DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are amended. Claims 2-4 are cancelled. Claims 8 and 9 are new. Claims 1 and 5-9 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement dated 02/13/2026 has been withdrawn in view of the applicants’ amendment. Claim 7 is no longer withdrawn.
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejections of claims 1 and 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’937 (WO2015/113937A1) have been withdrawn in view of the applicants’ amendment and argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’182 (EP2690182A1).
Regarding claim 1, EP’182 discloses ([0007]; [0013]; [0033]; [0034]; Claim 1 and Claim 5) a soft magnetic steel with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition of C, SI, Mn, P, S, Al, N, and Se and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the amount of each element from the ranges disclosed in EP’182 to produce a soft magnetic steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
EP’182
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
≤0.02
≤0.01
≤0.01
Si
≤0.15
≤0.03
≤0.03
Mn
0.201 – 0.5
0.05-1.2
0.201 – 0.5
P
0.002-0.02
≤0.2
0.002 – 0.02
S
0.001-0.05
≤0.3
0.001-0.05
Al
≤0.05
≤0.002
≤0.002
N
≤0.01
≤0.015
≤0.01
Se
0.001-0.015
0.0-0.1
0.001-0.015
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
EP’182 discloses that the amount of additional elements other than the elements recited in claim 1 can be zero (claim 1), which meets the transitional phrase “consisting of” as recited in claim 1.
EP’182 discloses that Zr is optional ([0007]; [0013]; [0033]; [0034]; Claim 5), which meets the limitation that the chemical composition does not comprise Zr as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 5-6, EP’182 discloses ([0007]; [0013]; [0033]; [0034]; Claim 1 and Claim 5) a soft magnetic steel with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition of C, SI, Mn, P, S, Al, N, and Se and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the amount of each element from the ranges disclosed in EP’182 to produce a soft magnetic steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
EP’182
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
≤0.02
≤0.01
≤0.01
Si
≤0.15
≤0.03
≤0.03
Mn
0.01 – 0.5
0.05-1.2
0.05 – 0.5
P
0.002-0.02
≤0.2
0.002 – 0.02
S
0.018-0.05
≤0.3
0.018-0.05
Al
≤0.05
≤0.002
≤0.002
N
≤0.01
≤0.015
≤0.01
Se
0.001-0.015
0.0-0.1
0.001-0.015
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
EP’182 discloses that the amount of additional elements other than the elements recited in claim 5 can be zero (claim 1), which meets the transitional phrase “consisting of” as recited in claim 5.
EP’182 discloses that Zr is optional ([0007]; [0013]; [0033]; [0034]; Claim 5), which meets the limitation that the chemical composition does not comprise Zr as recited in claim 5.
Regarding claims 7-9, EP’182 discloses that the steel is a strip or a slab (Abstract), not a bar, rod or wire as recited in claims 7-9. However, changes in shape and size are a prima facie case of obviousness over EP’182. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 04/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733