DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an air distribution system” (claim11), “at least one photovoltaic panel” (claim 13), “a ultra violet light source” (claim 14), “the evacuated tube collector comprises a twin-wall having a vacuum, near vacuum or gas defined between the walls” (claim 17), “wherein the reservoir comprises a twin-wall vacuum construction” (claim 18) and “ventilation” (claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the housing,” in line 3. It is suggested to amend it to --- the housing; ---.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the solar power air heater” in lines 4-5. It is suggested to amend it to --- the solar power air heater; ---.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the clothes dryer comprises” in line 6. It is suggested to amend it to --- wherein the solar clothes dryer further comprises ---.
Claims 2-22 recite the limitation “A solar clothes dryer” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- The solar clothes dryer ---.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “Claim 1 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 1, wherein ---.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “Claim 2 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 2, wherein ---.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “Claim 3 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 3, wherein ---.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “Claim 4 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 4, wherein ---.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “Claim 5 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 5, wherein ---.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “any of Claims 4 to 6 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 4 to 6, wherein ---.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “Claim 7 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 7, wherein ---.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “aluminium” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- aluminum ---.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “Claim 7 or Claim 8 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 7 or claim 8, wherein ---.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “any of Claims 7 to 9 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 7 to 9, wherein ---.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “any of Claims 1 to 10 further comprising” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 1 to 10, further comprising ---.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “Claim 11 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 11, wherein ---.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “any of Claims 1 to 12 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 1 to 12, wherein ---.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the clothes dryer comprises” in lines 1-2. It is suggested to amend it to --- the solar clothes dryer further comprises ---.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “any of Claims 1 to 13 comprising” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 1 to 13, further comprising ---.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a ultra violet light source and configured to” in lines 1-2. It is suggested to amend it to --- an ultraviolet light source configured to ---.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “any of Claims 1 to 14 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 1 to 14, wherein---.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “Claim 15 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 15, wherein---.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the evacuated tube collector, and” in line 4. It is suggested to amend it to --- the evacuated tube collector; and ---.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the fluid reservoir, the solar power radiator system being mountable in a solar clothes dryer.” in lines 5-6. It is suggested to amend it to --- the fluid reservoir;
wherein the solar power radiator system being mountable in the solar clothes dryer. ---.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “Claim 16 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 16, wherein ---.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a twin-wall” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- a twin-walls ---.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the wall” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- the twin-walls ---.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “Claim 16 or Claim 17 wherein the reservoir” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- claim 16 or claim 17, wherein the fluid reservoir ---.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a twin-wall vacuum construction” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- a twin-walls vacuum construction ---.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “any of Claims 15 to 18 wherein the reservoir” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 16 to 18, wherein the fluid reservoir ---.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “ventilation” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- a ventilation ---.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “any of Claims 15 to 19 further” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 16 to 19, further ---.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “and/or the pump” in line 2. It is suggested to amend it to --- wherein the fluid pump ---.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “any of Claims 15 to 20 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 15 to 20, wherein ---.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “any of Claims 15 to 21 wherein” in line 1. It is suggested to amend it to --- any of claims 16 to 21, wherein ---.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the heated air, and” in line 5. It is suggested to amend it to --- the heated air; and ---.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the heated air” in line 6. It is suggested to amend it to --- the heated air; ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangan et al. (US 2019/0100866; hereinafter Mangan) in view of Judelson (US 1,527,192).
