]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the aerosol-generating device of Malgat to achieve the same, predictable result of heating the substrate and forming an aerosol.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 31 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter and of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s arguments filed 1/21/2026 regarding the combination of Malgat and Doppelt have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755