DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims13, 20, 24, 28, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicants’ Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 14 in substance that "Referring first to the "transmitting" feature of independent claim 1, in rejecting this feature, the Examiner cited paragraphs [0124], [0130]-[0133], [0144], [0145], and [0159] of Vejlgaard. As cited by the Examiner, these paragraphs generally disclose that "One UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information (i.e., a resource on which the UE transmits a reference signal such as SRS and/or DMRS) and the other nearby UEs listen" (Vejlgaard, paragraph [0145]). However, while Vejlgaard discloses a UE broadcasting CLI avoidance information over a resource pool, Vejlgaard completely fails to disclose that the SRS and/or DMRS are transmitted on a transmit beam, that the transmission occurs during a beam training occasion, that the beam training occasion is shared among a plurality of UEs, or that the beam training occasion is specifically for transmitting beam training reference signals (BT-RS) for sidelink communications among the plurality of UEs. There is no mention whatsoever in Vejlgaard of transmit beams, beam training, or the like. Vejlgaard's resource pool is strictly dedicated to exchanging and monitoring CLI avoidance messages between UEs to mitigate interference, not as a shared beam training occasion for transmitting beam training reference signals for sidelink communications among the UEs."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Vejlgaard teaches [0124] The SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit. UE scans for proximity UEs by exchange SRS/DMRS information for CLI measurement purposes and measures CLI from dedicated UE with known SRS/DMRS information reports from active and nearby UEs to its serving gNB. The self- interference management reference signal when not defined is construed as any kind of signal, as in Vejlgaard this signal is a type of indication of the resource (time, frequency) transmits on SRS and or DMRS which examiner is construing that the indication of the resource (time, frequency) is the self- interference management reference signal on the first transmit beam that is transmitted for sidelink communications to perform the sidelink communication to inform (get informed) on resources to transmit SRS and/or DMRS. However, claim 1 merely recites transmitting, by a transmitter... of the UE on a transmit beam, a self-interference management reference signal (SIM-RS) during a first beam training occasion...
Applicants’ Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 14 in substance that "However, Vejlgaard explicitly describes CLI as interference occurring between two different UEs, rather than self-interference measured at a single UE. As stated in Vejlgaard, and as cited by the Examiner, "Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UEl and measures CLI" (Vejlgaard, paragraph [0127]). This clearly describes a scenario where a second, separate UE (UE2) measures interference originating from a first UE (UE1). In contrast, independent claim 1 requires a single transmitter UE to measure self-interference at its own receiver TRxP, where the self-interference is caused by the same transmitter UE's own transmission from its transmitter TRxP. Because Vejlgaard relies on a second, separate UE to measure interference, it fails to disclose a single UE measuring its own self-interference. Accordingly, Vejlgaard does not disclose or suggest the feature of "measuring, by a receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam, self-interference at the receiver TRxP caused by transmission of the SIM-RS by the transmitter TRxP," as recited in independent claim 1, much less "in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim."”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Vejlgaard teaches in [0124-0128] the SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit. [0127] Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures CLI using RSRP (knowing SRS/DMRS information) [0128] UE2 reports the CLI to gNB2. When UE2 detects UE1 based on the information comprising the indication of the resource (time, frequency) SRS/DMRS information, UE2 reports the interference caused by the transmission of the information comprised of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 which examiner is construing that cross link interference (CLI) occurred at the receiver UE2 is the self-interference at the receiver which was reported to gNB2. Vejlgaard further teaches in [0141] The defined resource pool configurations may be orthogonal to each other (as depicted in FIG. 3, left side). The gNBs negotiate which group of resources is to be used for the sidelink communication. However, claim 1 merely recites ... measuring, by a receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam...
