Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 12/20/25 has been entered.
Claims 1, 6, 12-13, 16-20, and 22-32 are pending.
Claims 2-5, 7-11, 14-15, and 21 were previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12-13, 16-20, 22-30, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US 20210051589 A1) in view of Kim (US 20220022279 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses a method of configuring a UE operating in a cellular communications system for discontinuous reception [fig. 12], the method comprising the steps of
receiving, by a UE, a plurality of discontinuous reception configurations from a base station (The BS (or even another UE) provides to the UE, and the UE stores, a plurality of wake-up configurations, including default wake-up configurations [par. 0082, 98, 100, 0109, fig. 8-11, fig. 12 no. 1210]);
selecting, by the UE, at least one of the discontinuous reception configurations for performing discontinuous reception operation (Either the BS or UE can select the wake-up config based on some amount of time or some condition being met [par. 0100, 109, 120], as well as the UE selecting based on whether the WUS was received [Abstract]); and
operating the UE according to the at least one selected discontinuous reception configuration [par. 0100, 120, fig. 8-11].
Although Nam discloses the UE receiving DRX configurations from the BS, as discussed above, Nam does not explicitly disclose for sidelink communication; with another UE over sidelink; and for sidelink communication. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Kim.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses:
for sidelink communication [par. 0184];
with another UE over sidelink [par. 0184]; and
for sidelink communication [par. 0184].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nam with Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of efficient radio resource management [Kim par. 0002].
Regarding claim 22, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Nam further discloses a cellular communication system [fig. 1] comprising a base station [fig. 1 no. 105, fig. 5 no. 500] and at least UE [fig. 1 no. 115, fig. 4 no. 400].
Regarding claim 31, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Nam further discloses a UE [fig. 4 no. 400].
Regarding claims 6, 23, and 32, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the step of selecting is performed by the UE (The UE selects the wake-up config based on some amount of time or some condition being met [par. 0100, 109, 120]).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the discontinuous reception configuration is selected based on a cast type active for the UE (Common group (i.e., groupcast/multicast) [par. 0106, 102-103, 043, 061]).
Regarding claims 13 and 25, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the discontinuous reception configuration is selected based on a characteristic of the UE (BWP, carrier, location, priority, service, subscription, PS-RNTI or UE specific (i.e., “characteristic(s)” of UE) [par. 0061, 102]).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the characteristic is a communication requirement of the UE (BWP, carrier, priority, service, subscription, PS-RNTI (i.e., “communication requirement) [par. 0061, 102] or even traffic load [par. 0008, 118]).
Regarding claims 17 and 27, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the communication requirement is an urgency of data for transmission, or a quality of service parameter (Traffic load (i.e., urgency), where the UE detects (or not) the WUS and acts (i.e., selects) accordingly [par. 0008, 010, 118]).
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses wherein the plurality of discontinuous reception configurations each define at least one of following parameters:
an on duration, a DRX cycle time, a DRX short cycle time, a DRX long cycle time, and an offset (On duration, cycle time [fig. 2, 6-7, par. 0058]).
Regarding claims 19 and 29, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein the discontinuous reception configurations are communicated to the UE utilising RRC signalling, or are defined by a standard (RRC [par. 0082]).
Regarding claims 20 and 30, Nam and Kim disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Nam further discloses:
wherein one of the discontinuous reception configurations is defined as a default configuration [par. 0082, 98, 100, 0109, fig. 12 no. 1210].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465