Regarding claims 1-7 & 10, Mangan discloses a solar clothes dryer (10, fig. 4A) comprising:
an outer housing (23, fig. 4A);
a solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E) in the housing (23, fig. 4A), and
a drying chamber (31, figs. 4C-F) within the housing (23, fig. 4A) to receive heated air from the solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E). (Application claim 1)
Mangan does not disclose wherein the clothes dryer comprises a heat recovery system; (Application claim 1)
wherein the heat recovery system comprises a heat exchanger; (Application claim 2)
wherein the heat exchanger is in heat communication with the solar powered air heater; (Application claim 3)
wherein the heat exchanger is formed as part of the solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E); (Application claim 4)
wherein the heat exchanger is formed in the outer housing (23, fig. 4A); (Application claim 5)
wherein the heat exchanger is formed in a sidewall or top wall of the outer housing (23, fig. 4A); (Application claim 6)
wherein the heat exchanger comprises a heated air conduit separated from an exhausted air duct by a heat conductor; (Application claim 7) and
wherein the exhausted air duct comprises an exhausted air outlet. (Application claim 10)
Judelson teaches wherein the clothes dryer (Judelson, figs. 1-3) comprises a heat recovery system (Judelson, 24, 21, 22, fig. 1); (Application claim 1)
wherein the heat recovery system (Judelson, 24, 21, 22, fig. 1) comprises a heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1); (Application claim 2)
wherein the heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1) is in heat communication with the powered air heater (Judelson, 12, 16, fig. 1); (Application claim 3)
wherein the heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1) is formed as part of the powered air heater (Judelson, 12, 16, fig. 1); (Application claim 4)
wherein the heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1) is formed in the outer housing (Judelson, outer housing of clothes dryer as shown in fig. 1); (Application claim 5)
wherein the heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1) is formed in a sidewall or top wall of the outer housing (Judelson, outer housing of clothes dryer as shown in fig. 1); (Application claim 6)
wherein the heat exchanger (Judelson, side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 1) comprises a heated air conduit (Judelson, 12, fig. 1) separated from an exhausted air duct (Judelson, 21, 22, fig. 1) by a heat conductor (Judelson, wall thickness of side wall of item 22 at item 20, fig. 3); (Application claim 7) and
wherein the exhausted air duct (Judelson, 21, 22, fig. 1) comprises an exhausted air outlet (Judelson, 33, figs. 1, 3). (Application claim 10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the solar clothes dryer of Mangan with wherein the clothes dryer comprises a heat recovery system; (Application claim 1) wherein the heat recovery system comprises a heat exchanger; (Application claim 2) wherein the heat exchanger is in heat communication with the solar powered air heater; (Application claim 3) wherein the heat exchanger is formed as part of the solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E); (Application claim 4) wherein the heat exchanger is formed in the outer housing (23, fig. 4A); (Application claim 5) wherein the heat exchanger is formed in a sidewall or top wall of the outer housing (23, fig. 4A); (Application claim 6) wherein the heat exchanger comprises a heated air conduit separated from an exhausted air duct by a heat conductor; (Application claim 7) and wherein the exhausted air duct comprises an exhausted air outlet (Application claim 10), as taught by Judelson, for utilizing waste heat of exhaust air or recirculating air to heat a cool process drying air which would result in improving or increasing a temperature of the process drying air before being supplied to a drying chamber of the solar clothes dryer and thus the solar clothes dryer is effectively drying an object to be dried such as clothe(s), sock(s), glove(s), or etc.… within a shorter period of time. Thus, the solar clothes dryer operates in a more thermally efficient manner and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 9, Mangan as modified discloses wherein the heated air conduit (16, figs. 4C-E) comprises a fresh air inlet (26, figs. 4C-E).
Regarding claim 11, Mangan as modified discloses further comprising an air distribution system (42, 39, figs. 4C, 4F).
Regarding claim 12, Mangan as modified discloses wherein the air distribution system (42, 39, figs. 4C, 4F) is a solar powered air distribution system (as shown in fig. 4C, the heating air of the items 42, 39 is heated by item 32 or sun light or solar light).
Regarding claim 13, Mangan as modified discloses wherein the clothes dryer (10, fig. 4A) comprises at least one photovoltaic panel (13, figs. 4B-C, 4F, [0194]).