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vejlgaard et al. (Vejlgaard hereafter) (US 20220030522 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Vejlgaard teaches, A method for wireless communication performed by a transmitter user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, by a transmitter transmit-receive point (TRxP) of the transmitter UE ([0124] UE1 will broadcast SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs) on a transmit beam (SRS/DMRS information), a self-interference management reference signal (SIM-RS) (for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement) during a first beam training occasion ([0130] [0131] UE in RRC connected mode scans for proximity UEs in RRC connected mode [0132] The UEs exchange SRS/DMRS information for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement purposes (at least one of the UEs informs at least one of the other UEs) [0133] The UE informed about SRS/DMRS measures CLI from dedicated UE with known SRS/DMRS information), wherein the first beam training occasion is shared among a plurality of UEs (UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information and the other nearby UEs listen) for transmitting beam training reference signals (BT-RS) for sidelink communications (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS)) among the plurality of UEs ([0140-0145] a) Broadcast Information (FIG. 4(a)): One UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information (i.e., a resource on which the UE transmits a reference signal such as SRS and/or DMRS) and the other nearby UEs listen... [0159] FIG. 6 shows the UE workflow comprising monitor role (left side) and broadcaster role (right side) for the broadcast protocol. In this protocol, the UE (monitor role) monitors the resource pool. In addition, it checks if it should report (broadcast) CLI avoidance information (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS). If the time to broadcast (report) this information, the workflow changes to that of the broadcaster role); and
measuring, by a receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam (Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures CLI), self-interference at the receiver TRxP caused by transmission (measures Cross Link Interference (CLI)) of the SIM-RS by the transmitter TRxP (SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs) (Vejlgaard; [0124] The SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit the SRS and/or DMRS. [0127] Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures Cross Link Interference (CLI) using RSRP (knowing SRS/DMRS information) [0128] UE2 reports the CLI to gNB2 (potentially only in case the CLI is above a given threshold)).
Regarding claim 16 Vejlgaard teaches, A transmitter user equipment (UE), comprising (Vejlgaard; [0193] a terminal (such as a UE), or a component thereof, an apparatus embodying the same, a method for controlling and/or operating the same, and computer program(s) controlling and/or operating the same as well as mediums carrying such computer program(s) and forming computer program product(s).):
one or more memories a memory (Vejlgaard; [0186] FIG. 17 at least one memory 820 );
a transmitter transmit-receive point (TRxP) (Vejlgaard; [0145] (FIG. 4(a)): One UE broadcasts);
a receiver TRxP (Vejlgaard; [0174] FIG. 11 shows an apparatus according to an example embodiment of the invention. The apparatus may be a reception device (e.g. terminal such as a UE)); and
at least one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories memory, the transmitter TRxP, and the receiver TRxP, the at least one or more processors, either alone or in combination (Vejlgaard; [0186] FIG. 17 shows an apparatus according to an example embodiment of the invention. The apparatus comprises at least one processor 810, at least one memory 820 including computer program code,), configured to:
transmit, via the transmitter transmit-receive point (TRxP) of the transmitter UE ([0124] UE1 will broadcast SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs.) on a transmit beam(SRS/DMRS information), a self-interference management reference signal (SIM-RS) (for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement) during a first beam training occasion ([0130] [0131] UE in RRC connected mode scans for proximity UEs in RRC connected mode [0132] The UEs exchange SRS/DMRS information for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement purposes (at least one of the UEs informs at least one of the other UEs) [0133] The UE informed about SRS/DMRS measures CLI from dedicated UE with known SRS/DMRS information), wherein the first beam training occasion is shared among a plurality of UEs (UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information and the other nearby UEs listen) for transmitting beam training reference signals (BT-RS) for sidelink communications (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS)) among the plurality of UEs ([0140-0145] a) Broadcast Information (FIG. 4(a)): One UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information (i.e., a resource on which the UE transmits a reference signal such as SRS and/or DMRS) and the other nearby UEs listen... [0159] FIG. 6 shows the UE workflow comprising monitor role (left side) and broadcaster role (right side) for the broadcast protocol. In this protocol, the UE (monitor role) monitors the resource pool. In addition, it checks if it should report (broadcast) CLI avoidance information (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS). If the time to broadcast (report) this information, the workflow changes to that of the broadcaster role. ); and
measure via, the receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam (Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures CLI), self-interference at the receiver TRxP caused by transmission (measures Cross Link Interference (CLI)) of the SIM-RS by the transmitter TRxP (SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs) (Vejlgaard; [0124] The SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit the SRS and/or DMRS. [0127] Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures Cross Link Interference (CLI) using RSRP (knowing SRS/DMRS information) [0128] UE2 reports the CLI to gNB2 (potentially only in case the CLI is above a given threshold)).
Regarding claim 29 Vejlgaard teaches, A transmitter user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for transmitting, by a transmitter transmit-receive point (TRxP) of the transmitter UE ([0124] UE1 will broadcast SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs.) on a transmit beam (SRS/DMRS information), a self-interference management reference signal (SIM-RS) (for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement) during a first beam training occasion ([0130] [0131] UE in RRC connected mode scans for proximity UEs in RRC connected mode [0132] The UEs exchange SRS/DMRS information for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement purposes (at least one of the UEs informs at least one of the other UEs) [0133] The UE informed about SRS/DMRS measures CLI from dedicated UE with known SRS/DMRS information), wherein the first beam training occasion is shared among a plurality of UEs (UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information and the other nearby UEs listen) for transmitting beam training reference signals (BT-RS) for sidelink communications (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS)) among the plurality of UEs ([0140-0145] a) Broadcast Information (FIG. 4(a)): One UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information (i.e., a resource on which the UE transmits a reference signal such as SRS and/or DMRS) and the other nearby UEs listen... [0159] FIG. 6 shows the UE workflow comprising monitor role (left side) and broadcaster role (right side) for the broadcast protocol. In this protocol, the UE (monitor role) monitors the resource pool. In addition, it checks if it should report (broadcast) CLI avoidance information (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS). If the time to broadcast (report) this information, the workflow changes to that of the broadcaster role. ); and
means for measuring, by a receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam (Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures CLI), self-interference at the receiver TRxP caused by transmission (measures Cross Link Interference (CLI)) of the SIM-RS by the transmitter TRxP (SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs) (Vejlgaard; [0124] The SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit the SRS and/or DMRS. [0127] Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures Cross Link Interference (CLI) using RSRP (knowing SRS/DMRS information) [0128] UE2 reports the CLI to gNB2 (potentially only in case the CLI is above a given threshold)).
Regarding claim 30 Vejlgaard teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions comprising (Vejlgaard; [0193-0194] computer program(s) controlling and/or operating the same as well as mediums carrying such computer program(s)):
at least one instruction instructing a transmitter transmit-receive point (TRxP) of the transmitter UE ([0124] UE1 will broadcast SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs.) on a transmit beam (SRS/DMRS information), a self-interference management reference signal (SIM-RS) (for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement) during a first beam training occasion ([0130] [0131] UE in RRC connected mode scans for proximity UEs in RRC connected mode [0132] The UEs exchange SRS/DMRS information for Cross Link Interference (CLI) measurement purposes (at least one of the UEs informs at least one of the other UEs) [0133] The UE informed about SRS/DMRS measures CLI from dedicated UE with known SRS/DMRS information), wherein the first beam training occasion is shared among a plurality of UEs (UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information and the other nearby UEs listen) for transmitting beam training reference signals (BT-RS) for sidelink communications (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS)) among the plurality of UEs ([0140-0145] a) Broadcast Information (FIG. 4(a)): One UE broadcasts its CLI avoidance information (i.e., a resource on which the UE transmits a reference signal such as SRS and/or DMRS) and the other nearby UEs listen... [0159] FIG. 6 shows the UE workflow comprising monitor role (left side) and broadcaster role (right side) for the broadcast protocol. In this protocol, the UE (monitor role) monitors the resource pool. In addition, it checks if it should report (broadcast) CLI avoidance information (i.e. information on the resource used for transmitting SRS and/or DMRS). If the time to broadcast (report) this information, the workflow changes to that of the broadcaster role. ); and
measuring, by a receiver TRxP of the transmitter UE on a receive beam (Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures CLI), self-interference at the receiver TRxP caused by transmission (measures Cross Link Interference (CLI)) of the SIM-RS by the transmitter TRxP (SRS and/or DMRS information to nearby UEs) (Vejlgaard; [0124] The SRS and/or DMRS information comprises an indication of the resource (time, frequency) used by UE1 to transmit the SRS and/or DMRS. [0127] Nearby UE (e.g. UE2) detects UE1 and measures Cross Link Interference (CLI) using RSRP (knowing SRS/DMRS information) [0128] UE2 reports the CLI to gNB2 (potentially only in case the CLI is above a given threshold)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 13-15, 17-22, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (Byun hereafter) (US 20190260485 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claims 2 and 17 Vejlgaard teaches, The claims 1 and 16,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein: the transmitter UE transmits the SIM-RS on a first subset of time and frequency resources of the first beam training occasion, and a second subset of time and frequency resources of the first beam training occasion are available for transmission of BT-RS
However, in the same field of endeavor Byun teaches, wherein: the transmitter UE transmits the SIM-RS on a first subset of time and frequency resources of the first beam training occasion, and a second subset of time and frequency resources of the first beam training occasion are available for transmission of BT-RS (Byun; [0107] as shown in FIG. 7, a UE transmits signals simultaneously to different UEs in a multiplexed manner If three UEs intend to establish a communication link with each adjacent UE as shown in FIG. 7, one transmission resource and two reception resources shall be allocated to each UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 2 and 17,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are orthogonal to the second subset of time and frequency resources.
Byun further teaches, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are orthogonal to the second subset of time and frequency resources (Byun; [0107-109] as shown in FIG. 7, a UE transmits signals simultaneously to different UEs in a multiplexed manner If three UEs intend to establish a communication link with each adjacent UE as shown in FIG. 7, one transmission resource and two reception resources shall be allocated to each UE... inter-communication group resource and intra-communication group resource are resources orthogonal to each other. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 2 and 17,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are interleaved with the second subset of time and frequency resources.
Byun further teaches, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are interleaved with the second subset of time and frequency resources (Byun; [0247] In step S2460, the UE may transmit information about an RU group which transmits a reference signal for periodically measuring the inter-RU interference to the eNB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 2 and 17,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are:
selected by the transmitter UE, configured by a serving base station of the transmitter UE, specified in a wireless communications standard, or any combination thereof.
Byun further teaches, wherein the first subset of time and frequency resources are:
selected by the transmitter UE (Byun; [0107] UE transmits signals simultaneously to different UEs), configured by a serving base station of the transmitter UE (Byun; [0071] Data is transmitted from the network to the UE through a downlink transport),
specified in a wireless communications standard, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 6 and 21 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 2 and 17,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: transmitting, to at least one receiver UE of the plurality of UEs, a message indicating that the transmitter UE is transmitting the SIM-RS on the first subset of time and frequency resources to prevent the at least one receiver UE from attempting to establish a sidelink with the transmitter UE based on the SIM-RS
Byun further teaches, further comprising: transmitting, to at least one receiver UE of the plurality of UEs, a message indicating that the transmitter UE is transmitting the SIM-RS on the first subset of time and frequency resources to prevent the at least one receiver UE from attempting to establish a sidelink with the transmitter UE based on the SIM-RS (Byun; [0071] Data is transmitted from the network to the UE through a downlink transport channel Examples of the downlink transport channel include a broadcast channel (BCH) for transmitting system information and a downlink-shared channel (SCH) for transmitting user traffic or control messages. [0073] The sidelink uses a UL resource and physical channel structure similarly to UL transmission. Sidelink transmission uses the same basic transmission scheme as the UL transmission scheme.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 7 and 22 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 6 and 21,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message.
Byun further teaches, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (Byun; [0070] When an RRC connection is established between an RRC layer of the UE and an RRC layer of the network, the UE is in an RRC connected state, and otherwise the UE is in an RRC idle state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 13 and 28 Vejlgaard teaches, The claims 1 and 16,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein a reference signal sequence of the SIM-RS is different than a reference signal sequency of the BT-RS.
Byun further teaches, wherein a reference signal sequence of the SIM-RS is different than a reference signal sequency of the BT-RS (Byun; [0205] UE transmits a CSI-RS such that the UE can measure self-interference while receiving a CSI-RS transmitted from an eNB as an embodiment. Alternatively, this may be represented as a design in which the UE transmits an SRS when the eNB transmits the CSI-RS, and the SRS is orthogonal to the CSI-RS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 14 Vejlgaard teaches, The method of claim 1,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the transmitter UE communicates via the transmitter TRxP and the receiver TRxP using single frequency full duplex (SFDD).
Byun further teaches, wherein the transmitter UE communicates via the transmitter TRxP and the receiver TRxP using single frequency full duplex (SFDD) (Byun; [0202] to separately measure self-interference when antenna 1 transmits a signal and antenna 2 receives a signal and self-interference when antenna 2 transmits a signal and antenna 1 receives a signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claim 15 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The method of claim 14,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, wherein the transmitter TRxP and the receiver TRxP are spatially separated.
Byun further teaches, wherein the transmitter TRxP and the receiver TRxP are spatially separated (Byun; [0100] The SDD considered in the present specification is a technique in which each antenna of a UE is subjected to space division to independently operate a communication link of each antenna. In order to independently operate the communication link for each antenna,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard-Byun as applied to claims 6 and 21 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (Matsumura hereafter) (US 20180083679 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 23 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 6 and 21,
Vejlgaard-Byun fails to explicitly teach, wherein the message further includes: a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier of the transmit beam, a quasi-co-location (QCL) relation of the transmit beam, or any combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor Matsumura teaches, wherein the message further includes: a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier of the transmit beam, a quasi-co-location (QCL) relation of the transmit beam, or any combination thereof (Matsumura; [0029] The TCI state is information about Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) of the signal/channel, and may be called a spatial reception parameter, spatial relation information (SRI) and the like. The TCI state may be configured on a UE for each channel or for each signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard-Byun to include the above recited limitations as taught by Matsumura in order to determine at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel (Matsumura; [0038]).
