DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGreevy et al (US PUB. 20100082118, herein McGreevy).
Regarding claim 1, McGreevy teaches An integrated human-machine execution system for manufacturing automation, comprising:
a computer, a graphical user interface, one or more programmable input/outputs, one or more human-machine interface components, and a network adapter (0035 “visualization process problem solution system 100 can form at least part of a human machine interface (HMI)”, 0036 “interface component 102 is communicatively connected to Input/Output devices. The interface component 102 provides for object or information selection, input can correspond to entry or modification of data. Such input can affect the configuration, graphic display, reports and/or automation devices. For instance, an operator can select the problem solution object to instruct the visualization process problem solution system 100 to collect and archive process problem solution data”, 0032 “interfaces described herein can include a Graphical User Interface (GUI) to interact with the various components for providing industrial control information to users”, 0084 “LAN networking environment, the computer 1210 is connected to the LAN 1271 through a network interface or adapter”);
wherein the computer is enabled to execute all necessary software to operate the functions of the integrated system and orchestrate the execution of one or more automated manufacturing operations (0030, 0004 “process controller is typically programmed by a control engineer for continuous process control such as an oil refinery or a bulk chemical manufacturing plant”);
and wherein data updates are transmitted by the system when data value changes initiate an event, independently of time elapsed since occurrence of a prior event (0038 “interface component 102 may also receive automated input data from the industrial controller which in turn has received input data from the various devices communicatively connected to the industrial controller. Examples of this input data are temperatures, pressures, flow rates, mass, volume, elapsed time counts and other such information available from an industrial process. The interface component 102 may also transmit modified data to the industrial controller(s) to reflect any changes made by the solution logging component 108 or the logging activation component 110. For example, if the operator changed the value of a set point for a PID control loop in a preconfigured process problem solution, the change could be transmitted to the industrial controller implementing this PID control loop”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1.
McGreevy teaches wherein the graphical user interface is enabled through a display connected to the computer (0032).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1.
McGreevy teaches wherein the graphical user interface is enabled through a touch screen connected to the computer through (a) a high-definition multimedia interface configured to send a video signal (0037 “the display device may be by a touch screen device such that identification can be made based on touching a graphical object”, 0082 “A graphics subsystem can also be connected to the system bus 1221. In addition, a monitor or other type of display device can be connected to the system bus 1221 via an interface, such as output interface 1250, which can in turn communicate with video memory. In addition to a monitor, computers can also include other peripheral output devices, such as speakers and/or a printer, which can also be connected through output interface 1250.”) and (b) a universal serial bus interface configured to receive data related to a touch signal transmitted through the touch screen (0082).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1.
McGreevy teaches wherein a network interface is exposed through the network adapter to connect the computer to an enterprise network (0084 “When used in a LAN networking environment, the computer 1210 is connected to the LAN 1271 through a network interface or adapter. When used in a WAN networking environment, the computer 1210 can include a communications component, such as a modem, or other means for establishing communications over the WAN, such as the Internet.”, 0083 “The logical connections depicted in FIG. 12 include a network 1271, such local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), but can also include other networks/buses. Such networking environments are commonplace in homes, offices, enterprise-wide computer networks, intranets and the Internet.”).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1.
McGreevy teaches including an automation network or fieldbus configured to interface with one or more automation control devices (0033).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1.
McGreevy teaches wherein the system is configured to be connected to at least one external and discrete programmable logic controller attached to at least one automation component (0033, 0002)
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 7.
McGreevy teaches wherein instructions to the automation component are instantiated at the human-machine execution system, obviating programming at the programmable logic controllers (0035 “visualization process problem solution system 100 can form at least part of a human machine interface (HMI), but is not limited thereto. For example, the visualization process problem solution system 100 can be employed to facilitate creating a visualization system related to automation control systems, devices, and/or associated equipment (collectively referred to herein as an automation device(s)) forming part of a production environment”).
