DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 4/8/2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-14 remain pending in the current application. The amendments have overcome the 112b rejections related to claims 9 and 12, however the Examiner notes the 112b rejection related to claim 1, and thus its dependent claims, is maintained. The Examiner also would like note that due to the amendments now present in claim 9, a new reference is being applied, as claim 9 now recites limitations not previously considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112b rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues on page 1-2 of the remarks that Applicant’s specification (Page 6) provides clarity on the functionality of the volume variation means and the pump, citing the passage: “the volume variation means 4 can be of various types, Advantageously, they exploit, in particular for the increase in volume, the natural tendency of the material to return to its original shape, or elastic return. Preferably, the volume variation means 4 comprise a pump 40 adapted at least to extract gas from the casing 31. More preferably, the pump 40 is exclusively adapted to extract gas, more preferably, there are no active means for the insertion of gas into the casing 31”. However, as line 11 of claim 1 recites “volume variation means suitable for extracting and/or introducing gas inside said casing”, with line 13 reciting “a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing”, it remains unclear how the volume variation means, which comprises the pump, can have the ability to extract or introduce gas (as line 11 recites), while the pump is configured to only extract gas (as line 13 recites). A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “volume variation means suitable for extracting and/or introducing gas inside said casing”, and the claim also recites “a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Similarly, Applicant argues on pages 3-4 of the remarks that the primary reference of Sinnhuber does not teach or suggest a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing, noting that Sinnhuber’s collapsible elements are internally empty and the pump 44 is described as bringing the chambers to a desired pressure, without specifying the pressure can only be negative. The Examiner first notes the 112b rejection, discussed above, relating to this particular limitation. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that Sinnhuber’s control valve 42 and the pump 44 are configured such that the pump 44 may release air out of the chamber (Page 5), therefore creating negative pressure in the respective chambers.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, and thus its dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations of “a volume variation means suitable for extracting and/or introducing gas inside said casing” and “a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing”. As Page 6 of Applicant’s specification describes the “volume variation means” as the pump 40, it is unclear how the pump can both extract and introduce gas inside the casing, while also being exclusively configured to only extract gas. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “volume variation means suitable for extracting and/or introducing gas inside said casing”, and the claim also recites “a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has taken these limitations to mean the pump is able to at least extract gas from said casing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinnhuber (DE 19938698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sinnhuber discloses a massaging support comprising (seat portion 8 comprising plurality of gas-filled chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 Figure 1 and Abstract); a contact surface for a user (seat surface 22, Figure 1 and Abstract), said contact surface comprising an oscillating zone (seat surface 22 comprising a padded material layer 26, Abstract and Figure 1), and at least one collapsible element inside said massaging support and placed under each said oscillating zone (plurality of gas-filled chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 embedded within padded material layer 26 and configured to have gas pressure variability in order to adjust seat flexibility and/or surface profile of the seat surface 22, Abstract and Figure 1), said collapsible element comprising: an inner portion comprising elastically compressible material (plurality of gas filled chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are made from an open-pore elastomer foam material, Page 3 paragraph 5), so to allow the geometric variation of said oscillating zone (by changing the air pressure in each chamber, the geometric shape of the chambers and boundary walls 38 of the chambers is varied, changing the overall surface profile of the seat surface 22, Page 4 last paragraph), a casing (boundary walls 38, Figure 1), including said inner portion and comprising a gas-tight membrane (boundary walls 38 include chamber foam material and serve as gas-tight boundary walls 38 for each chamber, Page 4 paragraph 8), and volume variation means suitable for extracting and/or introducing gas inside said casing (the chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 35 each have an air connection which is connected by a hose line 40 to a control valve 42 and pump 44 or either releasing to pumping air into each chamber, Figure 1 and Page 5 third paragraph), and including: a pump adapted exclusively to extract gas from said casing (the Examiner notes the 112b rejection presented above; pump 44 capable of releasing air out of each chamber, Page 5), a valve (valve 42, Page 5 and Figure 1), suitable for allowing or blocking the introduction of gas in said casing (control valve 42 may be a two-way valve used for releasing and/or introduction of gas into chambers, Page 5 and Figure 1), said massaging support in addition comprising control means (control unit with pressure sensor, Abstract), configured to repeat several times, on command, the operations of: in a first half-period contracting one of said collapsible elements, putting it in depression, and, in a second half-period of time, opening said valve and expanding said collapsible element (the actuation of the valve 42 and pump 44 may be changed as desired by either pumping air in or out of each chamber, therefore fully capable of repeating periods of opening and closing said valve, Page 7 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Sinnhuber further discloses wherein said inner portion comprises elastically compressible material made of a polymeric foam (the plurality of gas filled chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are made from an open-pore elastomer foam material, an elastomer is a type of polymer material, Page 3 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 4, Sinnhuber further discloses wherein said inner portion is immersed in a part of said massaging support volume (chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are embedded in seat portion 8 comprising cushioning 26, Figure 1), in turn made of the same material of said inner portion (cushioning material 26 is also an open-pore breathable cushioning foam material, Page 4 fourth paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Sinnhuber further discloses comprising a sagittal plane (seat portion 8 comprises a sagittal plane, Figures 1-5) and wherein said oscillating zones are arranged with specular symmetry with respect to said sagittal plane (plurality of embedded chambers arranged with symmetry with respect to the middle of the seat portion 8, therefore the sagittal plane, Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Sinnhuber further discloses consists of a seat (seat portion 8, Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Sinnhuber further discloses wherein said seat comprises said oscillating zones in correspondence with said seat (plurality of gas filled chambers embedded within said seat portion 8, Figures 1-5 and Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Sinnhuber further discloses wherein said seat is a seat inside automobiles or motor vehicles (vehicle seat, Page 2 and Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Sinnhuber teaches the method according to claim 9 (see 112 rejection presented above), with Sinnhuber further teaching wherein said period is constant (For the purpose of examination, the examiner has considered this limitation to be met as long as the prior art teaches controlling the expansion/contraction of each collapsible member to therefore be controlled over a constants period of time. As Sinnhuber’s chambers may be controlled as desired, to include over a constant period of time, the Examiner has considered this limitation to be met).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnhuber (DE 19938698 A1) in view of Zwolinski et al. (6,055,473).
