DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 38-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification only uses the abbreviation “TMPAC”. For clarity, the full chemical name should first be spelled out at least once and then referred to in parentheses:
trimethylphenylammonium chloride (TMPAC). Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: claim 35 states the implant has an in vivo life of no more than 36 months, but this limitation is not sufficiently supported in the specification. Page 12, lines 11-17 states that the in vivo half-life may be no more than 36 months. The specification gives a different range of the in vivo life that is at least 4 weeks without an upper range.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings have areas of dark shading obstructing the subject matter. The drawings should be black and white line drawings with shading provided by cross-hatching.
Claim Objections
Claims 33 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities: for purposes of clarity, the abbreviation “TMPAC” should first be spelled out trimethylphenylammonium chloride (TMPAC). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 32, 36 and 37 recite the term “optionally”, which renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear whether any limitation recited after “optionally” is actually required.
Claim 32 additionally includes the term “preferably”, which also makes it unclear whether a urethane linkage is required.
Claim 33 is indefinite for its dependency on claim 32.
Regarding claim 34: claim 33 recites the TMPAC substance as an option in a list of several options for prepolymers. Therefore claim 33 does not necessarily require the prepolymer to the TMPAC substance. The reference in claim 34 to the TMPAC substance therefore lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 35: the limitation “the implant has an in vivo life of no more than 36 months” appears to contradict the specification on Page 12, lines 11-17, which states that the in vivo half-life may be no more than 36 months. The specification gives a different range of the in vivo life that is at least 4 weeks without an upper range. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For purposes of expediting prosecution, the term “life” is interpreted as “half-life.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-32 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2020/0390944 (Williams et al.).
Regarding claim 29: Williams et al. disclose a void occlusion implant for inserting into a void in a body tissue, the implant comprising a polymeric material which is capable of transitioning from a compressed state to an expanded state [0795] upon exposure to a stimulus (see description of expansion in response to tissue expander [0795]); wherein in the expanded state the implant is capable of assuming the size and shape of the void (Williams discloses various types of breast reconstruction implants capable of filling a void (Fig. 6-15; [0114; 0121; 0122]).
The language “wherein the implant exhibits a peak expansion force of 0.1 to 2 N at 37°C” is considered to be a functional limitation that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose this function but merely have the capability of exhibiting a peak expansion force in the range of 0.1 – 2N at body temperature. Williams discloses the implant is expanded with a force in the range of 0.2 – 22 N/cm [0795; 0797], wherein the implant is expanded within a patient having a body temperature of 37o C. Williams explains this may be “a peak expansion force”, since this may be the maximum force required to result in an expanded implant.
Regarding claim 30: the implant may be a post-lumpectomy implant. Williams discloses various types of breast reconstruction implants capable of filling a void (Fig. 6-15; [0114; 0121; 0122]).
Regarding claim 31: the implant is 3D printed (abstract; [0036]; [0540]).
Regarding claim 32: Williams discloses the implant comprises a polymeric material (abstract) formed from a resin composition [0288] comprising a prepolymer (see description of monomers such as [0089]; [0141]; [0144] for example). The resin may comprise at least one carbonate linkage (for example [0142]; [0173]; [0212]) and a urethane linkage ([0142]; [0173]).
In regard to claim 35: the phrase “the implant has in vivo life of no more than 36 months” is treated as a functional recitation, wherein the prior art is not required to explicitly disclose this rate of degradation, but to merely have a capability of being degraded within 36 months. As known in the art, the rate of degradation is based on many variables related to a particular patient, such as the size and shape of a void, patient health, etc. The term “life” is treated as the half-life, as explained above. Williams discloses that the implant is degradable [0007] and may be resorbed to a significant extent at a period of 12-15 weeks [0029]; [0483], which is considered to fall in the range of 0-36 months.
Regarding claim 36: the polymeric material comprises an imaging agent, such as a radiopaque material, a radiotracer, or a fluorescent dye [0171].
