DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending examination in this response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chow teaches “A microfluidic device comprising:” (Title, Muli-layer Microfluidic devices);
“a first substrate having a flat surface; a second substrate having a first principal surface and a second principal surface opposed to each other, wherein the first principal surface is partially bonded to the flat surface first substrate” (Abstract and Paras [0006] and [0033], at least first, second and third substrate layers. By providing additional substrate layers, e.g., third, fourth, fifth and more substrate layers, mated with the typically described first and second layers. Bottom substrate 102 includes a top surface 112, which is mated with the bottom surface 114 of the middle substrate 104. The top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104 is likewise mated with the bottom surface 116 of the top substrate 106.);
“a first channel extending in a direction along a first principal surface of the second substrate between the first substrate and the second substrate; a second channel connected to the first channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface; a third channel connected to the first channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface” (Fig. 4, Paras [0064] and [0065] and [0046], The mixture of reaction products is then transported across the intersection of the sample channel (411, 421, 431 or 441) and the corresponding separation channel (414, 424, 434, or 444, respectively. Each of the sample channels 411, 421, 431, and 441, is intersected by a corresponding second channel 412, 422, 432 and 442. The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.));
“a plurality of first channel ports connected to the first channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface of the second substrate” (Para [0064], Each of the channel networks includes a corresponding sample channel 411, 421, 431 and 441 in communication with a common sample port 402 and waste port 404.);
“at least one second channel port connected to the second channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface” (Para [0065], Each of these channels leads to and is in fluid communication with a separate one of four different ports 413, 423, 433 and 443.);
“and at least one third channel port connected to the third channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface” (Para [0067], The mixture of reaction products is then transported across the intersection of the sample channel (411, 421, 431 or 441) and the corresponding separation channel (414, 424, 434, or 444, respectively) toward waste ports 415, 425, 435 and 445, respectively);
“wherein the first principal surface comprises a first recess, a second recess, and a third recess, the first recess, the second recess, and the third recess function as the first channel, the second channel, and the third channel sandwiched between both of the first substrate and the second substrate” (Fig. 3A and Paras [0019] and [0026] an [0046], A second substrate layer having a lower planar surface is then bonded over this surface, which covers and seals the grooves and wells to form the channels and chambers. As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device. The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.);
“when the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded together” (Para [0026] As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device.);
“and a depth of the first recess from the first principal surface is larger than a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface.” (Fig. 3A and Para [0046], The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.). Therefore, the channel 306 is the first channel in which the first recess is and has a depth larger than the second and third recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Chow teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “comprising a fourth channel connected to the second channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface, a fifth channel connected to the third channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface, at least one fourth channel port connected to the fourth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface, and at least one fifth channel port connected to the fifth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface”
However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having a fourth channel connected to the second channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface, a fifth channel connected to the third channel and extending in a direction along the first principal surface because Chow teaches within (Para [0030] the individual channel networks will preferably include at least three intersecting channels, in some aspects, greater than four intersecting channels and often greater than five, six or even eight intersecting channels.). In addition, it provides a device that has increased throughput and allow additional step or additional reactions within additional channels.
In addition it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having at least one fourth channel port connected to the fourth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface, and at least one fifth channel port connected to the fifth channel and formed to pass through the second substrate toward the second principal surface because Chow teaches within (Para [0034] A plurality of ports is also provided through the substrate layers of the device, to provide access to the channel networks. In the devices of the present invention, each of the channel networks of the device is in fluid communication with at least two ports or reservoirs disposed in the body of the device. In preferred aspects, at least one port is common to, i.e., in simultaneous fluid communication with, two or more channel networks, while at least one port is typically specific to a single channel network.). In addition, it provides a device that has increased communications with addition channels throughout the device which increases the ability to process more analytes and/ or movement of fluids thought.
Chow further teaches “wherein(Para [0033], A similar series of grooves is fabricated into the top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104, to form a second channel network 124. Upon mating the top surface of the bottom substrate with the bottom surface of the middle substrate, these grooves form the channels of the device.).
