DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 23-25, 28-34 and 46-47 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1, 23 and 34 are amended and claims 4-5, 12-22, 26-27 and 36-45 are cancelled via the amendment filed March 13th, 2026.
Priority
This is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage filing of Application No. PCT/US2021/054698 filed October 13th, 2021, which claims priority to 63/107,309, filed October 29th, 2020 and 63/091,192, filed October 13th, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed March 13th, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Maintained Rejections
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed March 13th, 2026, with respect to the 103 rejections and double patenting rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See response to remarks.
Response to Remarks
Applicant begins to traverse the 103 rejection of claims 1-11 and 46 over Batolozzi in view of Karayama and Culler on the basis that by amending claim 1 to recite “wherein the at least one AhR ligand comprises kynurenine, tryptophan, phenylpyruvate, indolelactate or combinations thereof”.
In response, Karayama and Culler teach the monitoring of tryptophan. Culler also teaches the monitoring of kynurenine (page 93, paragraph 1), indolelactate (Table 15), and pyruvic acid (page 51).
On p. 87 of the remarks, Applicant further argues that the combination fails to teach or suggest any connection between AhR antagonist therapy and AhR ligand levels.
However, the motivation to combine the references arises from Bartolozzi teaching a method of treating cancer with an AhR antagonist and determining the effectiveness of treatment with methods that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, said methods of determining effectiveness being taught by Karayama, teaching that monitoring tryptophan levels in patients with non-small cell lung cancer can improve treatment, when comparing levels with threshold scores, and Culler teaches tryptophan was analyzed from fecal samples in patients receiving cancer treatment in order to improve treatment. As such, one would have been motivated by the general teachings of Batolozzi to arrive at the instant invention as both Karayama and Culler teach methods of determining effectiveness in cancer treatment.
Applicant then traverses the 103 rejection of claims 23-24 and 46-47 over Bartolozzi in view of Karayama and Culler. Applicant beings the traversal on the grounds that he amendment of claim 23 to incorporate the previously limitations of instant claim 27.
In response, as mentioned above, Karayama and Culler teach the monitoring of tryptophan. Culler also teaches the monitoring of kynurenine (page 93, paragraph 1), indolelactate (Table 15), and pyruvic acid (page 51).
On p. 88 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Karayama does not teach that any of tryptophan, kynurenine, phenylpyruvate and/or indolelactate could be predictive biomarkers for cancer treatment response.
However, as stated in the previous Office action, Karayama further teaches that monitoring the metabolites may be helpful in predicting the efficacy of drugs used to treat non-small cell lung cancer (page 422, left column, paragraph 1), specifically tryptophan (title).
On p. 88 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Culler does not teach the predictive power of indolelactate in determining which cancer patients will respond to any given cancer therapy.
In response, Culler is cited as to showcase the teaching that metabolomic data was used to determine metabolic signatures that could differentiae response to treatment, specifically data concerned with kynurenine and tryptophan.
In view of the above, the 103 rejections are maintained.
On p. 89-90 of the remarks, Applicant traverses the double patenting rejection for the same reasons as the traversal of the 103 rejections.
For the reasons explained above, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Response to Restriction/Election Requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse of 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one to prosecute Group I, drawn to a method of treating cancer, in the reply filed on October 24th, 2025 is acknowledged.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02:
Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability.
If the Markush claim is not allowable, the provisional election will be given effect and examination will be limited to the Markush claim and claims to the elected species, with claims drawn to species patentably distinct from the elected species held withdrawn from further consideration.
If on examination the elected species is found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected, and claims to the nonelected species will be held withdrawn from further consideration.
As the elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 23-25, 27-34 and 46-47 have been examined to the extent that they are readable on the elected compound 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one. Since the elected species is not allowable, subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is therefore withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 12 and 35 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 and 46 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartolozzi et al (WO 2021/102288, which claims priority to 62/939,377 filed 11/22/2019) in view of Karayama et al (Clinical and Translational Oncology (2020) 23:418–423, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023) and Culler et al (WO 2019/178542 A1, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Bartolozzi teaches a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of an AhR antagonist, 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one (claim 40, which finds support in claims 31-32 of the priority document). Bartolozzi teaches that the cancer is non-small cell lung cancer (paragraph [00108], which finds support in paragraph [0007] of the priority document).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art does not teach that the method includes measuring an aryl hydrocarbon receptor ligand from a fecal sample, comparing the ligand to a threshold score and determining that the patient would benefit from being treating with an AhR antagonist.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
However, Bartolozzi teaches that “effectiveness” can be assessed by any method known to one of ordinary skill in the art, including those described in the examples of this disclosure. Effectiveness in vitro may be used to extrapolate or predict some degree of effectiveness in vivo, in an animal or in a human subject. A reference or standard or comparison may be used. The term "effective" at inhibiting a receptor (such as AhR), and/or signaling mediated by the enzyme in the context of this disclosure and claims means reducing/activating the activity of the receptor and/or the activation and propagation of the signaling pathway in terms of activation of a downstream molecule or known biological effect by a detectable or measurable amount relative to the baseline activity. This can be assessed in vitro or in vivo and, in some cases, extrapolated to what an activity or benefit in vivo might be by one of ordinary skill in the art (paragraph [0068], which finds support in paragraph [0046] of the priority document).
Further, Karayama teaches a comprehensive assessment of multiple tryptophan metabolites as potential bookmarkers for immune checkpoint inhibitors in patients with non-small cell lung cancer (title). Karayama teaches that patients with NSCLC had different plasma levels of several tryptophan metabolites compared with healthy controls. Karayama further teaches that monitoring the metabolites may be helpful in predicting the efficacy of drugs used to treat non-small cell lung cancer (page 422, left column, paragraph 1). Karayama also teaches the comparison of the metabolite levels in those undergoing cancer treatment with healthy volunteers (methods).
Also, Culler teaches the use of fecal markers for predicting response to cancer treatment. Culler teaches that analysis of fecal samples observations that are concerned with response to cancer treatment (page 2, paragraph 2). Culler teaches that metabolomic data was used to determine metabolic signatures that could differentiae response to treatment. Culler teaches that kynurenine and tryptophan was observed in fecal samples of mice receiving cancer treatment (Page 98, paragraphs 1).
As Bartolozzi teaches a method of treating cancer with an AhR antagonist and determining the effectiveness of treatment with methods that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, Karayama teaches that monitoring tryptophan levels in patients with non-small cell lung cancer can improve treatment, when comparing levels with threshold scores, and Culler teaches tryptophan was analyzed from fecal samples in patients receiving cancer treatment in order to improve treatment, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the method of instant claim 1. Further, Karayama and Culler teach the monitoring of tryptophan. Culler also teaches the monitoring of kynurenine (page 93, paragraph 1), indolelactate (Table 15), and pyruvic acid (page 51).
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Bartolozzi teaches that the cancer is non-small cell lung cancer.
Regarding claim 3, Bartolozzi teaches that the above compound was administered to subjects that are resistant to anti-PD-L1 therapy (paragraphs [0020-0023]).
Regarding claim 6, as seen above, Karayama and Culler teach the monitoring of tryptophan. Culler also teaches the monitoring of kynurenine (page 93, paragraph 1), indolelactate (Table 15), and pyruvic acid (page 51).
Regarding claim 7, Culler teaches that ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC) was used (page 81, paragraph 1). Further, Karayama teaches that liquid chromatography was used (methods).
Regarding claim 8, Karayama teaches that 3-HAA, a downstream metabolite of kynurenine pathway, levels were lower in patients who had a response to treatment than those who did noy (discussion, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, as seem above, the compound is
. This compound is embraced by formula (I), wherein R1 is optionally substituted heteroaryl, R2 is a heteroaryl and R3 is a substituted alkyl.
Regarding claim 10, the compound above is embraced by formula (Ia), wherein ring A is a substituted heteroaryl, ring B is a heteroaryl and R is a substituted alkyl.
Regarding claims 11 and 46, as seen above, the AhR antagonist is 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one.
Claim(s) 23-26, 28-34 and 46-47 and stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartolozzi et al (WO 2021/102288, which claims priority to 62/939,377 filed 11/22/2019) in view of Karayama et al (Clinical and Translational Oncology (2020) 23:418–423, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023) and Culler et al (WO 2019/178542 A1, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Bartolozzi teaches a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of an AhR antagonist, 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one (claim 40, which finds support in claims 31-32 of the priority document). Bartolozzi teaches that the cancer is non-small cell lung cancer (paragraph [00108], which finds support in paragraph [0007] of the priority document). Further, Bartolozzi teaches that compound is administered in combination with at least one additional therapy, wherein the additional therapy Is an immune checkpoint inhibitor (paragraph [0099], which finds support in paragraphs [00219]-[00220] of the priority document).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art does not teach that the method includes measuring an aryl hydrocarbon receptor ligand from a fecal sample, comparing the ligan to a threshold score and determining that the patient would benefit from being treating with an AhR antagonist. The
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
However, Bartolozzi teaches that “effectiveness” can be assessed by any method known to one of ordinary skill in the art, including those described in the examples of this disclosure. Effectiveness in vitro may be used to extrapolate or predict some degree of effectiveness in vivo, in an animal or in a human subject. A reference or standard or comparison may be used. The term "effective" at inhibiting a receptor (such as AhR), and/or signaling mediated by the enzyme in the context of this disclosure and claims means reducing/activating the activity of the receptor and/or the activation and propagation of the signaling pathway in terms of activation of a downstream molecule or known biological effect by a detectable or measurable amount relative to the baseline activity. This can be assessed in vitro or in vivo and, in some cases, extrapolated to what an activity or benefit in vivo might be by one of ordinary skill in the art (paragraph [0068], which finds support in paragraph [0046] of the priority document).
Further, Karayama teaches a comprehensive assessment of multiple tryptophan metabolites as potential bookmarkers for immune checkpoint inhibitors in patients with non-small cell lung cancer (title). Karamaya teaches that patients with NSCLC had different plasma levels of several tryptophan metabolites compared with healthy controls. Karamaya further teaches that monitoring the metabolites may be helpful in predicting the efficacy of drugs used to treat non-small cell lung cancer (page 422, left column, paragraph 1). ). Karayama also teaches the comparison of the metabolite levels in those undergoing cancer treatment with healthy volunteers (methods).
Also, Culler teaches the use of fecal markers for predicting response to cancer treatment. Culler teaches that analysis of fecal samples observations arise that are concerned with response to cancer treatment (page 2, paragraph 2). Culler further teaches that metabolomic data was used to determine metabolic signatures that could differentiae response to treatment. Culler teaches that kynurenine and tryptophan was observed in fecal samples of mice receiving cancer treatment (Page 98, paragraphs 1).
As Bartolozzi teaches a method of treating cancer with an AhR antagonist and ICI and determining the effectiveness of treatment with methods that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, Karayama teaches that monitoring tryptophan levels in patients with non-small cell lung cancer can improve treatment, when comparing levels with threshold scores, and Culler teaches tryptophan was analyzed from fecal samples in patients receiving cancer treatment in order to improve treatment, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the method of instant claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, as seen above, Bartolozzi teaches that the cancer is non-small cell lung cancer.
Regarding claim 25, Bartolozzi teaches that the above compound was administered to subjects that are resistant to anti-PD-L1 therapy (paragraphs [0020-0023]).
Regarding claims 27-28, as seen above, Karayama and Culler teach the monitoring of tryptophan. Culler also teaches the monitoring of kynurenine (page 93, paragraph 1), indolelactate (Table 15), and pyruvic acid (page 51).
Regarding claim 29, Culler teaches that ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC) was used (page 81, paragraph 1). Further, Karayama teaches that liquid chromatography was used (methods).
Regarding claim 30, Bartolozzi teaches the ICI therapy is an anti-PD-1 antibody (paragraph [00100, which finds support in paragraphs [00219]-[00220] of the priority document).
Regarding claim 31, Karayama teaches that 3-HAA, a downstream metabolite of kynurenine pathway, levels were lower in patients who had a response to treatment than those who did noy (discussion, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 32, as seem above, the compound is
. This compound is embraced by formula (I), wherein R1 is optionally substituted heteroaryl, R2 is a heteroaryl and R3 is a substituted alkyl.
Regarding claim 33, the compound above is embraced by formula (Ia), wherein ring A is a substituted heteroaryl, ring B is a heteroaryl and R is a substituted alkyl.
Regarding claims 34 and 47, as seen above, the AhR antagonist is 3-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropyl)-8-(pyridine-3-yl)-6-(5-trifluoromethyl)pyridine-2-yl)pyrido[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4(3H)-one.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-3,6-11,23-25,28-34 and 46-47 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 9-11, 17-21, 23-24, 26-30, 31, 38 and 77-80 of copending Application No. 17/756,243 (reference application) in view of Bartolozzi et al (WO 2021/102288, which claims priority to 62/939,377 filed 11/22/2019), Karayama et al (Clinical and Translational Oncology (2020) 23:418–423, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023) and Culler et al (WO 2019/178542 A1, as cited on the IDS dated 12/21/2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application claims a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound,
, with at least one additional therapy, wherein the additional therapy is chosen from checkpoint inhibitors that target ligan for PD-1 (claim 78), wherein the checkpoint inhibitor is an anti-PD-L1 antibody (claim 79). The teachings of Bartolozzi, Karayama and Culler relative to claims 1-11, 23-34 and 46-47 are incorporated herein by reference. The instant claims are deemed to be obvious variants of the subject matter of the copending application for the same reasons as under 35 USC 103.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699