DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-17, and 21-24, 26-27, 30, 34-35 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 24, 26-27, 30 and 34-35 are previously withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 09/11/2026 containing remarks to the claims. No claims have been amended, canceled, or newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-9, filed 09/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 7-8, Applicant argues that Lee does not anticipate the device of claim 1 because claim 1 requires three separate structures for the base, spacer, and recess. The Examiner disagrees. Claim 1 requires the spacer be configured to space the article from the base when at least a portion of the article is received in the heating chamber. The claim recites no further structural features of the spacer and does not require the spacer is an independent and separate structure from the recess. Lee discloses a spacer (bottom protrusions 226) that creates a space between the cigarette (7) and the base (bottom wall 29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116]), and the bottom protrusions (226) form a recess in the base (bottom wall 29), the recess extends from the floor (29) of the heating chamber (20) to the upper surface of the bottom protrusions (226, Fig. 8, [0110-0117]). Thus, Lee is considered to disclose all of the features required by claim 1.
Further, even if the claim were to require a separate structures for the base, spacer, and recess, an alternative interpretation of Lee discloses an aerosol provision device comprising a separate base, spacer, and recess. Lee discloses protrusions (225, “a spacer”) on the inner wall of the heating chamber (20) that protrude into the heating chamber (20) and are spaced from the base (29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0120]), such that the inner wall protrusions (225) would be capable of spacing the cigarette (7) from the base when the cigarette (7) is partially inserted into the chamber (20, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0120]). In the same embodiment, Lee discloses protrusions (226) on the bottom wall (29) which form a recess that extends from the floor (29) of the heating chamber (20) to the upper surface of the bottom protrusions (226, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116-0117]). Thus, Lee is considered to disclose an aerosol generating device comprising separate base (29), spacer (225), and recess (formed by bottom protrusion 226) that reads on the Applicant’s interpretation of claim 1.
On pg. 8-9, Applicant argues the Lee discloses the space between the protrusion and the bottom wall is for air passage to the cigarette bottom and therefore Lee does not disclose a recess for collecting fluid. The Examiner disagrees. The claim requiring that the recess collect fluid is claimed as intended use. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the bottom protrusions (226) form a recess in the bottom wall (29) of the heating chamber (20) which is capable of collecting fluid. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
On pg. 9, Applicant argues the broader disclosure of Lee is inconsistent with having a recess for collecting fluid because Lee discloses the structure relied upon for the claimed recess are used for drawing air to the cigarette bottom and the Lee further discloses additional features such was cigarette wrappers to prevent leakage. The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Lee disclosing that the protrusions have a different function and that a wrapper may be used to prevent leakage does not preclude the recess formed by the bottom protrusions (226) from being able to collect fluid. The Examiner further notes that the use of patents as prior art is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions, patents are relevant for all that they contain, and a reference may be relied upon for all that would have been reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2123(I)). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
The claims filed with the request for continued Examination (RCE) on 09/11/2026 are identical to the claims previously filed in response to the Non-Final office action (see claims dated 03/18/2026). As such, the following rejection is maintained and made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 13-14, 16-17, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) for being anticipated by Lee (US 20200154765 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an aerosol provision device (Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0113-0114]) comprising:
A heating chamber (cavity defined by path 20) for receiving a cigarette (7, Fig. 8, [0114]),
A heating element (heater 30) for heating the cigarette (7) received in the heating chamber (20, Fig. 8, [0114]),
A base (bottom wall 29) at one end of the heating chamber (20) and defining a floor of the heating chamber (20, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0115]), and;
A spacer (bottom protrusions 226) that creates a space between the cigarette (7) and the base (bottom wall 29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116]).
The bottom protrusions (226) form a recess in the base (bottom wall 29), the recess extends from the floor (29) of the heating chamber (20) to the upper surface of the bottom protrusions (Fig. 8, [0110-0117]).