Regarding claim 2, Sinnhuber teaches The massaging support of claim 1, with Sinnhuber further teaching an electrically controlled two way valve that may be operated in either the open or closed position closing (Page 5, third paragraph), Sinnhuber doesn’t explicitly state the valve being an solenoid valve.
However, Zwolinksi teaches an adaptive seating system (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a plurality of inflatable chambers (bladders 24, 26, 28, 30 and 32, Col. 3 lines 35-40 and Figure 1) operatively connected to a pump and a solenoid valve (bladder pressure control includes pumps 78 and 80 and a valve module 74, valves may be of solenoid type, for selectively coupling the supply line to any of the pressure control lines, Col. 4 lines 39-46 and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sinnhuber’s massaging seat device such that the valve is a solenoid valve, as taught by Zwolinksi, as using solenoid valves are an art-recognized means of selectively controlling pressures in individual chambers/bladders, offering benefits such as a fast response time for rapid on/off control and low energy use.
Regarding claim 13, Sinnhuber in view of Zwolinksi teach the massaging support according to claim 2, with Sinnhuber further teaching wherein said inner portion comprises elastically compressible material made of a polymeric foam (the plurality of gas filled chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are made from an open-pore elastomer foam material, an elastomer is a type of polymer material, Page 3 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 14, Sinnhuber further teaches wherein said inner portion is immersed in a part of said massaging support volume (chambers 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are embedded in seat portion 8 comprising cushioning 26, Figure 1), in turn made of the same material of said inner portion (cushioning material 26 is also an open-pore breathable cushioning foam material, Page 4 fourth paragraph).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnhuber (DE 19938698 A1) in view of Onuma et al. (US 2018/0086238 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sinnhuber further discloses a method of deforming of a massage support according to any of the dependent claims claim 1 (boundary walls 38 of each chamber 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 are elastically extensible, Page 4 and Figure 1), however, although Sinnhuber teaches controlling the valve and pump as desired, Sinnhuber doesn’t explicitly state opening said valve in situations of non-activation of the massage of said massaging support , wherein said pump is not activated.
However, Onuma teaches a massaging vehicle seat system (Abstract, Figure 1) comprising a valve (valve 32, Figure 6 and Paragraph 0050) and a pump (pump 56, Figure 6 and Paragraph 0051) configured to inflate/deflate a plurality of airbags (airbags 30, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0031) wherein said valve may be opened in situation of non-activation of the massage, wherein said pump is not activated (during a discharging state, i.e. no massage function present, the valve 32 is opened and air is discharged from the interior of the airbags 30, therefore the pump 56 is not activated and the airbags contracting, Figure 3 and Paragraph 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sinnhuber’s massaging seat device such that the valve may be configured to open in situation of non-activation, wherein said pump is not activated, as taught by Onuma, as opening said valve allows each respective chamber to discharge gas/air and return to its original shape while the seat is not being used.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnhuber (DE 19938698 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Sinnhuber discloses the method according to claim 9, further teaching (seat portion 8 comprises a sagittal plane, Figures 1-5) and wherein said oscillating zones are arranged with specular symmetry with respect to said sagittal plane (plurality of embedded chambers arranged with symmetry with respect to the middle of the seat portion 8, therefore the sagittal plane, Figures 1-5), how this particular embodiment of Sinnhuber doesn’t explicitly state wherein said oscillating zones that are specular are activated simultaneously in opposite way.
However, Sinnhuber teaches an alternative embodiment shown in Figure 5 comprising symmetrical oscillating zones (chambers 82, 84, 86, 88 and 90, Figure 5 and Page 6) that are activated simultaneously in an opposite way (the pump 44 is arranged between two communicating groups of chambers 82, 84, 86, 88 and 90 so that air can be moved alternatively, Page 6 last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Sinnhuber’s device as shown in Figures 1-4 by having the oscillating zones be activated in an alternative manner, as taught by the embodiment as shown in Figure 5, as activating the chambers in such a manner may provide an enhanced massaging effect to the user by changing pressure in adjacent chambers the seat portion by counteracting muscle tension due to a constant sitting position (Page 6 last paragraph of Sinnhuber).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnhuber (DE 19938698 A1) in view of Weber et al. (US 2018/0125744 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sinnhuber teaches the method according to claim 9 (the Examiner notes the 112b rejection presented above), however is silent wherein the complete expansion or contraction period of one of said collapsible elements is comprised between 2 s and 20 s.
However, Weber teaches a seat assembly comprising multiple inflatable bladders (Abstract and Figure 1) wherein the period of expansion or contraction is between 2 and 20 seconds (bladders 20b, 20c, and 20d are inflated with a fill time of nine seconds, Paragraph 0033 and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sinnhuber’s massaging seat device such that the expansion or contraction period of the chambers are between 2 and 20 seconds, as taught by Weber, as such a time interval provides a comfortable sequence in inflation and/or deflation to the user.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785