Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tour (US 2005/0233158) in view of Sui (US 2016/0010022).
The art is considered to teach all the elements of newly amended claim 1.
Tour teaches a metal surface coated with molecules having linking groups comprising thiols amides and other claimed groups attaching carbon nanotubes to the surface and a second metal surface that can form a sliding member (See [0046], Abstract, figures and claims, [0059-0060] ).
Regarding claim 8, the claimed molecules are met Tour (See figures and claims).
The metal surface can be gold, silver and other alloys thereof (See claim 34).
Regarding claims to 3 or more connective functional groups the art teaches multiple thiol or other connective groups to a CNT (See figures), meeting the claim limitations.
To the extent to which one of ordinary skill has to pick between embodiments it would have been obvious to provide an embodiment within the claimed ranges of molecules and functional groups that overlap with the claimed art.
The art is considered to encompass new claim 19. See figures, including those included in claims (particularly claim 5) depicting molecules attached to functional groups that would meet and /pr render obvious the claimed molecular structure.
[0045] Once the interconnects are treated with the above oligomers and polymers, they also have the advantage of presenting a contact surface with a lubricity higher than present in untreated contacts, thereby reducing the rate of physical wear of the contact surfaces subject to repeated connection/disconnection cycles or long-term vibrations. It is expected that all or nearly all of the above-noted oligomers and polymers exhibit this lubricity property since the pendant moieties are hydrophobic and there is no H-bonding mechanism from which they can adhere to each other. These hydrophobic (lipophilic) interactions are very weak relative to dipolar and H-bonding interactions, and therefore the coatings do not "stick" to other surfaces [0045].
Contacts in which lubricity is important include sliding contacts in motors which are typically subject to substantial friction and wear that produces undesirable electrical noise. Lubricants often used on such contacts to reduce the wear (such as graphite and molybdenum disulfide) may have deleterious effects on conductivity because, inter alia, their surface coatings are much thicker than the coatings disclosed here, therefore they are not readily shifted away from the desired metal-to-metal mating contact areas. Other examples of contacts in which lubricity is important are make/break contacts such as are found in electrical relays. These are particularly subject to electrical and material breakdown [0046-0047] Tour.
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tour (US 2005/0233158), as above, in view of Sui.
The art may not teach the nanohorns as claimed.
Sui (US 2016/0010022) teaches Carbon nanotube or graphene nanoribbons or carbon nanohorns (and/or combinations thereof) can be added to a lubricant and put between two sliding or motor surfaces (see [0021-0022, and claims). The material with a polymer or organic molecule with functional groups and the nanohorn(s) are good in high temperatures (see claims and abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide nanohorns in order to provide a high temperature lubricant between two surfaces at an interface as Tour teaches the connective material can have usefulness of providing lubricating effects.
The art is considered to encompass new claim 19. See figures, including those included in claims (particularly claim 5) depicting molecules attached to functional groups that would meet and /pr render obvious the claimed molecular structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 112 has been overcome by Examiner amendment.
[0045] Once the interconnects are treated with the above oligomers and polymers, they also have the advantage of presenting a contact surface with a lubricity higher than present in untreated contacts, thereby reducing the rate of physical wear of the contact surfaces subject to repeated connection/disconnection cycles or long-term vibrations. It is expected that all or nearly all of the above-noted oligomers and polymers exhibit this lubricity property since the pendant moieties are hydrophobic and there is no H-bonding mechanism from which they can adhere to each other. These hydrophobic (lipophilic) interactions are very weak relative to dipolar and H-bonding interactions, and therefore the coatings do not "stick" to other surfaces [0045].
Contacts in which lubricity is important include sliding contacts in motors which are typically subject to substantial friction and wear that produces undesirable electrical noise. Lubricants often used on such contacts to reduce the wear (such as graphite and molybdenum disulfide) may have deleterious effects on conductivity because, inter alia, their surface coatings are much thicker than the coatings disclosed here, therefore they are not readily shifted away from the desired metal-to-metal mating contact areas. Other examples of contacts in which lubricity is important are make/break contacts such as are found in electrical relays. These are particularly subject to electrical and material breakdown [0046-0047] Tour.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide nanohorns in order to provide a high temperature lubricant between two surfaces at an interface as Tour teaches the connective material can have usefulness of providing lubricating effects.
Conclusion
/DANIEL H MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783