DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11, 13-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13, 15, 16, 17 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishi et al. (US 8,899,307B2). Regarding claim 11, Nishi discloses (figures 1 and 4) a cooler with two substantially parallel flow chambers (S1,S2), the cooler comprising three substantially plates (11C, 20, 11D), two of the plates (11C, 11D) forming a substantially planar structure at outer sides of the coolers, and an intermediate one (20) of the plates, which is interposed between the two of the plates, being shaped such that a flow of a fluid is divided into a plurality of flows after entering the cooler (see figure 4, the fluid after entering the inlet 21a, is divided into a plurality of flows separated by ribs 26), which always flows on both sides of the cooler simultaneously (the fluid flows across the width of the cooler includes two lateral sides of the cooler, figure 4), wherein a plurality of ribs (26) formed in the intermediate one of the plates support the two of the plates forming a substantially planar structure at outer sides of the cooler to form flow paths therebetween, and wherein the intermediate plate (20) comprise elongated holes (30a,30b,30c); wherein the cooler is configured such that a fluid introduced into the cooler first flows (21) along a flow path formed between the intermediate plate (20) and a first one of the two plates (11C), and subsequently flows through the elongated holes (30,a,b,c) to be introduced into a flow path (22) formed between the intermediate plate (20) and a second one of the two plates (11D).
Regarding claim 13, Nishi et al. discloses (figure 1) that at least one of the two of the plates (11C, D) comprises at least one inlet and/or outlet (21A, 22A).
Regarding claim 15, Nishi et al. discloses the fluid is guided through the cooler in a meandering or U-shaped. (figure 1 and figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Nishi et al. discloses (figure 1) that the cooler has a mechanical internal pressure resistance corresponding to a maximum operating pressure of conventional refrigerants (the partition 20 has a certain thickness that is to provide adequate rigidity for the operation of the cooler).
Regarding claim 17, Nishi et al. discloses (figure 1) that the intermediate plate (20) is offset inwardly on at least one side.
Regarding claim 18, Nishi et al discloses (figure 1) that the cooler (10) is provided as a coolant cooler to cool an electronic device or as a direct refrigerant evaporator for refrigerants.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 16, 17 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dede (US 8,199,505)
. Regarding claim 11, Dede discloses (figures 1 and 2) a cooler with two substantially parallel flow chambers ( 151,153), the cooler comprising three substantially plates (112, 114, 116), two of the plates (112, 116) forming a substantially planar structure at outer sides of the coolers, and an intermediate one (114) of the plates, which is interposed between the two of the plates, being shaped such that a flow of a fluid is divided into a plurality of flows after entering the cooler (see figure 1 and 2, fluid after enter the inlet 118, split into different flows), which always flows on both sides of the cooler simultaneously (see figure 2), wherein a plurality of ribs (132, 115) formed in the intermediate one of the plates support the two of the plates forming a substantially planar structure at outer sides of the cooler to form flow paths therebetween, and wherein the intermediate plate (114) comprise elongated holes (122); wherein the cooler is configured such that a fluid introduced into the cooler first flows (151) along a flow path formed between the intermediate plate (114) and a first one of the two plates (112), and subsequently flows through the elongated holes (122) to be introduced into a flow path (153) formed between the intermediate plate (114) and a second one of the two plates (116).
Regarding claim 13, Dede et al. discloses (figure 1) that at least one of the two of the plates (116) comprises at least one inlet and/or outlet (126).
Regarding claim 15, Dede et al. discloses the fluid is guided through the cooler in a meandering or U-shaped. (figures 1 and 2 ).
Regarding claim 16, Dede et al. discloses (figure 1) that the cooler has a mechanical internal pressure resistance corresponding to a maximum operating pressure of conventional refrigerants (the partition 114 has a certain thickness that is to provide adequate rigidity for the operation of the cooler).
Regarding claim 17, Dede et al. discloses (figure 1) that the intermediate plate (114) is either completely flush with the two of the plates or is offset inwardly on at least one side.
Regarding claim 18, Dede et al discloses (figures 1 and 2) that the cooler (100) is provided as a coolant cooler to cool an electronic device or as a direct refrigerant evaporator for refrigerants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. in view of Inagaki (US 7,571,759B2). Nishi substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that at least one of the plate has a thickness of up to 0.5 mm (claim 14) and a ratio between a channel width and a thickness of one of the plate is greater than nine. Inagaki discloses ( figure 11 and column 15, lines 43-44) a cooler that has at least one of the plate (231,231) having a thickness of up to 0.5mm (tp is 0.1 mm) and a width channel (wf) is 1.5 mm, which therefore, has a ratio between a channel weidth and a thickness of one of the plate is greater than 9 for a purpose of obtaining a cooler with a weight and cooling performance as desired
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Inagaki’s teaching in Nishi’s device for a purpose of obtaining a cooler with a weight and cooling performance as desired.
Conclusion
/THO V DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763