Regarding claim 9, McGreevy teaches A method of executing an automated manufacturing operation
Providing an integrated human-machine execution system for manufacturing automation, comprising: a computer, a graphical user interface, one or more programmable input/outputs, one or more human-machine interface components, and a network adapter; wherein the computer is enabled to execute all necessary software to operate the functions of the integrated system and orchestrate the execution of the automated manufacturing operation (0035 “visualization process problem solution system 100 can form at least part of a human machine interface (HMI)”, 0036 “interface component 102 is communicatively connected to Input/Output devices. The interface component 102 provides for object or information selection, input can correspond to entry or modification of data. Such input can affect the configuration, graphic display, reports and/or automation devices. For instance, an operator can select the problem solution object to instruct the visualization process problem solution system 100 to collect and archive process problem solution data”, 0032 “interfaces described herein can include a Graphical User Interface (GUI) to interact with the various components for providing industrial control information to users”, 0084 “LAN networking environment, the computer 1210 is connected to the LAN 1271 through a network interface or adapter”, 0005);
Connecting the human-machine execution system to an external and discrete programmable logic controller, wherein the programmable logic controller is attached to at least one automation component (0030, 0004 “process controller is typically programmed by a control engineer for continuous process control such as an oil refinery or a bulk chemical manufacturing plant”, 0005);
Instantiating one or more instructions for the automation component at the human-machine execution system (0038 “interface component 102 may also receive automated input data from the industrial controller which in turn has received input data from the various devices communicatively connected to the industrial controller. Examples of this input data are temperatures, pressures, flow rates, mass, volume, elapsed time counts and other such information available from an industrial process. The interface component 102 may also transmit modified data to the industrial controller(s) to reflect any changes made by the solution logging component 108 or the logging activation component 110. For example, if the operator changed the value of a set point for a PID control loop in a preconfigured process problem solution, the change could be transmitted to the industrial controller implementing this PID control loop”)
Transmitting the instructions from the human-machine execution system to the automation component through the programmable logic controller without instructing or programming the programmable logic controller (0033 “it is also noted that the term industrial controller as used herein includes both PLCs and process controllers from distributed control systems and can include functionality that can be shared across multiple components, systems, and or networks. One or more industrial controllers can communicate and cooperate with various network devices across a network. This can include substantially any type of control, communications module, computer, I/O device, Human Machine Interface (HMI)) that communicate via the network which includes control, automation, and/or public networks”, 0035 “visualization process problem solution system 100 can form at least part of a human machine interface (HMI), but is not limited thereto. For example, the visualization process problem solution system 100 can be employed to facilitate creating a visualization system related to automation control systems, devices, and/or associated equipment (collectively referred to herein as an automation device(s)) forming part of a production environment”).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 9.
McGreevy teaches wherein instructions are transmitted by the human-machine execution system when data value changes initiate an event, independently of time elapsed since occurrence of a prior event (0038 “interface component 102 may also receive automated input data from the industrial controller which in turn has received input data from the various devices communicatively connected to the industrial controller. Examples of this input data are temperatures, pressures, flow rates, mass, volume, elapsed time counts and other such information available from an industrial process. The interface component 102 may also transmit modified data to the industrial controller(s) to reflect any changes made by the solution logging component 108 or the logging activation component 110. For example, if the operator changed the value of a set point for a PID control loop in a preconfigured process problem solution, the change could be transmitted to the industrial controller implementing this PID control loop”).
Claims 12-16 is rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 1 and 3-8 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGreevy et al (US PUB. 20100082118, herein McGreevy) in view of Young et al (US PUB. 20210141352, herein Young).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The human-machine execution system of claim 1, wherein the computer comprises:
A processor (0005);
[A microcontroller]
Local storage (0042)
One or more external interfaces and a component interconnect bus attached to the one or more programmable input/outputs (0082 “input devices can be connected to the processing unit 1220 through user input 1240 and associated interface(s) that are coupled to the system bus 1221, but can be connected by other interface and bus structures, such as a parallel port, game port or a universal serial bus (USB)”)
Firmware and a peripheral interface enabling communication between the processor and the microcontroller (0083 “computer 1210 can operate in a networked or distributed environment using logical connections to one or more other remote computers, such as remote server 1270, which can in turn have media capabilities different from device 1210. The remote server 1270 can be a personal computer, a server, a router, a network PC, a peer device or other common network node, and/or any other remote media consumption or transmission device, and can include any or all of the elements described above relative to the computer 1210. The logical connections depicted in FIG. 12 include a network 1271, such local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), but can also include other networks/buses. Such networking environments are commonplace in homes, offices, enterprise-wide computer networks, intranets and the Internet”) and
An integrated circuit interface (0033).
The cited prior art do not teach A microcontroller.
Young teaches A microcontroller (0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of McGreevy with the teachings of Young since Young teaches a means for using microcontrollers for better diagnostic capabilities (0028).
Claim 11 is rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 2 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a method.
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116