DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7-11 and 25, 27-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1, 7, 25 recites the broad recitation “S K1 values carried by the DCI … wherein S equals to a number of the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI” , and the claims 2, 8, 27 also recites “the DCI carries one K1 value” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 25-27 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Chou [US 2023/0284218].
As claims 1, 7, 25-26 and 32, Chou [US 2023/0284218] discloses a method for determining a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest- Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback, performed by user equipment (UE) [Fig 1, Ref 102], the method comprising: receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling, in one shot, two or more Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) [Fig 9-10, UE receives a single DCI scheduling two PDSCH and two K1 timing offsets, Par. 0055, 0095-0097]; and determining S slot positions of S PUCCH resources based on slot positions of the two or more PDSCHs and S K1 values carried by the DCI, wherein the one or more S PUCCH resources are configured to send HARQ-ACK feedbacks of the two or more PDSCHs, and wherein S equals to a number of the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI [Par. 0095-0097 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH1 determines based a slot position of PDSCH1 and first K1 timing offset and slot position PUCCH2 determines based a slot position of PDSCH2 and first K2 timing offset, Fig 9-10]; wherein determining the S slot positions of the S PUCCH resources based on the slot positions of the two or more PDSCHs and the S K1 values carried by the DCI comprises: determining a slot position of a first PUCCH resource based on a slot position of a first PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and a first K1 value carried by the DCI [Par. 0095-0097 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH1 determines based a slot position of PDSCH1 and first K1 timing offset and Fig 9-10], and determining a slot position of a second PUCCH resource based on a slot position of a second PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and a second K1 value carried by the DCI [Par. 0095-0097 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH2 determines based a slot position of PDSCH2 and first K2 timing offset, Fig 9-10], wherein the first PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the first PDSCH [Fig 10, PUCCH1 is used to send feedback of PDSCH1], and the second PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the second PDSCH [Fig 10, PUCCH2 is used to send feedback of PDSCH2].
As claims 2, 8 and 27, Chou [US 2023/0284218] discloses the DCI carries one K1 value [Par. 0095-0097].
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 25-27 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997].
As claims 1, 7, 25-26 and 32, Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] discloses a method for determining a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest- Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback, performed by user equipment (UE) [Fig 1, Ref 115], the method comprising: receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling, in one shot, two or more Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) [Fig 3-5, UE receives a single DCI scheduling two PDSCH and two K1 timing offsets, Par. 0006, 0138]; and determining S slot positions of S PUCCH resources based on slot positions of the two or more PDSCHs and S K1 values carried by the DCI, wherein the one or more S PUCCH resources are configured to send HARQ-ACK feedbacks of the two or more PDSCHs, and wherein S equals to a number of the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI [Par. 0006, 0138 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH1 determines based a slot position of PDSCH1 and first K1 timing offset and slot position PUCCH2 determines based a slot position of PDSCH2 and first K2 timing offset, Fig 3-5]; wherein determining the S slot positions of the S PUCCH resources based on the slot positions of the two or more PDSCHs and the S K1 values carried by the DCI comprises: determining a slot position of a first PUCCH resource based on a slot position of a first PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and a first K1 value carried by the DCI [Par. 0006, 0138 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH1 determines based a slot position of PDSCH1 and first K1 timing offset and Fig 3-5], and determining a slot position of a second PUCCH resource based on a slot position of a second PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and a second K1 value carried by the DCI [Par. 0006, 0138 discloses the slot position of PUCCH is dependent on the slot position of PDSCH such as slot position PUCCH2 determines based a slot position of PDSCH2 and first K2 timing offset, Fig 3-5], wherein the first PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the first PDSCH [Fig 3, PUCCH1 is used to send feedback of PDSCH1], and the second PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the second PDSCH [Fig 3, PUCCH2 is used to send feedback of PDSCH2].
As claims 2, 8 and 27, Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] discloses the DCI carries one K1 value [Par. 0138].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-11 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou [US 2023/0284218]/Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] in view of Wang [US 2022/0095337].