The recitation “the fourth recess and the fifth recess function as the fourth channel and the fifth channel sandwiched between both of the first substrate and the second substrate” is capability of the fourth and fifth recesses however taught within (Para [0033], A similar series of grooves is fabricated into the top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104, to form a second channel network 124. Upon mating the top surface of the bottom substrate with the bottom surface of the middle substrate, these grooves form the channels of the device.); “when the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded together” (Para [0026] As noted above, the various substrate layers of the microfluidic devices are mated or bonded together to form the microfluidic elements of the device.).
Chow does not explicitly teach “and a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface are larger than a depth of the fourth recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the fifth recess from the first principal surface.”
However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow by having a depth of the second recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the third recess from the first principal surface are larger than a depth of the fourth recess from the first principal surface and a depth of the fifth recess from the first principal surface since Chow teaches depths changing throughout the substrate within (Fig. 3A and Para [0046], The device includes channels 302, 304, 306 and 308 (channel 308 is shown from the end view) fabricated into the upper surface of the middle substrate 104.).
It would be an obvious engineering choice to also change the depth of the recesses for the channels within the substrate as with the first, second, and third channels because it frees up space within the substrate to allow for more channels to move within the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Chow teaches all of claims 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “wherein a width of the first channel is increased toward the second principal surface.”.
However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chow wherein a width of the first channel is increased toward the second principal surface because Chow teaches varying widths within the channels within (Para [0022], When used to describe a fluidic element, such as a passage, chamber or conduit, the terms "microscale," "microfabricated" or "microfluidic" generally refer to one or more fluid passages, chambers or conduits which have at least one internal cross-sectional dimension, e.g., depth, width, length, diameter, etc., that is less than 500 .mu.m, and typically between about 0.1 .mu.m and about 500 .mu.m. In the devices of the present invention, the microscale channels or chambers preferably have at least one cross-sectional dimension between about 0.1 .mu.m and 200 .mu.m, more preferably between about 0.1 .mu.m and 100 .mu.m, and often between about 0.1 .mu.m and 20 .mu.m.). Therefore it would have been a matter of an obvious engineering choice, to increase the width of the first channel as Chow teaches different widths in addition to increasing surface area within the channel.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Amstad et. al. (WO2014186440 A2).
Regarding claim 2, Chow teaches all of claim 1 but does not specifically teach “wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel.”. Chow does teach the first channel intersecting the corresponding second channel within Para [0065].
Amstad teaches “wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel.” within (Page 37, In the first example, both edges of its long axis were connected to the main channel through two times 1000 10 micrometer tall, 10 micrometer wide and 500 micrometer long channels that were localized in the middle of the z-axis of the main channel as shown in Fig. IB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chow to incorporate the teachings of Amstad wherein the wherein the second channel is connected to a middle of the first channel. Doing so increases uniformity in dispersing a liquid or particles within a fluid for the channels. This increases the effectiveness of the channels and the device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et. al. (US 20020023684 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Yang et. al. (US 8486352 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Chow teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not explicitly teach “wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels”.
Yang teaches “wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels”. (Page 15, lines 45-48, At this time, the flexible structure may include a first channel, a plurality of second channels, and a plurality of valve portions spatially separating the second channels from the first channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chow to incorporate the teachings of Yang wherein the second channel includes a plurality of second channels. Doing so increases the throughput of the device and allows the device to process more fluids at one time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Chow’s first principal is not bonded to the flat surface of the first substrate and the channel configuration of Chow differs from the present invention. Applicant further argues Chow’s first principal surface of the second substrate includes a first recess, a second recess, and a third recess. Applicant points to the present applicants Fig. 4 for reference.
Examiner refers to Figs. 1 and 4 of the present application for reference of 20a. Comparatively looking at Fig. 1 of the present invention and Fig. 3 of the prior art, Chow discloses the claimed layers and channel arrangement. Para [0033] of Chow teaches the flat surface is partially bonded (“Bottom substrate 102 includes a top surface 112, which is mated with the bottom surface 114 of the middle substrate 104. The top surface 115 of the middle substrate 104 is likewise mated with the bottom surface 116 of the top substrate 106.”).
The prior art reference discloses all of the positively claimed features and therefore is expected to be capable of performing the claimed intended use. Examiner further notes the claim does not require the entire substrate surface to be flat.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798