Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT Claim in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. Claim FILLIN "Enter claim identification information" \* MERGEFORMAT 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected medical product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 12/15/2025 . Claims 1-5 are pending examination in this response. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" as being anticipated by Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Chow teaches “ A microfluidic device comprising: ” ( Title, Muli-layer Microfluidic devices ); “ a first substrate; a second substrate having a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposed to each other, wherein the first principal surface is partially bonded to the first substrate ” (Abstract and Para [0006], at least first, second and third substrate layers. B y providing additional substrate layers, e.g., third, fourth, fifth and more substrate layers, mated with the typically described first and second layers.) ; “ a first channel extending in a direction along a first principal surface of the second substrate between the first substrate and the second substrate; a second channel connected to the first channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface; a third channel connected to the first channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface ” ( Fig. 4, Para s [ 0064] and [0065] and [0046] , The mixture of reaction products is then transported across the intersection of the sample channel (411, 421, 431 or 441) and the corresponding separation channel (414, 424, 434, or 444, respectively. Each of the sample channels 411, 421, 431, and 441, is intersected by a corresponding second channel 412, 422, 432 and 442. The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104. ) ) ; “ a plurality of first channel ports connected to the first channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface of the second substrate ” (Para [0064], Each of the channel networks includes a corresponding sample channel 411, 421, 431 and 441 in communication with a common sample port 402 and waste port 404.) ; “ at least one second channel port connected to the second channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface ” (Para [0065], Each of these channels leads to and is in fluid communication with a separate one of four different ports 413, 423, 433 and 443.) ; “ and at least one third channel port connected to the third channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface ” (Para [0067], The mixture of reaction products is then transported across the intersection of the sample channel (411, 421, 431 or 441) and the corresponding separation channel (414, 424, 434, or 444, respectively) toward waste ports 415, 425, 435 and 445, respectively.) ; “ wherein the first principal surface comprises a first recess, a second recess, and a third recess, the first recess, the second recess, and the third recess function as the first channel, the second channel, and the third channel sandwiched between both of the first substrate and the second substrate ” ( Fig. 3A and Para s [0019] and [0026] an [0046] , A second substrate layer having a lower planar surface is then bonded over this surface, which covers and seals the grooves and wells to form the channels and chambers. As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device. The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104. ) ; “ when the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded together ” (Para [0026] As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device.) ; “ and a depth of the first recess from the first principal surface is larger than a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface .” (Fig. 3A and Para [0046], The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.) . Therefore the channel 306 is the first channel in which the first recess is and has a depth larger than the second and third recess. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1). Regarding claim 4 , Chow teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “comprising a fourth channel connected to the second channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface , a fifth channel connected to the third channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface, at least one fourth channel port connected to the fourth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface, and at least one fifth channel port connected to the fifth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface ” However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having a fourth channel connected to the second channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface, a fifth channel connected to the third channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface because Chow teaches within (Para [0030] the individual channel networks will preferably include at least three intersecting channels, in some aspects, greater than four intersecting channels and often greater than five, six or even eight intersecting channels.). In addition it provides a device that has increased throughput and allow additional step or additional reactions within additional channels. In addition it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having at least one fourth channel port connected to the fourth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface, and at least one fifth channel port connected to the fifth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface because Chow teaches within (Para [0034] A plurality of ports is also provided through the substrate layers of the device, to provide access to the channel networks. In the devices of the present invention, each of the channel networks of the device is in fluid communication with at least two ports or reservoirs disposed in the body of the device. In preferred aspects, at least one port is common to, i.e., in simultaneous fluid communication with, two or more channel networks, while at least one port is typically specific to a single channel network . ). In addition it provides a device that has increased communications with addition channels throughout the device which increases the ability to process more analytes and/ or movement of fluids thought. Chow further teaches “ wherein the first principal surface comprises a fourth recess and a fifth recess ” (Para [0033], A similar series of grooves is fabricated into the top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104, to form a second channel network 124. Upon mating the top surface of the bottom substrate with the bottom surface of the middle substrate, these grooves form the channels of the device.) . The recitation “ t he fourth recess and the fifth recess function as the fourth channel and the fifth channel sandwiched between both of the first substrate and the second substrate ” is capability of the fourth and fifth recesses however taught within (Para [0033], A similar series of grooves is fabricated into the top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104, to form a second channel network 124. Upon mating the top surface of the bottom substrate with the bottom surface of the middle substrate, these grooves form the channels of the device.) ; “ when the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded together” (Para [0026] As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device.) . Chow does not explicitly teach “ and a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface are larger than a depth of the fourth recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the fifth recess from the first principal surface. ” However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface are larger than a depth of the fourth recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the fifth recess from the first principal surface since Chow teaches depths changing throughout the substrate within (Fig. 3A and Para [0046], The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.). It would be an obvious engineering choice to also change the depth of the recesses for the channels within the substrate as with the first, second, and third channels because it frees up space within the substrate to allow for more channels to move within the substrate. Regarding claim 5 , Chow teaches all of claims 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “wherein a width of the first channel is increased toward the second principal surface.” . However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow wherein a width of the first channel is increased toward the second principal surface because Chow teaches varying widths within the channels within (Para [0022], When used to describe a fluidic element, such as a passage, chamber or conduit, the terms "microscale," "microfabricated" or "microfluidic" generally refer to one or more fluid passages, chambers or conduits which have at least one internal cross-sectional dimension, e.g., depth, width, length, diameter, etc., that is less than 500 . mu.m , and typically between about 0.1 . mu.m and about 500 . mu.m . In the devices of the present invention, the microscale channels or chambers preferably have at least one cross-sectional dimension between about 0.1 . mu.m and 200 . mu.m , more preferably between about 0.1 . mu.m and 100 . mu.m , and often between about 0.1 . mu.m and 20 . mu.m .). Therefore it would have been a matter of an obvious engineering choice, to increase the width of the first channel as Chow teaches different widths in addition to increasing surface area within the channel . Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Amstad et. al. ( WO2014186440 A2). Regarding claim 2 , Chow teaches all of claim 1 but does not specifically teach “ wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel.” . Chow does teach the first channel intersecting the corresponding second channel within Para [0065]. Amstad teaches “ wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel.” within (Page 37, In the first example, both edges of its long axis were connected to the main channel through two times 1000 10 micrometer tall, 10 micrometer wide and 500 micrometer long channels that were localized in the middle of the z-axis of the main channel as shown in Fig. IB. ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chow to incorporate the teachings of Amstad wherein the wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel . Doing so increases uniformity in dispersing a liquid or particles within a fluid for the channels. This increases the effectiveness of the channels and the device . Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Yang et. al. ( US 8486352 B2). Regarding claim 3 , Chow teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “ wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels” . Yang teaches “ wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels”. (Page 15, lines 45-48, At this time, the flexible structure may include a first channel, a plurality of second channels, and a plurality of valve portions spatially separating the second channels from the first channel.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chow to incorporate the teachings of Yang wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels . Doing so increases the throughput of the device and allows the device to process more fluids at one time. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT VELVET E HERON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1557 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi can be reached on (571) 270-3638. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /V.E.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798 /CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798