DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 69, it is unclear how a “point” can have a thickness. As a point is defined as “a geometric element that has zero dimensions and a location determinable by an ordered set of coordinates” (Merriam-Webster at merriam-webster.com), it is not possible for a point by definition to have a thickness, and therefore this limitation will be interpreted broadly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 13-19, 21, and 69-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spahn (US 2014/0004481 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Spahn discloses an implant for use in joint or bone repair (abstract) comprising a stem (2 as seen in Figures 1-3) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an external surface (see Figures 1-4), in which a portion of the stem comprises two or more non-overlapping lamellas (“ribs” 6) around part or all of the circumference of the stem (as seen in Figures 1-4) where each lamella comprises an outer surface (see annotated figure 4 below), an inner surface (see annotated figure 4 below), and a thickness therebetween (as seen in Figure 4), where the inner surface of the lamella faces the external surface of the stem (as seen in Figures 1-4). Each lamella is connected to the external surface of the stem via a bending joint (see annotated figure 3 below) on the inner surface of the lamella at one edge of the lamella or adjacent thereto, where the rest of the inner surface of the lamella and the external surface of the stem is separated by a space (see annotated Figure 4 below). The bending joint permits the space between the rest of the inner surface of the lamella and the external surface of the stem to decrease upon application of a force to the outer surface of the lamella (as seen in Figure 9 and described in [0004-0005]). The lamellas are arranged in two or more columns of lamellas in a direction of the proximal end to the distal end (see Figure 1) of the stem, and two or more rows of lamellas around the circumference of the stem (see Figure 1). When implanted in a body, the space between the inner surface of the lamella and the external surface of the stem can decrease but cannot increase (as seen in Figure 9 and described in [0004-0005]).
Additionally, Spahn discloses that each of the lamellas comprises a proximal edge, a distal edge, a left edge, and a right edge (see annotated Figure 6 below, where the proximal edge is the proximal half of the inner surface of the lamella, the distal edge is the distal half of the inner surface of the lamella, the right and left edges are the lateral edges as indicated on the annotated Figure – Please note: as “left” and “right” have not been relatively defined, they would depend on orientation of the implant). Spahn further discloses that the bending joint is on the distal edge of the lamella (see annotated Figures 4 and 6 below) and that the bending joint is on adjacent both the right edge and the left edge of the lamella (as seen in the Figures below).
Regarding Claim 2, Spahn discloses that the stem is substantially the shape of a cylinder (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Spahn discloses that the cylinder is a circular cylinder (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Spahn discloses that the stem comprises a taper between the proximal end and the distal end (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Spahn discloses that the stem comprises substantially a shape of a rounded cone (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Spahn discloses that the rounded cone is a rounded circular cone (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Spahn discloses that the number of lamellas in each column and each row is the same (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Spahn discloses that the lamellas comprise substantially the shape of a quadrilateral (as best seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Spahn discloses that the bending joint provides on the edge of the lamella a single continuous connection point between the inner surface of the lamella and the external surface of the stem (see annotated Figures 4 and 6 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Spahn discloses that the bending joint provides on the edge of the lamella two or more connection points between the inner surface of the lamella and the external surface of the stem (see Figures 4 and 6 – please note: as no structure has been claimed for the “connection points” the connection points can be interpreted broadly as any point along the inner surface of the lamella and external surface of the stem up to and including two adjacent points that would form a single continuous connection point).
Regarding Claim 15, Spahn discloses that the lamellas can be porous and further be coated ([0014]).
Regarding Claim 16, Spahn discloses a method of treating a subject in need of joint replacement or bone repair, the method comprising implanting into the subject the implant of claim 1 (([0017]).
Regarding Claim 17, Spahn discloses a method of reducing risk and incidence of bone damage caused by implantation of an implant in a subject, the method comprising implanting into the subject the implant of claim 1 ([0004] describes the advantages of the implant to decrease metallurgic problems such as corrosion).
Regarding Claim 18, Spahn discloses a method of reducing incidence of aseptic implant loosening in a subject, the method comprising implanting into the subject the implant of claim 1 ([0004], where the ribs are disclosed to prevent disengagement of the implant).
Regarding Claim 19, Spahn discloses that the implant is a dental implant (abstract).
Regarding Claim 21, Spahn discloses a method of treating a subject in need of dental repair, the method comprising implanting into the subject the dental implant of claim 19 ([0017]).
Regarding Claim 69, Spahn discloses that the two or more connection points extend into a thickness of the lamella (as the parameters for the connections points are not defined, they can be considered to extend into a thickness of the lamella inasmuch as any point of the present application can have a thickness). Please note: by definition a point does not have dimension as described above.
Regarding Claim 70, Spahn discloses that the portion of the stem comprises two or more non-overlapping lamellas around all of the circumference of the stem (as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 71, Spahn discloses that each of the lamellas comprises substantially a shape of a trapezoid or parallelogram (as seen in Figure 1, the lamella have 4 sides that are substantially parallel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn in view of Chung et al. (US 2011/0251697 A1, hereinafter “Chung”).
Regarding Claim 8, Spahn discloses the invention of Claim 1 substantially as described above, but does not specifically disclose that the number of lamellas in each column and each row is not the same. In the same art of implants, Chung discloses an implant (Figure 2, 100) with rows of lamella that do not have the same number of lamellas in each column. As seen in Figure 2, the number of lamella (“teeth” 110 as seen in Figure 3) are not the same on the medial face (Figure 2, 105) as the lateral face (Figure 2, 106). As one of the objectives of the implant of Spahn is to provide for customization (Spahn, [0004]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide an unequal number of lamella when the dimensions of the implant are not symmetrical, as taught by Chung, based on differing anatomical conditions such as jawbone size and width in order to best accommodate the needs of the patient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous claim and drawing objections.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Spahn does not disclose the features of the newly amended claim 1, specifically that the bending joint “is on the right edge of the lamella or adjacent thereto or on the left edge of the lamella or adjacent thereto,” the examiner disagrees. As seen in the annotated Figures of Spahn above, both the right and left edge of the lamella of Spahn would be adjacent the bending joint. Therefore, the rejection of independent Claim 1 in view of Spahn is maintained.
Newly added claims 69 – 71 are disclosed by Spahn, as described above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772