DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al (US 20180193559).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 15, Hirata et al teach (Figs. 1-17c) An information processing apparatus/method and program comprising a liquid level state determiner (1) that determines, by using a light reception signal corresponding to light reception intensity of emitted light from a light emitter (52) generated for each of a plurality of light receivers (51s) arranged in a vertical direction to face the light emitter, a liquid level state ([0075]) of a liquid provided between the light emitter and the light receivers.
Regarding claim 2, Hirata et al teach (Fig. 4A) the light receivers are provided on an upper side and a lower side with respect to an optical axis of the light emitter (with respect to the center emitter).
Regarding claim 3, Hirata et al teach (Fig. 4A) a plurality of the light emitter is provided in a circumferential direction on a reference plane including an optical axis of the light emitter. That is, figure 4a shows center emitted light as an optical axis of the light emitter while two upper 52s surround the middle emitter in a circumferential direction centered around that axis.
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perrelli et al (US 20180344070).
Regarding claim 1, Perrelli et al teach An information processing apparatus comprising a liquid level state determiner (figure 6) that determines, by using a light reception signal corresponding to light reception intensity of emitted light from a light emitter (103) generated for each of a plurality of light receivers (104) arranged in a vertical direction to face the light emitter, a liquid level state ([0142]) of a liquid provided between the light emitter and the light receivers.
Regarding claim 4, Perrelli et al teach ([0142]) the liquid level state determiner determines the liquid level state on a basis of a signal level difference between a light reception signal generated by a light receiver arranged on an upper side in the vertical direction and a light reception signal generated by a light receiver arranged on a lower side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al in view of Sato et al (US 20210231483).
Regarding claim 6, Hirata et al teach the invention set forth above. Hirata et al do not teach light reception adjusters that adjust a light reception direction of the light receivers are further included. Sato et al teach light reception adjusters that adjust a light reception direction of the light receivers are further included. It is known to include light reception adjusters that adjust a light reception direction of the light receivers to increase product versatility.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK