DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the filing of the RCE on 09/03/2025.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo as modified as modified(US 20170028555) in view of Jonsson (US 20150100156) and Furukawa (US 5418441).
Claim 1, Kokubo discloses a command value correction device configured to correct a command value for instructing an orientation of an articulated robot that positions a tip end of an arm having a plurality of joints, the command value correction device comprising [see at least Figs 1 – 4 and p0022 – p0025 - a robot control apparatus for controlling at least one actuator for moving a plurality of links which constitute a robot fixedly installed on a support body is provided. The robot control apparatus includes a deflection estimating unit for estimating, when a tip end of the robot is assumed to reach a target position and posture; The robot 5 has joints J1 to J6 (see FIG. 2). Each of the joints J1 to J6 is driven by the corresponding one of motors];
a support model setting unit configured to set a support model that represents a support to which the articulated robot is secured, by an elastically deformable model [see at least p0033 – 55 - the robot control apparatus 10 has a storage unit 20, a moment calculating unit 21, a deflection estimating unit 22, a movement amount calculating unit 23, and a drive unit 24. , movement commands for the motors 7 are corrected to compensate for the elastic deformation of the support body 3. This would accurately position the robot 5 if the support body 3 is elastically deformed due to the movement of the robot 5];
a force calculation unit configured to calculate a force that acts on the support according to weight of the articulated robot in a case where the orientation of the articulated robot conforms to the command value before correction [see at least p0035 – 36 - The moment calculating unit 21 (force calculation unit) calculates a moment acting on the support body 3 under the influence of gravity acting on the robot 5 when the robot 5 reaches a target position or posture]; and
a correction unit configured to correct the command value in such a manner as to cancel out an amount of support model elastic deformation that is elastic deformation for the support model due to the force calculated by the force calculation unit [see at least p0037 – 55 – a movement amount calculation unit 23 (correction unit) that calculates the amount of movement of a motor 7 so as to offset the deflection (support model elastic deformation amount) generated in the support 3 by the force calculated by the moment calculation unit 21].
Kokubo as modified as modifieddoes not specifically disclose a robot model setting unit configured to set a robot model that represents the articulated robot by an elastically deformable model.
However, Jonsson discloses setting a robot model in which an articulated robot is represented by an elastically deformable model M1 in addition to representing a "foundation 26" (support) by a model M2 [see at least Figs 1 - 4, p0055 – 56].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Kokubo, to include a robot model setting unit configured to set a robot model that represents the articulated robot by an elastically deformable model, as suggested and taught by Jonsson, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a simplified model to position the tip end portion of a robot arm.
Neither Kokubo or Jonsson disclose a deformation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an actual position of the tip end; and a robot model correction unit configured to correct a parameter in the robot model and a parameter in the support model based on the actual position of the tip end.
However, Furukawa discloses a deflection correction method for a robot, which is capable of easily determining displacement, caused by deflection, etc., of a robot endpoint from deflection angles of individual axes, as well as capable of simply and accurately correcting the displacement.
Furukawa discloses a deformation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an actual position of the tip end. An arithmetic program concerned with a relationship equation between the joint torque .tau. and the deflection angle .DELTA..theta.d is previously stored in the robot control unit. Thus, once the joint torque .tau. acting on a given axis is obtained, the deflection angle .DELTA..theta.d of the axis can be determined by using the relationship equation which corresponds to any one of the displacement model diagrams shown in Figs 2 – 4 [see Col.4 ll. 19 – 27 and Figs 2 – 4].
Also, teaching
a robot model correction unit configured to correct a parameter in the robot model and a parameter in the support model based on the actual position of the tip end, which includes when the robot endpoint position is set to predetermined position in order to set the work coordinate system, the robot control unit 2 recognizes only the configuration (angle) .theta.d of each axis in which deflection or the like is not included in spite of the fact that actually the endpoint position is positioned with the deflection or the like included. Next, the detected configuration .theta.d of the axis and the deflection angle .DELTA. Theta.d are added as shown in expression (2) to determine the configuration .theta.d2 of the axis corresponding to the actual endpoint position. Then, the endpoint is positioned to a respective one of positions determined beforehand for the setting of the work coordinate system. With this method, the robot control unit 2 is enabled to recognize a respective one of actual endpoint positions, i.e., the actual work coordinate system.
[see Expression (2) .theta.d2=theta.d+.DELTA..theta.d and Col 4, ll. 55 – 65].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Kokubo as modified by Jonsson to include a deformation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an actual position of the tip end; and a robot model correction unit configured to correct a parameter in the robot model and a parameter in the support model based on the actual position of the tip end, as suggested and taught by Furukawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a deflection correcting method for a robot, in which the deviation between commanded and actual endpoint positions caused by deflection of the robot is determined, and command values for individual axes are corrected on the basis of thus determined deviation, whereby the robot endpoint position is controlled to a desired position.
Claim 6, Kokubo as modified discloses a command value correction device according to claim 1, wherein the support model is defined as a reference table that, for each category of force that acts on the support, specifies a representative value for the amount of support model elastic deformation [see p0046 – p0048 - a plane of the support body 3, on which the robot 5 is installed, is assumed to be a rotational spring, a rotation amount D generated by the action of the moment M is expressed by Equation (2) – teaching the representative value of the elastic deformation amount of the support for each force acting on the support could be determined, as appropriate].
Claim 7, Kokubo as modified discloses command value correction device according to claim 1, wherein the support model has at least one joint point that moves or rotates in a direction parallel to a force that acts on the support [see at least p0047 – p0048 – indicates that the support model has a center of rotation (node) that moves or rotates in a direction parallel to the force acting on the support].
Claim 8, Kokubo as modified discloses command value correction device according to claim 1, further comprising: an initial value input unit configured to input, to the support model setting unit, an initial value for a parameter in the support model [see p0028, p0034 - the initial values of the support model parameters are naturally input from some input unit. Reading initial values of parameters created by an external computer could be determined, as appropriate].
Claim 9, Kokubo as modified discloses command value correction device according to claim 8, wherein the initial value input unit reads the initial value for the parameter which was created by an external computer [see p0028, p0034 - the initial values of the support model parameters are naturally input from some input unit. Reading initial values of parameters created by an external computer could be determined, as appropriate].
Claim 10, Kokubo as modified discloses a robot system, comprising: the command value correction device according to claim 1, a robot control device configured to input a command value according to a program to the command value correction device [see at least p0023, 24 and p0055 - a command value correction device that corrects a command value that indicates the posture of a robot 5 that positions the tip end portion of an arm having a plurality of joints Jl-J6]; and
an articulated robot configured to operate in accordance with a command value corrected by the command value correction device [see p0024, 55 - a robot system provided with the command value correction device; movement commands for the motors 7 are corrected to compensate for the elastic deformation of the support body 3].
Claim(s) 2 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo as modified as modified(US 20170028555) in view of Jonsson (US 20150100156) and Yuelai (US 20200306976).
Claim 2, Kukubo as modified discloses the command value correction device according to claim 1, but is silent to further comprising: a deformation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an amount of actual elastic deformation that is an actual amount of elastic deformation by the support; and a model correction unit configured to correct a parameter in the support model in such a manner as to make the amount of support model elastic deformation, calculated based on the command value inputted to the articulated robot when the deformation amount obtainment unit obtained the amount of actual elastic deformation, approach the amount of actual elastic deformation obtained by the deformation amount obtainment unit.
However, Yuelai discloses a three-dimensional measuring device 8 (deformation amount acquisition unit) that measures the measured position of a robot 1; a parameter calculation unit 55 that calculates the calculated position of the robot 1 on the basis of a mechanical error parameter 49 related to the elastic deformation of a link [see at least p0036, p0051 ]; and a correction unit 56 (model correction unit) that corrects the mechanism error parameter 49 so that the error of the calculated position with respect to the measured position becomes small -see para p0036, p0051].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Kokubo, to include comprising: a deformation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an amount of actual elastic deformation that is an actual amount of elastic deformation by the support; and a model correction unit configured to correct a parameter in the support model in such a manner as to make the amount of support model elastic deformation, calculated based on the command value inputted to the articulated robot when the deformation amount obtainment unit obtained the amount of actual elastic deformation, approach the amount of actual elastic deformation obtained by the deformation amount obtainment unit, as suggested and taught by Yuelai, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing by correctly setting the mechanism error parameters for the robot, the actual position and orientation of the robot can be brought close to the position and the orientation that are specified in the motion program.
Claim 3, Kukubo as modified discloses the command value correction device according to claim 2, but is silent to wherein the deformation amount obtainment unit is provided to obtain a relative position of a reference point for the support with respect to an immovable point in a world coordinate system.
However, Yuelai discloses fixing a reflector 68 to the surface of a base portion 14 [see para 0045]. The position of the reflector 68 is equivalent to the "immovable point in a world coordinate system of a reference point of a support.”
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Kokubo, to include wherein the deformation amount obtainment unit is provided to obtain a relative position of a reference point for the support with respect to an immovable point in a world coordinate system, as suggested and taught by Yuelai, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing by correctly setting the mechanism error parameters for the robot, the actual position and orientation of the robot can be brought close to the position and the orientation that are specified in the motion program.
Claim 4, Kukubo as modified discloses the command value correction device according to claim 2, but is silent to wherein the deformation amount obtainment unit is provided to obtain a relative position of the tip end with respect to an immovable point in a world coordinate system.
However, Yuelai discloses attaching a reflector 68 to a flange on the tip end of a robot [see at least Fig 4 and p0049]. The position of the reflector 68 is equivalent to the "immovable point in a world coordinate system of a tip end portion.”
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Kokubo, to include wherein the deformation amount obtainment unit is provided to obtain a relative position of a reference point for the support with respect to an immovable point in a world coordinate system, as suggested and taught by Yuelai, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing by correctly setting the mechanism error parameters for the robot, the actual position and orientation of the robot can be brought close to the position and the orientation that are specified in the motion program.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Renee LaRose/Examiner, Art Unit 3657