Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 20, 21, 25, 32, 35, 36, 43, and 46 drawn to product in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the compound in the art cited, do not fall within the scope of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because as explained in the previous action the invariable moiety in the formulae of claims do not make a contribution over the prior art (see below) cited. Further Applicant is not responsive to the citations with regards to search burden.
Claims 47, 48, 55, 57, 62-64 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/16/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 20, 21, 25, 32, 35, 36, 43, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan, European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2018), 154, 233-252 and Ojima, WO2017156354.
Yan teach, Table at page 241
Ojima also teach
More specifically Ojima teaches substructure formulae of the above formula at claim 10 page 15, and also specific species at pages 15-17, 86-89.
The Difference:
While the core structure of the above Ojima formula, that is structure without the multiple R groups and of Yan and the instant claims are the same, Ojima and Yan do not teach the compounds of the instant formula, because as recited in the claims, the multiple provisos in the instant claims exclude specific selective combination the R groups disclosed in Yan and Ojima. The key word here is ‘combination’ (more on this later with an example). These provisos are recited with ‘other than’ claim language to avoid anticipatory rejections of claims. The position taken by the Examiner is that the compounds of instant claims including that of species claim 43 represent ‘selective combination’ (more on this later with an example) of R group substituent combinations. Substituents such as the R groups recited and exemplified in the cited references and in the instant claims are routinely used to decorate core templates of biologically active compounds to optimize desired physical and chemical properties. The limitations of dependent claims are further selection of combination of R group possibilities. The first word ‘SAR’ in the title of cited Yan means ‘structure-activity-relationship’, the elementary medicinal chemistry principle illustrated in the last four columns of Yan Table. The actual values in these columns are irrelevant since the examined claims are drawn to products. It is acknowledged that Yan and Ojima are focused on the antinociceptive activity of the compounds and Yan and Ojima are silent with respect any and all inherent property of the compounds. Even though the elected claims are drawn to product, disclosure throughout the specification are considered including the intended use of the compounds. That said the following Examination guidelines is relevant in this context:
MPEP 2112 Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency; Burden of Proof [R-10.2019], "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer."
Provisos and selective combination:.
Consider the elected species (Remarks 03/16/2026 page 2) that is included in claims and the Ojima compound shown below:
Elected species Ojima at page 87 claim 37
The difference is methoxy (OMe) group in the compound for which protection is sought.
This group OMe explicitly is included in other exemplified species (plural) in the instant claims (see claim numbered pages 16-17) and in Ojima claims (numbered pages 87-88) with other combinations of R possibilities. This is an example of deliberate exclusion of otherwise same prior art compound structure to avoid rejection under 35 USC § 102.
As such the position taken is that the invention is a selective combination of the inventions by the prior arts done in a manner obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Patent for the combination of known elements wherein their functions remain the same withdraws “what is already known into field of its monopoly and diminishes resources available to skilled men”. Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.189 USPQ 449, 425 US 273, (1976).
Accordingly, the claims do not appear to recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 20, 21, 25, 32, 35, 36, 43, and 46 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10968163. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain overlapping subject matter.
The formula of 10968163 falls under the scope of the claim 1 of instant case in a species (10968163) and genus relationship. With core invariable moiety being the same in both cases, the difference is the combination of various R groups decorating the core template.
Instant claim
(numbered page 2) and also at page 17
(of instant dependent claim) overlap with
10968163 base claim 1
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 20, 21, 25, 32, 35, 36, 43, and 46 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11026910 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain overlapping subject matter.
The formula of 11026910 falls under the scope of the claim 1 of instant case in a species (11026910 ) and genus relationship. With core invariable moiety being the same in both cases, the difference is the combination of various R groups decorating the core template.
The language ‘enantiomerically enriched’ compounds of claim 1 of 11026910
falls under the scope of the racemate of instant claim 1 formula.
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32
(2010) 324–330.
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625