As claims 2, 8 and 27, Chou [US 2023/0284218]/Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] fails to disclose the DCI carries one K1 value. In the same of field of endeavor, Wang [US 2022/0095337] discloses the DCI carries one K1 value [Par. 0129 discloses K1 value indicated by DCI].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for as disclosed by Wang [US 2022/0095337] into the teaching of Chou [US 2023/0284218] or Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of HARQ-ACK feedback.
As claims 3, 9 and 28, Wang [US 2022/0095337] discloses determining a slot position of one PUCCH resource based on the slot position of a last PDSCH among the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI and the K1 value, wherein the one PUCCH resource is configured to send a HARQ-ACK feedback codebook of the two or more PDSCHs [Fig. 9-10 discloses determining the slot position of PUCCH configured to send HARQ-ACK codebook of PDSCHs based on the slot position of last PDSCH of PDSCHs scheduled by DCI includes K1 value such timing, Par. 0129, 0185].
As claims 4, 10 and 29, Wang [US 2023/0216614] discloses number of bits of the HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is the same as a number of the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI [Par. 8b discloses each feedback bit in the codebook is associated each PDSCH].
As claims 5, 11 and 30, Wang [US 2022/0095337] discloses determining a slot position of an mth PUCCH resource based on a slot position of an mth PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the K1 value, wherein the mth PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the mth PDSCH, and m is a serial number of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI [Fig 5 discloses each PDSCH associated with PUCCH according serial number of PDSCH based on K value = HARQ feedback timing].
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-11 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou [US 2023/0284218]/Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] in view of Gao [US 2023/0336278].
As claims 2, 8 and 27, Chou [US 2023/0284218]/Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997] fails to disclose the DCI carries one K1 value. In the same of field of endeavor, Gao [US 2023/0336278] discloses the DCI carries one K1 value [Par. 0129 discloses K1 value indicated by DCI].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for as disclosed by Gao [US 2023/0336278] into the teaching of Chou [US 2023/0284218] or Khoshnevisan [US 2021/0258997]. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of HARQ-ACK feedback.
As claims 3, 9 and 28, Gao [US 2023/0336278] discloses determining a slot position of one PUCCH resource based on the slot position of a last PDSCH among the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI and the K1 value [Fig 3, K1 in DCI for PUCCH], wherein the one PUCCH resource is configured to send a HARQ-ACK feedback codebook of the two or more PDSCHs [Fig. 3 discloses determining the slot position of PUCCH configured to send HARQ-ACK codebook of PDSCHs based on the slot position of last PDSCH of PDSCHs scheduled by DCI includes K1 value].
As claims 4, 10 and 29, Gao [US 2023/0336278] discloses number of bits of the HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is the same as a number of the two or more PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI [Par. 3 discloses each feedback bit in the codebook is associated each PDSCH].
As claims 5, 11 and 30, Gao [US 2023/0336278] discloses determining a slot position of an mth PUCCH resource based on a slot position of an mth PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the K1 value, wherein the mth PUCCH resource is configured to send the HARQ-ACK feedback of the mth PDSCH, and m is a serial number of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI [Fig 2 discloses each PDSCH associated with PUCCH according serial number of PDSCH based on K value = HARQ feedback timing].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rastegardoost [US 20220007399] discloses a system comprising dci which includes K1 values and PDSCHs for determining PUCCH
Wong [US 2022/0368465] discloses a system comprising dci which includes K1 value s and PDSCHs for determining PUCCH.
Khoshnevisan [US 20210266943] discloses the methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. A user equipment (UE) to provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multiple physical channels (e.g., multiple physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH)) scheduled via cross component carrier. The UE may monitor control channel occasions, to receive wireless communications from a base station. For example, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) messages that may schedule multiple PDSCH over different component carriers. The DCI messages may include an indication of a timing offset for HARQ feedback for the multiple PDSCH. In some examples, the UE may be configured to receive multiple DCI messages and order the DCI messages based on component carrier indices or a PDCCH occasion, or both. The UE may then determine a slot to transmit HARQ feedback for the multiple PDSCH based on an indication in a latest DCI message identified according to the ordering.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414