Claims 9-12 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard- Byun as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (Lim hereafter) (US 2018008
3679 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 9 and 24 Vejlgaard-Byun teaches, The claims 2 and 17,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: receiving from at least one receiver UE of the plurality of UEs, a measurement report of the SIM-RS.
nullforming one or more sidelobes of the transmit beam for transmission of a second reference signal during a second beam training occasion based on the measurement report and the self-interference measured at the receiver.
repeating the transmitting, measuring, receiving, and nullforming until self-interference from the transmitter TRxP is minimized
Byun further teaches, further comprising: receiving from at least one receiver UE of the plurality of UEs, a measurement report of the SIM-RS (Byun; to select a half-duplex radio (HDR) mode and a full duplex radio (FDR) mode, a UE needs to perform periodic channel measurement. Here, channel measurement includes not only channel measurement between an eNB and the UE and self-interference measurement between antennas in the UE);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Vejlgaard-Byun fails to explicitly teach, nullforming one or more sidelobes of the transmit beam for transmission of a second reference signal during a second beam training occasion based on the measurement report and the self-interference measured at the receiver.
repeating the transmitting, measuring, receiving, and nullforming until self-interference from the transmitter TRxP is minimized
However, in the same field of endeavor Lim teaches, nullforming one or more sidelobes of the transmit beam for transmission of a second reference signal during a second beam training occasion based on the measurement report and the self-interference measured at the receiver TRxP (Lim; [0194] FIG. 14, and a beam nulling process considering self-interference in a communication system supporting a beamforming scheme [0196] FIG. 15, a transmission/reception beam nulling scheme is applied toward a transmission leakage signal direction and a reflection signal direction. In a case that the transmission/reception beam nulling scheme is applied,) (See Fig. 16); and
repeating the transmitting, measuring, receiving, and nullforming until self-interference from the transmitter TRxP is minimized (Lim; [0220] So, self-interference suppression may be increased through a beam nulling process which is based on a self-interference direction-of-arrival (DoA) as described in FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard-Byun to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lim in order to operating a full-duplex scheme in a communication system (Lim; [0207]).
Regarding claims 10 and 25 Vejlgaard-Byun-Lim teaches, The claims 9 and 24,
Vejlgaard-Lim fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second reference signal is a SIM-RS or a BT-RS.
Byun further teaches, wherein the second reference signal is a SIM-RS or a BT-RS (Byun; [0204] UE transmits a reference signal (RS) for self-interference measurement through some RUs and simultaneously receives an eNB RS and an RS for self-interference measurement through some RUs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard-Lim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Byun in order to measuring inter-RU interference (Byun; [0022]).
Regarding claims 11 and 26 Vejlgaard-Byun-Lim teaches, The claims 9 and 24,
Vejlgaard further teaches, wherein the measurement report is received: per TCI state of the transmit beam, or per TCI state and measurement instance of the transmit beam (Vejlgaard; [0157] Only if the gNB triggers the CLI avoidance exchange, the UEs served by this gNB monitor the CLI avoidance resource pool and broadcast their own CLI related information).
Claims 12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (Lim hereafter) (US 20180083679 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claims 12 and 27 Vejlgaard teaches, The claims 1 and 16,
Vejlgaard fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: nullforming one or more sidelobes of the transmit beam for transmission of a second reference signal during a second beam training occasion based on the self-interference measured at the receiver TRxP
repeating the transmitting, measuring, and nullforming until self-interference from the transmitter TRxP is minimized.
Lim further teaches, nullforming one or more sidelobes of the transmit beam for transmission of a second reference signal during a second beam training occasion based on the self-interference measured at the receiver TRxP (Lim; [0068] for operating a full-duplex scheme based on a beam selection/nulling scheme in a communication system supporting a beamforming scheme.); and
repeating the transmitting, measuring, and nullforming until self-interference from the transmitter TRxP is minimized (Lim; [0219] A self-interference DoA table updating process as described in FIG. 17 is a process for verifying a self-interference DoA table which was generated already using a full-duplex characteristic, and whether a self-interference DoA is changed is check by receiving a signal based on the self-interference DoA table which was generated already.[0220] So, self-interference suppression may be increased through a beam nulling process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Vejlgaard to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lim in order to operating a full-duplex scheme in a communication system (Lim; [0207]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416