DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 12/9/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6, 9, and 12-24 are pending. Claims 16-24 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 12, 13 and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-6, 9 and 12-15 are under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claims 1-6, 9 and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al. (WO 2018/140562) in view of Kitamoto et al. (Journal of Oleo Science; Jan 2022) is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said glycolipid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite “glycolipid”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramin et al. (US 2002/0012643) in view of De Oliveira et al. (Int. J. Adv. Biotechnol. Res., 2015; cited in IDS).
Ramin et al. teach compositions for removing make-up from keratinous materials, including nail polish removal compositions comprising a removal solvent (e.g. abstract; paragraphs 0002; Examples 1 and 2; Claim 46). Ramin et al. teach that the compositions can further comprise a surfactant (e.g. paragraph 0040-0057) and preservatives (e.g. paragraph 0071), but does not teach that the surfactant is a sophorolipid. This is made up for by the teachings of De Oliveira et al.
De Oliveira et al. teach that sophorolipids (SLP) are one of the most promising and attractive biosurfactants which combines green chemistry with lower carbon footprint, without the undesirable side products or environmental downsides associated with synthetic surfactants (e.g. page 161, column 2). De Oliveira teach that SLP have numerous properties that make them superior to synthetic surfactants including: stability in the wide range of pHs, temperatures, and salinity, low-foaming and excellent detergent properties, water hardness (high concentration of divalent cations) does not affect their interfacial properties, synergism between acidic and lactonic forms of SLP increase surfactants activities, are readily biodegradable and exhibit good surface activity (critical micelle concentration (CMC), surface tension and emulsification behavior). In addition, SLP can be produced in large quantities based on renewable resources, agro-industrial by-products and residues and easy and simplified product recovery (e.g. page 162, column 1). De Oliveira teach that SLP can act as an antibacterial agent, antialgal, antifungal, antimycoplasma, and antiviral agents (e.g. page 166, column 1). De Oliveira teach that SLPs are already in use for cosmetics (e.g. Table on page 163).
Regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the sophorolipids of De Oliveira et al. in the nail polish remover composition of Ramin et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as Ramin et al. teach the addition of surfactants and preservatives, and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated in order to provide the benefits disclosed by De Oliveira et al. including stability, biodegradability, antimicrobial and production of large quantities based on renewable resources.
Regarding Claims 2 and 6, Ramin et al. teach that the solvent is an acetate and the composition further comprises glycerol (e.g. paragraph 0034, Examples 1; Claim 46).
Regarding Claim 5, the source of the acetate is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, an acetate, whether produced through biological fermentation or not, is structurally identical. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 9, Ramin et al. teach that the surfactant is present at 0-10 wt% or 0.5-5 wt%, which overlap with the claimed range (e.g. paragraph 0057). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claims 12, 14 and 15, Ramin et al. teach the composition comprises:
0-10 wt% or 0.5-5 wt% of a surfactant (e.g. paragraph 0057);
0-99 wt% or 20-98 wt% of solvent, and further exemplify 77.5 wt% ethyl acetate or 83.5 wt% acetone (e.g. paragraph 0032 and 0034; Examples 1 and 2);
2 wt% of glycerol (e.g. Example 1 and 2); and
0.1-30 wt% of an aqueous phase, and further exemplify 4 wt% water (e.g. paragraph 0070; Example 1).
The ranges of ingredients disclosed by Ramin et al. are within or overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claims 3, 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramin et al. (US 2002/0012643) in view of De Oliveira et al. (Int. J. Adv. Biotechnol. Res., 2015; cited in IDS) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 14 and 15, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (Journal of Oleo Science; Jan 2022).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 12 and 14, the teachings of Ramin et al. and De Oliveira et al. are described supra. Ramin et al. teach that the composition can further comprise moisturizers (e.g. paragraph 0071). They do not teach the inclusion of mannosylerythritol lipids. This is made up for by the teachings of Kitamoto et al.
Kitamoto et al. teach that mannosylerythritol lipids (MELs) show excellent moisturizing effects on human skin and hair, with comparable performance to natural ceramides (e.g. abstract). Kitamoto et al. teach that biosurfactants are attractive practical alternatives to chemical surfactants because they are effective ingredients for cosmetic and personal care products, due to their favorable attributes of lower toxicity, antimicrobial activity, skin compatibility, and protective and surface moisturizing effects (e.g. page 6, Section 6.1). Kitamoto et al. teach that the costs of ceramides are still high, due to their limited availability in plants or their complicated synthetic and purification processes. Also, they are hardly soluble in water; which makes handling them very difficult. Considering the high productivity of MELs and their interfacial properties, MELs will be a practical and low-cost replacement for ceramides (e.g. page 7, column 1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the mannosylerythritol lipids (MELs) of Kitamoto et al. in the nail polish remover composition of Ramin et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as Ramin et al. teach the addition of moisturizing ingredients, and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated in order to provide the benefits of lower toxicity, antimicrobial activity, skin compatibility, and protective and surface moisturizing effects, at lower cost as taught by Kitamoto et al.
Regarding Claim 4, neither the claim, nor the specification define “a fermentation broth”. However, De Oliveira et al. teach that SLP are produced from several microorganisms, which grow are known to grow in aqueous media, and Ramin et al. exemplify water in the compositions (i.e. a fermentation broth) (e.g. Example 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 12-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619