In regards to the limitation, “a recess for collecting fluid received in the heating chamber”, Lee does not explicitly disclose the recess in the base is used for collecting fluid. However, the recessed space in the base (29) would be capable of collecting at least some fluid received in the heating chamber (20, Fig 8) and therefore reads on the limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the spacer (bottom protrusions 226) is a protrusion protruding into the heating chamber (path 20, Fig. 8, [0116-0117]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the spacer comprises a plurality of protrusions (bottom protrusions 226, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116-0117]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the plurality of protrusions (bottom protrusions 226) are distributed around the heating chamber (20, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116-0117]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the protrusions (226) extend from the base (bottom wall 29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0116-0117]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses protrusions (225) on the inner wall of the heating chamber (20) that protrude into the heating chamber (20) and are spaced from the base (29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0120]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the inner wall protrusions (225) would be capable of spacing the cigarette (7) from the base when the cigarette (7) is partially inserted into the chamber (20, Fig. 8, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the heating element (heater 30) upstands from the base (bottom wall 29, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0118]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a receptable (casing 210) which defines the heating chamber (cavity defined by path 20), where the base (bottom wall 29) is part of the receptable (210, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0114-0115]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the receptacle (casing 210) defines an air passage (25p extending from end 20f to 20r) to provide airflow to the heating chamber (20, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0104, 0115-0116, 0121]).
The rejections of claims 14, 16, and 17 are made in reference to the below annotated Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses an air outlet into the heating chamber (20) where the air outlet is defined in the base (29), as illustrated in the annotated Fig. 8 above.
The specification discloses the gap (G) between the inner wall (231b) of the receptacle (230), and the base (233) defines the air outlet (251, Fig. 4B, pg. 15). However, claims 10, and 13-14 do not require the receptacle is a separate component from the heating chamber. Claim 14 merely requires an air outlet into the heating chamber defined in the base. Therefore, the bottom end of the air passage (25p) is considered to meet the claim limitation of air outlet.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses an air outlet into the heating chamber (20) where the air outlet at least partially disposed between the base (29) and article locating face of the spacer (225), as illustrated in the annotated Fig. 8 above.
The specification discloses the gap (G) between the inner wall (231b) of the receptacle (230), and the base (233) defines the air outlet (251, Fig. 4B, pg. 15). However, claims 10, 13-14 do not require the receptacle is a separate component from the heating chamber. Claim 14 merely requires an air outlet into the heating chamber defined in the base. Therefore, the bottom end of the air passage (25p) is considered to meet the claim limitation of air outlet.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses air is supplied to the bottom surface (7d) of the cigarette (7) through the space between the base (29) and the bottom protrusions (226, Fig. 8, [0121]) which is in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis of the receptacle (210). Therefore, the air outlet provided at the distal end of the air passage is arranged to introduce airflow into the heating chamber in a radial direction.
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses an opening (21) at the proximal end of the heating chamber (20), and the base (29) is at the distal end of the heating chamber (20), where the heating chamber (20) has a uniform cross section along the length of a receptable (casing 210) defining the heating chamber (20, Fig. 8, [0116-0117]).
Regarding claim 23, The bottom protrusions (226) form a well in the base (bottom wall 29, Fig. 8, [0110-0117]).
In regards to the limitation, “a well configured to collect liquid collated in the heating chamber”, Lee does not explicitly disclose the well is used for collecting fluid. However, the well in the base (29) would be capable of collecting at least some fluid received in the heating chamber (20, Fig 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20200154765 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses an embodiment where the spacer (protrusions 726) forms a shoulder into the heating chamber (20, Fig. 16, [0159, 0162]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses an embodiment comprising a device housing (outer container 13, Fig. 2, [0070-0073]). The housing (13) is depicted as a separate component from the receptable (12) which reasonably suggests the receptable (12) is removable from the device housing (13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the embodiments disclosed by Lee by applying the housing (outer container 13, Fig. 2) to the aerosol generating device disclosed in Fig. 8 to arrive at a device comprising a receptacle removable from the device housing.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses an embodiment where the air outlet defined by the bottom end of the air passage (20r) is non symmetrical about the longitudinal axis of the heating chamber (20) as the gap between spacer (protrusions 725) and the base (29) varies along the circumferential direction of the heating chamber (20, Fig. 16, Fig. 17, [0160]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20200154765 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Park (US 20230346032 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the heating element may be a resistive heater ([0179]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the heating element is a susceptor.
However, Park, directed to an aerosol generating device (100, Fig. 1), discloses:
A heating element in the form of a susceptor (110) and an inductor coil (130) for generating a varying magnetic field to heat the susceptor (110, Fig. 1, [0048, 0058, 0062])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee by substituting the resistive heating arrangement with an inductive heating arrangement comprising a susceptor and inductor coil as taught by Park because both Lee and Park are directed to aerosol generating devices, Lee teaches a resistive heating arrangement and Park teaches an inductive heating arrangement, and this involves substituting one known heating arrangement for another in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755