DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the single reservoir” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa (2007/0273725).
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa teaches a waste printing fluid collection unit comprising:
a single collection reservoir (fig. 29, item 71) for collecting the waste printing fluid from a printing system ([0302]), the collection reservoir having an end wall (fig. 29, wall connected to top surface of wick 26) that separates the single collection reservoir from ambient air (see fig. 29); and
a wick (figs. 29, item 26) extending from the end wall towards the single reservoir (see figs. 29, note that wick extends downward from end wall toward bottom of reservoir), the wick only extending in a vertical direction (see fig. 29, note that the wick has a vertical dimension. Note that any three-dimensional object, including the wick 101 in Figure 2 of the present application, also necessarily has a horizontal dimension);
wherein the wick is on a first side, connected to the end wall (see fig. 29, note top of the wick is connected to the end wall) and, on a second side extends into the single collection reservoir to contact the waste printing fluid (see fig. 29),
the waste printing fluid collection unit, while installed in the printing system, comprises an opening (fig. 29, item 29) directly above a top of the wick to allow fresh ambient air into the single collection reservoir (see fig. 29).
Regarding claim 2, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 1 wherein part of the first side of the wick extends through the end wall, thereby being exposed to ambient air (see fig. 29, note that wick is exposed to ambient air through end wall).
Regarding claim 3, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 1 wherein the waste printing fluid collection unit is to couple to a servicing unit (fig. 42, items 288/289/281) that includes a printhead cleaning mechanism (fig. 42, items 288/289/281).
Regarding claim 4, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 1 wherein the opening in the waste printing fluid collection unit enhances evaporation of the waste printing fluid, and wherein the fresh ambient air is neither saturation with printing fluid vapors nor other substances (Note that any opening in any fluid tank would “enhance evaporation” of the fluid within the tank. Note that fresh ambient air presumes air free of contaminants).
Regarding claim 5, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 4 wherein the waste printing fluid collection unit comprises a plurality of openings to allow ambient air into the collection reservoir (see fig. 29, Note that ambient air can enter through either of the two openings).
Regarding claim 6, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 1 wherein the reservoir comprises a series of anti-slosh baffles (fig. 29, item 76 and two baffles sandwiching baffle 76) defining a plurality of fluid chambers (see fig. 29, Note five different chambers formed by baffles).
Regarding claim 7, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 6 wherein the wick extends from the end wall towards one of the fluid chambers (see fig. 29).
Regarding claim 16, Furakawa in view of the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 6, wherein the plurality of fluid chambers defines a labyrinthic path for the waste printing fluid in the reservoir (see fig. 29, Note swerving path through five chambers).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wefler (2006/0222347).
Regarding claim 8, Furukawa teaches the waste printing fluid collection unit of claim 6. Furukawa does not teach wherein the wick comprises a bi-component fiber. Wefler teaches this (Wefler, [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a wick of the type disclosed by Wefler in the device disclosed by Furukawa because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853