Regarding claim 37: wherein the polymeric material comprises a biologically active agent (abstract), such as an antimicrobial, an anti-inflammatory agent, a growth factor or an anti-cancer agent [0080].
Regarding claim 38: the implant is in the form of a foam or mesh having a pore size of from 50 to 250 micrometers [0578].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2020/0115490 (Dove et al.).
Dove discloses degradable polymeric materials for forming self-expanding [0003], implantable tissue scaffolds [0015] that are expandable at body temperature of 37oC ([0025]; [0069]; [0074]). Dove discloses the implant can have a variety of shapes and purposes that conform to local tissue upon self-expansion [0077].
The language “wherein the implant exhibits a peak expansion force of 0.1 to 2 N at 37°C” is considered to be a functional limitation that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose this function but merely have the capability of exhibiting a peak expansion force in the range of 0.1 – 2N at body temperature. In this case, Dove discloses that the shape memory implant exerts a force on surrounding tissue when it expands [0006]. Dove discloses the material can exhibit a modulus of 1 MPa to 1 Gpa, wherein the modulus is a result effective variable that depends on the composition and geometry of the polymer [0073]. The specification of this application provides evidence that a polymer having an elastic modulus of 5Mpa to 4Gpa and a compressive modulus of 0.5 to 50 MPa (page 11, lines 1020) is capable of exhibiting an expansion force of 0.1 to 2 N (see page 11, lines 42-45). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure an implant of Dove to have a peak expansion force of 0.1 – 2N, for the purpose of tailoring the properties of the implant for a particular patient’s needs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, the Applicant does not appear to place any criticality on this range, as it is merely stated as an example in a range of options.
Regarding claim 30: Dove discloses many uses of an implant, such as an interbody spacer [0077]. Although Dove fails to explicitly disclose the term “post-lumpectomy implant”, an implantable device is capable of being placed in at least some existing void after a lumpectomy.
Regarding claim 31: the implant is 3D printed ( [0013]; [0076]).
Regarding claim 32, the polymeric material formed from a resin composition comprising a prepolymer comprising repeating units having a carbonate linkage and a diluent comprising an O=C-N linkage, such as a urethane linkage (abstract; [0058]; [0080]).
Regarding claim 33, Dove teaches the prepolymer can be 5-[(allyloxy)methyl]-5-etheyl-1,3-dioxan-2-one) or 9-(5-norbornen-2-yl)-2,4,8,10-tetraoxa-3-spiro[5.5]undecanone) [0058].
Regarding claim 34, Dove teaches the ratio of monomers TMPAC and NTC can be varied to achieve desired properties of the final polymer (see graph Fig. 8A; [0151]; [0183]; [0218]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ratio of TMPAC and NTC of the Dove implant to be in a range of 95:5 to 5:95, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range, and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regard to claim 35: as explained above, the term “life” is interpreted as “half-life.” The phrase “the implant has in vivo half-life of no more than 36 months” is treated as a functional recitation, wherein the prior art is not required to explicitly disclose this rate of degradation, but to merely have a capability of degrading at this rate. Dove discloses that the implant is degrades at least to a significant extent within a period of less than 36 months (Fig. 16A-B; [0212-0214]). Dove discloses the rate of degradation is a result effective variable based on resin composition ([0218-0219]; [0240-0246]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure an implant of Dove to have a half-life of no more than 36 months in order to meet particular patient’s needs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, the Applicant does not appear to place any criticality on this range, as it is merely stated as an example in a range of options.
Regarding claim 36: the polymeric material comprises an imaging agent, such as a radiopaque material, a radiotracer, or a fluorescent dye (see description of fluorescent tag at [0095] and/or iodinated at [0191]).
Regarding claim 37: wherein the polymeric material comprises a biologically active agent [0077].
Regarding claim 38: the implant is in the form of a foam or mesh having a pore size of from 200-1500 micrometers [0078].
Conclusion
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774