DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 16 October 2025 has been entered. Claims 120, 121, 123-126, 128-134, and 136-139 are currently amended; claims 1-119 and 135 are cancelled; claims 122 and 127 are previously presented; claim 140 has been added. Claims 120-134 and 136-140 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 120-128, 130, 131, 134-137, and 140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3,509,343 A1, hereafter referred Zhou, in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0270879 A1), hereafter referred Chen. Zhou was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 28 April 2023.
Regarding claim 120, Zhou teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Zhou, Fig. 39, [0348]; the computing device may include one or more processors); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (Zhou, Fig. 39, [0348]; the computing device may execute instructions stored in the RAM or storage medium);
where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receive a configuration with a first periodicity for at least one of: a physical uplink control channel for reporting channel state information, or a transmitting a transmission of a sounding reference signal (Zhou, [0273]-[0279]; a base station may transmit, to the wireless device, one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters that can include CSI-RS resource set including CSI-RS type (e.g. periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent), where the wireless device may activate CSI reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
While Zhou teaches determine whether to stop or pause at least one of the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal, based on receiving a command to stop or pause the reporting of the channel state information (Zhou, [0273]-[0275]; the wireless device may stop the transmission of the one or more CSI reports after or in response to the deactivating, where the deactivation is in response to receiving the second MAC CE), Zhou does not expressly teach determine that at least one second periodicity is active in response to a plurality of consecutive channel state information values based on the first periodicity being the same or within a predetermined variation; and the determining whether to stop or pause at least one of the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal is also based on the determining that at least one second periodicity is active for performing the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal,
wherein the at least one second periodicity is longer than the first periodicity.
However, Chen teaches determine that at least one second periodicity is active in response to a plurality of consecutive channel state information values based on the first periodicity being the same or within a predetermined variation; and the determining whether to stop or pause at least one of the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal is also based on the determining that at least one second periodicity is active for performing the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal, wherein the at least one second periodicity is longer than the first periodicity (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include decreasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is not determined to be unstable (which is finding the CSI values are stable due to the double negative and decreasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to finding a longer periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are stable (do not change quickly) then we can reduce the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a longer periodicity without impacting the CSI stability which utilizes the mathematical concept of Fourier analysis that teaches any periodic function can be described by sinusoids of the fundamental frequency (or first harmonic) as well as sinusoids of higher order harmonic frequencies that result in longer periods).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to maximize efficient use of resources (Chen, [0105]).
Regarding claim 134, Zhou teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Zhou, Fig. 39, [0348]; the computing device may include one or more processors); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (Zhou, Fig. 39, [0348]; the computing device may execute instructions stored in the RAM or storage medium);
where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
providing a configuration with a first periodicity for at least one of: a physical uplink control channel for reporting channel state information, or a transmitting of a sounding reference signal (Zhou, [0273]-[0279]; a base station may transmit, to the wireless device, one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters that can include CSI-RS resource set including CSI-RS type (e.g. periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent), where the wireless device may activate CSI reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
While Zhou teaches where the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal is stopped or paused based on: providing a command to stop or pause the reporting of the channel state information (Zhou, [0273]-[0275]; the wireless device may stop the transmission of the one or more CSI reports after or in response to the deactivating, where the deactivation is in response to receiving the second MAC CE) and where measuring of the channel state information is stopped or paused based on: providing a command to stop or pause the measuring of the channel state information (Zhou, [0165]; a wireless device may keep monitoring an initial DL BWP until the wireless device receives SCell deactivation command), Zhou does not expressly teach where the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal is stopped or paused also based on at least one second periodicity being active for performing the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal, and where measuring of the channel state information is stopped or paused also based on at least the at least one second periodicity being active for performing the measuring of the channel state information.
However, Chen teaches where the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal is stopped or paused also based on at least one second periodicity being active for performing the reporting of the channel state information, or the transmitting of the sounding reference signal, and where measuring of the channel state information is stopped or paused also based on at least the at least one second periodicity being active for performing the measuring of the channel state information (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include decreasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is not determined to be unstable (which is finding the CSI values are stable due to the double negative and decreasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to finding a longer periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are stable (do not change quickly) then we can reduce the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a longer periodicity without impacting the CSI stability which utilizes the mathematical concept of Fourier analysis that teaches any periodic function can be described by sinusoids of the fundamental frequency (or first harmonic) as well as sinusoids of higher order harmonic frequencies that result in longer periods).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to maximize efficient use of resources (Chen, [0105]).
Regarding claim 121, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. While Zhou teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
determining whether to stop or pause measuring of channel state information based on: receiving a command to stop or pause the measuring of the channel state information; or determining that the at least one second periodicity is active for performing the measuring of the channel state information (Zhou, [0165]; a wireless device may keep monitoring an initial DL BWP until the wireless device receives SCell deactivation command), Zhou does not expressly teach determining whether to stop or pause measuring of channel state information also based on: determining that the at least one second periodicity is active for performing the measuring of the channel state information.
