DETAILED ACTION
The exami8ner acknowledges receipt of request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and IDS filed 03/27/2026.
Claims 10-20 filed 12/30/2025 are pending. The claims are not currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/054547 filed 10/12/2021, which claims benefit of 63/234,567 filed 08/18/2021 and 63/091240 filed 10/13/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 03/27/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEHFAR et al. (WO 2019118817 Al) as evidenced by Gao et al. "Nerve autografts and tissue-engineered materials for the repair of peripheral nerve injuries: a 5-year bibliometric analysis" in NEURAL REGENERATION RESEARCH, June 2015, Volume 10, issue 6, pp 1003-1008 (for claims 11 and 12) and as evidenced by Huebner et al., “Axon Regeneration in the Peripheral and Central Nervous Systems,” in Results Probl Cell Differ. 2009; 48: 339-351 (NIH Public Access Author Manuscript) that axons are part of peripheral nervous system and axons are known to transmit impulses for claim 17 (Britannica, Axon | Neurons, Nerve Fibers & Signaling | Britannica, 2026).
BEHFAR et al. (WO 2019118817 Al) and Gao et al. "Nerve autografts and tissue-engineered materials for the repair of peripheral nerve injuries: a 5-year bibliometric analysis" in NEURAL REGENERATION RESEARCH, June 2015, Volume 10, issue 6, pp 1003-1008 have been previously cited.
BEHFAR teaches composition comprising purified exosome product and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 2, line 18; page 12, lines 5-22) and thrombin glue
is a suitable excipient that promotes rapid aggregation for filling surgical or fistulizing defects
(page 13, lines 28-29) with the thrombin glue meeting the limitation of surgical glue; the purified
exosome product is spherical or spheroid having diameter of greater than 300 nm (See the whole
document with emphasis on page 1, lines 11-17; page 11, lines 10-11 ). BEHFAR teaches that the diameter of the spheroid is no more than 300 nm(page 11, lines 10 and 11) meeting the requirement of claim 13 that the diameter is no greater than 300 nm; BEHFAR also teaches that the diameter of the spheroid to have diameter of is at least 20 nm, 25 nm, 30 nm, 35 nm, 40 nm, 45 nm, 50 nm, …80 nm (page 11, lines 14-17). Spheroid having a diameter of 20 nm meets the limitation of claim 14 because 110-90 = 20 nm; spheroid having a diameter of 60 nm meets the limitation of claim 15 because 110-50 = 60 nm; spheroid having a diameter of 800 nm meets the limitation of claim 16 because 110-30 = 80 nm. BEHFAR further teaches that the purified exosome product (PEP) comprises 6 x 1011 particles/ml (Fig. 14, page 21, line 9)
which is a specific point within the claimed range of 1 x 1011 to 1 x 1013 thereby meeting the requirement of claim 18. For claim 19, BEHFAR does not teach the PEP to comprise from 1 x 1012 to 1 x 1013 exosomes. However, looking to the teaching of BEHFAR that the PEP is 6 x 1011 particles/ml, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the specimen volume to achieve amount of PEP exosomes within the specified range in the course of routine optimization that would predictably be effective in treating patients in need of treatment. For claim 20, BEHFAR teaches method of preparing the PEP by methods that include cryodesiccation/freezing and thawing (see the whole document with emphasis on at least page 2, lines 3-13); and when stored frozen, the material is thawed under controlled conditions at a rate of from 0.1 oC to 5 oC per minute (page 8, lines 4-5).
For claim 10, it is composition comprising PEP and surgical glue or tissue adhesive applied to an injured peripheral nervous tissue that promotes growth of the peripheral nervous tissue. BEHFAR topically applies therapeutic composition comprising PEP and surgical glue or tissue adhesive namely thrombin glue and hyaluronic acid suitable excipient to promote rapid aggregation for filling surgical or fistulizing defects (page 13, lines 28-29) and treat myocardial infarction (page 15, line 29) --- topical application to intravaginal or intrauterine tissues (page 12, lines 27-28), the myocardium and vaginal and uterine tissues have peripheral nervous tissues. Because it is the application of the exosome composition that results in the promotion of growth, it would be reasonable to expect that the application of the therapeutic composition of BEHFAR comprising PEP and surgical glue to intravaginal and intrauterine tissues would predictably promote growth of the peripheral nervous tissue.
Peripheral nervous tissues are autograft or allograft (see at least the first 4 lines under Results at the left column of page 1004 and Table 1 on page 1005 of Gao). Therefore, for claims 11 and 12, before the effective date of the invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the peripheral nervous tissue would predictably be autograft or allograft tissue.
For claim 17, peripheral nervous cells are part of the peripheral nervous system, and the peripheral nervous cells have axons (see the whole document of Huebner) that are part of the nerve cell carrying impulses away from the cell body (Britannica, Axon | Neurons, Nerve Fibers & Signaling | Britannica). Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably expect that application of the PEP to the peripheral nervous tissue would be application to the axons within the peripheral nervous tissue such that it would be expected to predictably carry impulses to effect the expected result of promoting growth/regeneration.
Therefore, BEHFAR as evidenced by Gao, Huebner and Britannica, Axon | Neurons, Nerve Fibers & Signaling | Britannica) renders claims 10-20 prima facie obvious.
Prior art cited by applicant in 1449:
Mao et al., “Gingiva-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cell-Extracellular Vesicles Activate Schwann Cell Repair Phenotype and Promote Nerve Regeneration” in Tissue Engineering & Regenerative Medicine International Society, Vol. 25, Nos. 11 and 12, 2019 cited by applicant in 1449 filed 03/27/2026, teaches that local application of gingiva-derived mesenchymal stem cell-extracellular vesicles (GMSC EV) effects repair/regeneration/growth of injured peripheral nervous tissue (see the whole document).
No claim is allowed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613