DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that a search of group 1 will necessarily identify art relevant to groups II and III and vice versa. This is not found persuasive because the standard of restriction under 371 does not rely on if any relevant art would be found.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 32, the claim recites the limitation "the spark discharge and/or glow discharge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Synergistic plasma-assisted electrochemical reduction of nitrogen to ammonia” to Kumari et al. (Kumari).
As to claims 1, 6, 29 and 32, Kumari teaches a method of reducing gaseous nitrogen comprising subjecting the gaseous nitrogen to plasma forming conditions to form a plasma, contacting the plasma with water/electrolyte at a plasma-water interface of a bubble of gas in the water/electrolyte to provide a dissolved plasma derived species and electrocatalytically reducing the dissolved plasma derived species at a platinum, transition metal, cathode located in a region adjacent to the plasma glow discharge region to provide a reduced compounds, ammonia (Figure 1a; Visual Abstract).
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Plasma-Driven Water Assisted CO2 Methanation” to Hoeben et al. (Hoeben).
As to claims 1, 2, 3 and 29, Hoeben teaches a method of reducing carbon dioxide comprising the steps of subjecting the carbon dioxide to plasma forming conditions to form a plasma and containing the plasma with water at a plasma water interface to provide a dissolved plasma derived species and electrocatalytically reducing said dissolved plasma derived species at a NiCr transition metal alloy electrodes to provide a reduced compound, methane (Abstract; Section I; Section II; Figure 1).
As to claim 7, Hoeben teaches the method of claim 1. Hoeben further teaches that the gas phase heat is cooled by the water film, thus that the gaseous compound is provided at a controlled temperature (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumari as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 110983356 A to Wu et al. (Wu).
As to claims 2 and 4, Kumari teaches the methods of claim 1. As discussed above, Kumari teaches that the gaseous compound is nitrogen, but fails to teach that the nitrogen is mixed with oxygen. However, Wu also discusses the plasma assisted electrolytic reduction of ammonia to nitrogen and teaches that the gaseous compound can comprise air as an inexpensive source of nitrogen (Paragraphs 0004 and 0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the gaseous compound of the method of Kumari with air, a mixed nitrogen and oxygen gas, in order to inexpensively provide the nitrogen as taught by Wu.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumari as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2006/0060464 to Chang (Chang).
As to claim 5, Kumari teaches the method of claim 1. Kumari further teaches that the plasma is generated in a configuration of pin-to-liquid with a column bubbler enclosure (Figure 1a). However, Kumari fails to specifically teach that both glow and spark discharge is utilized. However, Chang also discusses plasma generation and teaches that both glow and spark (corona) discharge can effectively be utilized depending on voltage conditions applied to the electrodes (Paragraphs 0092, 0214 and 0294). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Kumari by using a combination of glow and spark discharge as known equivalents for plasma production utilizing applied voltage (MPEP 2144.06 I).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794