However, Chen teaches determining whether to stop or pause measuring of channel state information also based on: determining that the at least one second periodicity is active for performing the measuring of the channel state information (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include decreasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is not determined to be unstable (which is finding the CSI values are stable due to the double negative and decreasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to finding a longer periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are stable (do not change quickly) then we can reduce the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a longer periodicity without impacting the CSI stability which utilizes the mathematical concept of Fourier analysis that teaches any periodic function can be described by sinusoids of the fundamental frequency (or first harmonic) as well as sinusoids of higher order harmonic frequencies that result in longer periods).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to maximize efficient use of resources (Chen, [0105]).
Regarding claim 122, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Further, Zhou teaches where the command to stop or pause the channel state information reporting, or the sounding reference signal transmitting comprises a command to skip monitoring of a downlink control channel (Zhou, [0165]; a wireless device may keep monitoring an initial DL BWP until the wireless device receives SCell deactivation command).
Regarding claim 123, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 122 above. Further, Zhou teaches where whether to stop or pause the channel state information reporting, or the sounding reference signal transmitting depends further on a duration of the downlink control channel monitoring skipping, where a time duration to stop or pause the channel state information reporting or the sounding reference signal transmitting is dependent on the duration of the downlink control channel monitoring skipping (Zhou, [0274]-[0279]; the wireless device may deactivate the SP CSI-RS resource set for the first BWP in response to the deactivating and until the base station transmit one or more SP CSI-RS with a limited transmission duration to reactivate the BWP based on a duration parameter and offset parameter).
Regarding claim 124, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Zhou does not expressly teach where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reverting from the second periodicity to the first periodicity in response to detecting that fewer than a predetermined number of consecutive channel state information reports are regarded as the same.
However, Chen teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reverting from the second periodicity to the first periodicity in response to detecting that fewer than a predetermined number of consecutive channel state information reports are regarded as the same (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include increasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is determined to be unstable (increasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to using a shorter periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are unstable (do not have the same values or values outside of a threshold) then we can increase the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a shorter periodicity to achieve more stability in the CSI reporting but as the first periodicity is defined as the shorter periodicity, choosing the shorter periodicity is reverting to the shorter periodicity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to improve CSI stability (Chen, Fig. 10A).
Regarding claims 125 and 136, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 and the apparatus of claim 134 above. Further, Zhou teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
changing to the first periodicity or the second periodicity in response to not receiving information or a command over a physical downlink control channel for a predetermined amount of time (Zhou, Fig. 34, [0323]-[0330]; the wireless device may transmit an SP CSI report according to a first time period, but a second SP CSI report may be scheduled for transmission during a second time period that may occur during a time period of one or multiple reporting periodicity periods after the first time period).
Regarding claims 126 and 137, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 and the apparatus of claim 134 above. Further, Zhou teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: determining that the at least one second periodicity is active based on the second periodicity being indicated by downlink control information (Zhou, [0331]-[0337]; the wireless device may receive a DCI that may indicate activation of one of the SP CSI configuration and deactivation of different SP CSI configuration, which may lead to the wireless device skipping the transmission of an SP CSI report resulting in the transmitting during a second time period instead of the first time period).
Regarding claim 127, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Zhou does not expressly teach where the at least one second periodicity comprises an extended or prolonged period relative to a period of a previously active periodicity.
However, Chen teaches where the at least one second periodicity comprises an extended or prolonged period relative to a period of a previously active periodicity (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include decreasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is not determined to be unstable (which is finding the CSI values are stable due to the double negative and decreasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to finding a longer periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are stable (do not change quickly) then we can reduce the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a longer periodicity without impacting the CSI stability which utilizes the mathematical concept of Fourier analysis that teaches any periodic function can be described by sinusoids of the fundamental frequency (or first harmonic) as well as sinusoids of higher order harmonic frequencies that result in longer periods).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to maximize efficient use of resources (Chen, [0105]).
Regarding claim 128, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Further, Zhou teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: determining that the first periodicity is active in response to receiving downlink control information scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (Zhou, [0140]-[0143] and [0259]; if the wireless device receives a DCI, the wireless device can make another BWP (not the default BWP) into the active BWP, where the wireless device may receive the DCI fi the CRC is scrambled by a sequence of bits that is the same as the wireless device identifier (e.g. C-RNTI, TC-RNTI, etc.)); and determining that the at least one second periodicity is active in response to not receiving the downlink control information scrambled with the cell radio network temporary identifier for a predetermined amount of time (Zhou, [0140]-[0143] and [0259]; if the wireless device does not receive any control data during the running of the BWP inactive timer, the wireless device switches to the default BWP from the active BWP, where the wireless device may receive the DCI fi the CRC is scrambled by a sequence of bits that is the same as the wireless device identifier (e.g. C-RNTI, TC-RNTI, etc.)).
Regarding claim 130, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Further, Zhou teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: determining that the first periodicity is active in response to a first predefined minimum scheduling offset restriction for uplink or downlink being active and/or indicated to be active; and determining that the at least one second periodicity is active in response to a second predefined minimum scheduling offset restriction for uplink or downlink being active and/or indicated to be active (Zhou, [0248]-[0252]; if the wireless device receives a MAC activation command for a secondary cell in subframe n, the corresponding actions may be applied no later than a minimum time period for actions related to CSI reporting and the sCellDeactivationTimer with the secondary cell).