Regarding claim 14, Mangan as modified discloses comprising a ultra violet light source (UV Light source, [0048]) and configured to reduce, and /or remove and / or eradicate harmful agents, for example bacteria, on items positioned within the solar clothes dryer (10, fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 15, Mangan as modified discloses wherein the solar clothes dryer (10, fig. 4A) further comprises a solar powered radiator system (an electrical heater powered by a battery, solar cell, [0167]; battery 47, that can be recharged by the solar cell, [0181]; top-cap with solar cell 13, [0194]; solar cell 45, [0226]; figs. 4B-C, 4F; further, the electrical heater radiates heat, so the electrical heater is a heat radiator). (Application claim 15)
Regarding claim 21, Mangan as modified discloses wherein the solar powered radiator system (an electrical heater powered by a battery, solar cell, [0167]; battery 47, that can be recharged by the solar cell, [0181]; top-cap with solar cell 13, [0194]; solar cell 45, [0226]; figs. 4B-C, 4F) is configured to run on demand (the solar powered radiator system of Mangan is run on demand when the solar clothes dryer 10 of Mangan is used or in demand for drying the clothes by placing the solar clothes dryer 10 outside under the sun; otherwise, the solar clothes dryer 10 of Mangan is placed inside when it is not used or not in demand; thus, the solar powered radiator system of Mangan is not run when it is not on demand). (Application claim 21). (Application claim 21)
Regarding claim 23, Mangan discloses a method for drying clothes (figs. 4A-H) (clothes, [0179]) comprising:
placing clothes (clothes, [0179]) in a solar clothes dryer (10, fig. 4A) having a solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E);
heating air (34, fig. 4C) with the solar powered air heater (11, 15, 16, figs 4C-E);
drying the clothes (clothes, [0179]) with the heated air (37, fig. 4C), and
exhausting (via item 25, fig. 4C) the heated air (37, fig. 4C).
Mangan does not disclose wherein heat is recovered from the heated air with a heat recovery system before its exhaustion.
Judelson teaches wherein heat is recovered from the heated air (Judelson, heated air inside items 21, 22, fig. 1) with a heat recovery system (Judelson, 24, 21, 22, fig. 1) before its exhaustion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the method for drying clothes of Mangan with wherein heat is recovered from the heated air with a heat recovery system before its exhaustion, as taught by Judelson, for utilizing waste heat of exhaust air or recirculating air to heat a cool process drying air which would result in improving or increasing a temperature of the process drying air before being supplied to a drying chamber of the solar clothes dryer and thus the solar clothes dryer is effectively drying an object to be dried such as clothe(s), sock(s), glove(s), or etc.… within a shorter period of time. Thus, the solar clothes dryer operates in a more thermally efficient manner and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangan and Judelson as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Peet (US 6,216,359).
Regarding claim 8, Mangan as modified discloses the limitations of a solar clothes dryer as claimed in Claim 7 above, but does not disclose wherein the heat conductor comprises aluminium.
Well-known in the art, Peet teaches wherein the heat conductor (Peet, conducting wall thickness of item 24, figs. 1, 2) comprises aluminium (Peet, “heat conductive material such as aluminum”, col. 3, lines 60-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the solar clothes dryer of Mangan with wherein the heat conductor comprises aluminium, as taught by Peet, for improving a heat transfer from a hot exhaust air or a hot recirculating air to a cool process drying air via the heat conducting wall thickness or the heat conductor during a drying process which would result in quickly heating the cool process drying air before being supplied to a drying chamber of the solar clothes dryer. Thus, the solar clothes dryer operates further more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed wherein the solar powered radiator system comprises:
an evacuated tube collector for heating fluid;
a fluid reservoir communicable with the evacuated tube collector, and
a radiator connected to the fluid reservoir, the solar powered radiator system being mountable in a solar clothes dryer.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Mangan as modified discloses “A solar clothes dryer as claimed in Claim 15”. However, Mangan does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the solar powered radiator system comprises: an evacuated tube collector for heating fluid; a fluid reservoir communicable with the evacuated tube collector, and a radiator connected to the fluid reservoir, the solar powered radiator system being mountable in a solar clothes dryer”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 16-20 and 22 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the solar powered radiator system comprises: an evacuated tube collector for heating fluid; a fluid reservoir communicable with the evacuated tube collector, and a radiator connected to the fluid reservoir, the solar powered radiator system being mountable in a solar clothes dryer” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 16-20 and 22.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762