DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the cam member had a flange” should read “the cam member has a flange.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kroop US 3672710 (hereinafter Kroop) . Re. Cl. 1, Kroop discloses: A finger (Fig. 1) of a device for holding a workpiece, the finger comprising: a finger body (10, Fig. 1) ; a finger tip (12, Fig. 1) configured to be removably coupled to the finger body (see Fig. 1) ; and a cam member (13, Fig. 1) disposed, at least partially, in the finger body (see Fig. 1) and configured to engage the finger tip (see Fig. 1, via 16) , wherein actuating the cam member causes the cam member to pull the finger tip toward the finger body to couple the finger tip to the finger body (see Fig. 1, activating using 15) . Re. Cl. 4 , Kroop discloses: the cam member is disposed in a blind hole formed in the finger body (see Fig. 1, within 14) , wherein the finger further comprises: a spring (22, Fig. 1) disposed in the blind hole, wherein the spring biases the cam member outward from the finger body to facilitate engaging the finger tip (see Fig. 1) . Re. Cl. 5 , Kroop discloses: at least a portion of the blind hole has a rectangular shape (see Fig. 1-2) , and wherein at least a portion of the cam member has a corresponding rectangular shape interacting with the portion of the blind hole having the rectangular shape to preclude the cam member from rotating within the blind hole (see Fig. 1-2) . Re. Cl. 6 , Kroop discloses: the cam member has a hole (17, Fig. 1) comprising a conical depression (see Fig. 2, shown as being conical) bound by a conical surface (see Fig. 1, 16) , and wherein the finger further comprises: a fastener (15, Fig. 1) disposed in the finger body and having a tapered portion ( see lower end of 15 which engages 16 , Fig. 1-2) configured to slide against the conical surface of the conical depression of the cam member, thereby pulling the cam member inward and pulling the finger tip engaged with the cam member toward the finger body (see Fig. 1-2) . Re. Cl. 7 , Kroop discloses: the fastener is a screw threadedly-engaged with the finger body (see Fig. 1, via 21) , wherein screwing the screw in the finger body causes the tapered portion to slide against the conical surface, thereby pulling the cam member inward and pulling the finger tip engaged with the cam member toward the finger body (see Fig. 1-2) . Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lien US 9630299 (hereinafter Lien ) . Re. Cl. 9, Lien discloses: A finger (24-26, Fig. 2) of a device for holding a workpiece, the finger comprising: a finger body (26, Fig. 2) having a recess (see Fig. 2, where 66 fits) ; a finger tip (24, 25, Fig. 2) configured to be removably coupled to the finger body (see Fig. 2) , wherein the finger tip comprises a boss (66, Fig. 2 and 11a-b) having a wedge (see 70, Fig. 5 and 11a-b) , wherein the recess of the finger body is configured to receive the boss of the finger tip (see Fig. 11b) ; and a clamp (80, Fig. 11a) mounted, at least partially, within the finger body (see Fig. 10 and 11b) and having a wedge-shaped groove (96, Fig. 11a-b) , wherein upon mounting the finger tip to the finger body, the clamp is moved to engage the finger tip, thereby causing the wedge-shaped groove of the clamp to receive the wedge of the boss of the finger tip and coupling the finger tip to the finger body (see Fig. 11b) . Re. Cl. 10 , Lien discloses: a fastener (82, Fig. 11a) mounted to the finger body and configured to engage the clamp (see Fig. 11a-b) , such that upon mounting the finger tip to the finger body, the fastener moves the clamp, thereby causing the wedge-shaped groove to receive the wedge of the boss of the finger tip and coupling the finger tip to the finger body (see Fig. 11b) . Re. Cl. 11 , Lien discloses: the fastener is a screw mounted to the finger body and threadedly-engaged with the clamp (see Fig. 11a-b) , such that rotation of the screw causes the clamp to move linearly within the finger body to engage the finger tip (see Fig. 11a-b) . Re. Cl. 12 , Lien discloses: the wedge is a first wedge (see Fig. 5) and the wedge-shaped groove is a first wedge-shaped groove (see Fig. 5 and 11a-b) , wherein the recess of the finger body comprises a second wedge-shaped groove (52, Fig. 3) , wherein the boss of the finger tip comprises a second wedge (72, Fig. 5) , and wherein the second wedge-shaped groove of the finger body receives the second wedge of the boss of the finger tip (see Fig. 11a-b) . Re. Cl. 13 , Lien discloses: a stud (124, Fig. 3) removably mounted to the finger tip (see Fig. 1-3, via loosening 124 and 80 and thus enabling 24, 25 to be removed) . Re. Cl. 14 , Lien discloses: the stud has a flat surface (see flat top, Fig. 3) , and wherein the stud is configured to be rotatable to different angles to orient the flat surface at respective different orientations (see Fig. 3, 124 can be rotated to thread into and out of 48, thus giving different orientations/positions relative to 48) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim s 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroop in view of Smock US 4974987 (hereinafter Smock) . Re. Cl. 2, Kroop discloses the finger tip comprises a groove configured as a key slot (see where 16, fits within 12, Fig. 1) but does not disclose the finger body comprises a key, such that the key of the finger body is received in the groove of the finger tip to facilitate coupling the finger tip to the finger body. Smock discloses a finger device (Fig. 1) which includes a finger body (10, Fig. 1) removably connected to a finger tip (12, Fig. 1) wherein the finger body comprises a key (27, Fig. 1) and wherein the finger tip comprises a groove (15, Fig. 1) configured as a key slot (see Fig. 1 and 5) , such that the key of the finger body is received in the groove of the finger tip to facilitate coupling the finger tip to the finger body (see Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kroop device to include the key structure of Smock with reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure connection between the two mating parts. Such a modification would provide an additional manner of connection between the finger and finger tip by providing a connection while the user manipulates the cam member. Re. Cl. 3, the combination of Kroop in view of Smock would disclose the cam member had a flange (16, Fig. 1 in Kroop) , and wherein the groove of the finger tip is flange-shaped (see Fig. 1, as receiving 16 in Kroop) , such that when the finger tip is mounted to the finger body (see Fig. 1 in Kroop) , the key (see Fig. 5 in Smock) and the flange (see Fig. 1 of Kroop) are received in the groove, and wherein when the cam member is actuated, the cam member pulls the finger tip toward the finger body via interaction between the flange and the groove (see Fig. 1 in Kroop, by manipulating 15) . Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroop in view of Ajanovic US 9732781 (hereinafter Ajanovic ) . Re. Cl. 8, Kroop discloses the cam member is disposed in a blind hole formed in the finger body (see Fig. 1, within 14) , wherein the finger further comprises: a spring (22, Fig. 1) disposed in the blind hole (see Fig. 1) , wherein the spring biases the cam member outward from the finger body to facilitate engaging the finger tip (see Fig. 1) but does not disclose the screw has a protrusion disposed in the hole of the cam member to prevent the cam member from being pushed out of the blind hole by the spring upon disengagement of the tapered portion of the screw from the conical depression. Ajanovic discloses a connection join (Fig. 7a) which includes a screw (25, Fig. 7a) and a cam member (24, Fig. 7a) wherein the screw has a protrusion (see t i p of 34, Fig. 7a and 76, Fig. 10) disposed in the hole of the cam member (see Fig. 7b, within 30,31) to prevent the cam member from being pushed out of the blind hole by the spring upon disengagement of the tapered portion of the screw from the conical depression (see Fig. 7a-b, the t ip of 34 would provide such a function so long as it is not fully removed from 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the screw tip and depression configuration of Kroop with the screw tip and depression configuration of Ajanovic with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve a predictable result. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR) Allowable Subject Matter Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hirono US 2017/0266773, Kroop US 3537736, and Offenbroich US 4893959 disclose other known connection mechanisms presented to the Applicant for their consideration. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CHRISTOPHER E GARFT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1171 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Terrell McKinnon can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4797 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER GARFT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632