Regarding claim 131, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Zhou does not expressly teach where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reverting from the second periodicity to the first periodicity in response to detecting that fewer than a predetermined number of consecutive channel state information reports are regarded as the same, wherein two channel state information reports are regarded as the same when at least one of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, and a rank indicator, or a reference signal received power differs by less than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Chen teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reverting from the second periodicity to the first periodicity in response to detecting that fewer than a predetermined number of consecutive channel state information reports are regarded as the same, wherein two channel state information reports are regarded as the same when at least one of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, and a rank indicator, or a reference signal received power differs by less than a predetermined threshold value (Chen, Fig. 10A, [0103]-[0106]; the algorithm may run continuously, adjusting the sounding and CSI reporting schedule in response to the changes, where in operation 1005, the algorithm stores successive CSI values in a local database, then in operation 1007, the algorithm decides as to whether the CSI values are stable or not at the maximum sounding rate (which is the shortest periodicity as frequency and periodicity have an inverse relationship), where the algorithm possibilities for adjusting sounding rate include increasing a sounding rate for when the CSI is determined to be unstable (increasing the sounding rate which is equivalent to using a shorter periodicity). The examiner contends that Chen suggests that when we recognize the CSI values are unstable (do not have the same values or values outside of a threshold) then we can increase the sounding rate frequency to measure the CSI values which results in a shorter periodicity to achieve more stability in the CSI reporting but as the first periodicity is defined as the shorter periodicity, choosing the shorter periodicity is reverting to the shorter periodicity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chen in order to improve CSI stability (Chen, Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 140, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 134 above. Further, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration includes the first periodicity for both a physical uplink control channel used to report channel state information and transmission of a sounding reference signal (Zhou, [0245] and [0273]-[0279]; a base station may transmit, to the wireless device, one or more RRC message comprising one or more CSI configuration parameters that can include CSI-RS resource set including CSI-RS type (e.g. periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent), where the wireless device may activate CSI reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), where the configuration the base station may transmit may comprise at least: CSI-RS configuration, SRS configuration, PRACH configuration, etc.).
Claim 129 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Chen as applied to claim 120 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (US 2022/0046644 A1), hereafter referred Oh.
Regarding claim 129, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 above. Zhou in view of Chen does not expressly teach where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: determining that the first periodicity is active in response to a first predefined search space group being active and/or indicated to be active; and determining that the at least one second periodicity is active in response to a second predefined search space group being active and/or indicated to be active.
However, Oh teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: determine that the first periodicity is active in response to a first predefined search space group being active and/or indicated to be active; and determine that the at least one second periodicity is active in response to a second predefined search space group being active and/or indicated to be active (Oh, Fig. 15, [0275]-[0285]; the UE may receive a command for activating a specific TCI state for control resource set #0 so the search space associated with the CSI-RS of the TCI state is activated through the MAC CE and may correspond to search space block A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou in view of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Oh in order to effectively transmit and receive a reference signal (Oh, [0009]).
Claims 132 and 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Chen as applied to claims 120 and 134 above, and further in view of Faxer et al. (US 2019/0199420 A1), hereafter referred Faxer.
Regarding claims 132 and 138, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 and the apparatus of claim 134 above. Zhou in view of Chen does not expressly teach where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reporting the channel state information irrespective of a currently used reporting periodicity while multiplexing channel state information together with a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement based on the first periodicity.
However, Faxer teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: reporting the channel state information irrespective of a currently used reporting periodicity while multiplexing channel state information together with a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement based on the first periodicity (Faxer, [0383]-[0386]; both bundling of HARQ-ACK and CSI in same PUCCH as well as indication of separate PUCCH is supported).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou in view of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Faxer in order to reduce the UCI payload size (Faxer, [0011]).
Claims 133 and 139 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Chen as applied to claim 120 and 134 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 2019/0312669 A1), hereafter referred Kwak.
Regarding claims 133 and 139, Zhou in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 120 and the apparatus of claim 134 above. Zhou in view of Chen does not expressly teach where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: when using the at least one second periodicity, continuing to measure the channel state information based on the first periodicity and, in response to a value of the channel state information differing from a previously reported channel state information value, report the channel state information based on the first periodicity, otherwise report the channel state information based on the at least one second periodicity.
However, Kwak teaches where the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: when using the at least one second periodicity, continuing to measure the channel state information based on the first periodicity and, in response to a value of the channel state information differing from a previously reported channel state information value, report the channel state information based on the first periodicity, otherwise report the channel state information based on the at least one second periodicity (Kwak, [0246]-[0250] and [0470]-[0473]; the terminal needs to monitor all the PDCCHs in the monitoring set even when not activated, where in the CQI feedback procedure according to a first periodicity and second periodicity, within the second periodicity, the CQI with the first periodicity is fed back as a differential value with respect to the CQI for the first codework back in the second periodicity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kwak in order to enable transmission of channel state information through an sTTI (Kwak, [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416