Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendment filed on 08/20/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 12 have been amended.
Claim 8 has been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-13, 15-16, 19-20, 24-25, 27-29 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 13, 15-16, 19-20, 24-25, 27-29 are withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2017/0348442) in view of SHUEN (US 2017/0326252) and ZHONG et al (Cathepsin B-cleavable doxorubicin prodrugs for targeted cancer therapy (Review). International Journal of Oncology. 42: 373-383, 2013).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 7, LIU teaches a composition comprised of: CCR2 binding peptide (see claim 1) for targeting CCR2 receptors, wherein the CCR2 binding peptide has TFLK sequence (see [0012]) and has no more than 200 amino acids, such as 7 amino acids (see SEQ ID NO: 2 at pg. 44; and [0093]); conjugated to a nanoparticle (see claim 1 and claim 8); a linker (see claim 1), such as TA-PEG-maleimide (see claim 10 at (vi)), which reads on PEG derivative, wherein the linker can be covalently attached to the nanoparticle (see [0017]; [0113]). Additional disclosures include: imaging agents (see abstract), such as a radiolabel (see claim 1), wherein the composition can be used to treat cancer (see [0027]), such as pancreatic cancer (see [0396]), and using a delivery system similar to that used for delivering chemotherapy to specific tumors (see [0187]).
LIU does not teach adding a chemotherapeutic agent conjugated to the nanoparticle with a second linker, such as cathepsin B-sensitive dipeptide linker.
SHUEN teaches the prior art had known of chemotherapeutic agents, such as MMAE (see [0055]) conjugated to a nanoparticle (see [0055]) with a linker, such as valine-citrulline and Phe-Lys (see [0055]-[0056]), which are cathepsin B-sensitive dipeptide linker (see [0055]). Additional disclosures include: chemotherapeutic agents, such as doxorubicin (see [0014]).
ZHONG teaches the prior art had known of using cathepsin B-cleavable doxorubicin for targeted cancer therapy (see abstract) achieves a higher DOX concentration in tumor tissue and a lower concentration in normal tissue, so as to enhance the efficacy and reduce toxicity to normal cells (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate chemotherapeutic agent conjugated to the nanoparticle with a second linker, such as cathepsin B-sensitive dipeptide linker. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would have an additive effect in treating the cancer and lower toxicity, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as cancer treatment.
Regarding claim 3, LIN teaches the composition has a size of 5.0 nm (see [0247]).
Regarding claim 4, LIN teaches the nanoparticle can be nanocluster (see [0016]) and copper (see [0016]), thus, it would have been obvious to use nanoclusters of copper.
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2017/0348442) in view of SHUEN (US 2017/0326252), ZHONG et al (Cathepsin B-cleavable doxorubicin prodrugs for targeted cancer therapy (Review). International Journal of Oncology. 42: 373-383, 2013) and NOVOBRANTSEVA et al (US 2021/0317461).
As discussed above, the references teach Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 6, the references teach the CCR2 binding peptide is ECL1i (see LIN at [0012), but does NOT teach that the chemotherapeutic agent is gemcitabine.
NOVOBRANTSEVA teaches the prior art had known of chemotherapeutic agents, such as doxorubicin and gemcitabine. Additional disclosures include: targeting CCR2 (see title), such as CCR2 peptide that consists of TFLK sequence (see [0208]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate gemcitabine as the chemotherapeutic agents. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because doxorubicin and gemcitabine are functional equivalents of chemotherapeutic agents.
Regarding claims 9, and 11-12, the references do NOT teach using immunotherapeutic agent, such as immune checkpoint inhibitor, such as anti-PD-1.
NOVOBRANTSEVA teaches the prior art had known of combination therapy for additive or synergistic effect (see [0037]), wherein combination with an addition agent such as an immune checkpoint therapy (see [0037]), such as PD-1 (see [0473] and [0476]). Immune checkpoints and their sequences are well-known in the art. Immune checkpoints generally relate to pairs of inhibitory receptors and the natural binding partners (see [0476]). Addition disclosures include: treatment of the associated cancer with a cancer therapy (e.g., anti-immune checkpoint, chemotherapeutic, and/or radiation therapy) (see [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate immunotherapeutic agent, such as immune checkpoint inhibitor, such as anti-PD-1. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications it would provide additive or synergistic effect and reasonably would have expected success because the prior art had now of using combination therapies for cancer treatment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618