DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued on page 15 that the terms “heat detector” and “pulse monitor” should not be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). However, in order for the claim to not be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), the applicant only has two options, as outlined in the previous office action and in MPEP 2181: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
In this case, the applicant did not amend the claim limitations, so option (1) is moot. The applicant also did not point out “that the claims limitation recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.” Instead, the applicant states that the claim limitations “connote sufficiently definite structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art.” However, this is not the standard. An implication of suggestion of structure is not the same as RECITING sufficient structure. In fact, the whole point of means-plus-functions recitations is to allow an applicant to connote structure that is disclosed in the specification without actually reciting the structure. This is exactly what the applicant is admitting to here. They are requesting that the Examiner read the structural limitations of the specification into the claim, which is ONLY possible if the claims recite a means-plus-function limitation. As admitted by the applicant, there are MANY different structural ways to detect a level of heat, and the claimed “heat detector” does not recite any specific way. The same is true of the “pulse monitor.” Furthermore, the applicant is pointing to the specification to show the sufficient structure, none of which is recite din the claim. The limitations are properly interpreted as means-plus-function limitations.
Regarding the art rejections, the applicant argues on page 12 that Bae does not disclose a “synergy that leads to action based on any specific combination of temperature and amplitude change.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim merely require raising an alarm on OCCURRENCE of one of the following combinations. However, the claims 1) do not recite that the earplug actually determines the occurrence of the combination(s), or deduces a change in value, or monitors a baseline, etc. and 2) do not define a specific type of alarm. All the claim requires is that IF/WHEN one of the combinations occurs, some sort of output/alarm occurs. As described in the previous rejection and again below, Bae continuously detects heat and monitors the pulse, and the outputs are continuously visually displayed. The visual display is considered an alarm. Since the heat detection and pulse monitoring is continuous, IF/WHEN any of the claimed combinations occurs, the heat value and pulse value will inherently be displayed, that output being a type of alarm, thus reading on the claim.
The rejections are still considered proper.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heat detector” in claim 1, such that the specification discloses the heat detector is a semiconductor temperature sensor, and its equivalents.
“pulse monitor” in claim 1, such that the specification discloses the pulse monitor to be a photoplethysmography sensor, a ballistocardiography sensor, and their equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (US 2004/0225207, hereinafter Bae).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Bae discloses an earplug 500 as seen in figure 5B (par. 0055). The earplug includes a heat detector 510 for obtaining an indication of the level of heat in the air of the ear canal and a PPG pulse monitor 520 configured to obtain a pulse and heart rate, such that the heat detector and pulse monitor are configured to be operated at the same time, if so desired by a user (par. 0055-0056). The outputs from the heat detector and the pulse monitor are sent to display unit 590, such that the display will visually present any occurrences of increases or decreases in the ear canal temperature and the pulse amplitude to the patient and/or physician for remote examination, the visual output constituting an “alarm” as currently claimed (fig. 6, 7, 15A, par. 0055, 0057, 0059, 0076). The claim does not require actual detection of the increases and/or decreases, nor does it require the increases and/or decreases to occur simultaneously.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, as seen in figure 5, when inserted into the ear canal, the pulse monitor 520 is in a depression on a surface of an extension that directly contacts the ear canal wall, in order to best read light absorption in the tissue. Conversely, the heat detector 510 does not abut the wall and thus is further from the wall than the pulse monitor because the heat detector needs to have a clear, open path to the tympanic membrane in order to collect and sense infrared emissions (par 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Cross et al. (US 2019/0117155, hereinafter Cross).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bae, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including utilizing infrared heat sensors to provide an indication of the air temperature in an ear canal. However, Bae is silent as to using two, spaced semiconductor temperature sensors and determining a temperature gradient between the sensors. Cross discloses utilizing using two, spaced semiconductor temperature sensors and determining a temperature gradient between the sensors, such that the use of these sensors is an improvement over infrared sensors (par. 0050-0051, 0064, 0142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Bae to utilize the spaced semiconductor temperature sensors and determining a temperature gradient between the sensors, as taught by Cross, such that the use of these sensors is an improvement over infrared sensors (par. 0050-0051 for motivation).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796