DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species I of Category I, and Species II of Category II in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3, 10-11, 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2023, 05/08/2024, 12/10/2024, 12/23/2024, 05/01/2025 and 07/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the wing region" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected because it depends on the rejected claim 5.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended the claims on 4/11/2021 and introduced a new limitation “a submount” in the independent claims 1 and 17. All the other claims depends on claims 1 and 17. The new limitation is not supported by the provisional application 63/104,580 which the current application claimed the benefit on. Thus, the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be 10/22/2021, which is the filing date of the 371 of PCT/US21/56154.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 12-13, 15, 17-19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gandrothula et al. (WO 2019232230 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gandrothula et al. teach a method of preparing a device (109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph), comprising: providing island-like semiconductor layers (109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph) comprising: one or more epitaxial lateral overgrowth (ELO) layers (105; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph) and device layers (106; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph) on a substrate (101; Fig. 1(a), pg. 18, 4th paragraph); and a connecting link (102 or the interface between 109 and 101; Fig. 1(a), pg. 18, 4th paragraph, pg. 24, 3rd paragraph) between the substrate (101) and the ELO layers (105; Fig. 1(a)); and transferring the ELO layers (105) and device layers (106) to a submount (support substrate; pg. 26, first paragraph) by breaking the connecting link (“break” is interpreted as “to render inoperable” based on the definition 1e of https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/break, the link is broken by removing the connecting link 102 and creating a cleave at the interface between 109 and 101; Fig. 5(b), pg. 21, 3rd paragraph and pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 23, further comprising performing device fabrication (growing 109; see Fig. 5(a)) before breaking the connecting link (separating 109 from substrate 101; pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the connecting link (102) is a non-epitaxial bridge (102 can be Ti, a refractory metal; pg. 28, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the connecting link (the 102) comprises a separation length (the horizontal separation length of the top surface of 102 from the left bottom corner of 106a to the left bottom corner of 106c of the right 109 in Fig. 1(a); see Fig. 1(a) below) between a light emitting aperture (active layer 106a which is inside a hole/space of the layer 109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 29, last paragraph) on the wing region of the ELO layers (the left half of the right 105 in Fig. 1(a)) and an open area of the ELO layers (the middle opening area between two sections of 105; see Fig. 1(a)).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Separation length)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 1(a) of Gandrothula et al. shows the claimed separation length as the horizontal separation length of the top surface of 102 from the left bottom corner of 106a to the left bottom corner of 106c of the right 109 in Fig. 1(a).
Regarding claim 6, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 5, wherein the separation length (the horizontal separation length of the top surface of 102 from the left bottom corner of 106a to the left bottom corner of 106c of the right 109 in Fig. 1(a); see Fig. 1(a) above) at least partially stays on the wing region of the ELO layers (on the bottom surface of the left half of the right 105 in Fig. 1(a); see Fig. 1(a) above).
Regarding claim 7, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the breaking includes fracturing and/or cleaving of the connecting link (cleaving the interface between 109 and 101; pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the connecting link (102) holds the ELO layers (105) and device layers (106) on the substrate (101; see Fig. 1(a)).
Regarding claim 12, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transferring is performed using a pick-and-place method (see Figs. 31-32, pg. 57, the last paragraph – page 59, the first paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transferring is performed selectively (pg. 57, the last paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate (101) is independent of crystal orientations (i.e. different crystal orientations of the substrate can be used; pg. 12, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Gandrothula et al. teach a method of preparing a device (109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph), comprising: providing island-like semiconductor layers (109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph) comprising: one or more epitaxial lateral overgrowth (ELO) layers (105; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, 3rd paragraph) on a substrate (101; Fig. 1(a), pg. 18, 4th paragraph); and a connecting link (102 or the interface between 109 and 101; Fig. 1(a), pg. 18, 4th paragraph, pg. 24, 3rd paragraph) between the substrate (101) and the ELO layers (105; Fig. 1(a)); performing a regrowth of one or more device layers (106; Fig. 1(a), pg. 26, last paragraph) on the ELO layers (105); and transferring the device layers (106) to a submount (support substrate; pg. 26, first paragraph) by breaking the connecting link (“break” is interpreted as “to render inoperable” based on the definition 1e of https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/break, the link is broken by removing the connecting link 102 and creating a cleave at the interface between 109 and 101; Fig. 5(b), pg. 21, 3rd paragraph and pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 17, further comprising fabricating a light emitting aperture (active layer 106a which is inside a hole/space of the layer 109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 29, last paragraph) on a wing region of the ELO layers (the left half of the right 105 in Fig. 1(a)) and device layers (on the bottom of 106b and 106c; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 19, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 18, further comprising performing device fabrication (growing 109; see Fig. 5(a)) before breaking the connecting link (separating 109 from substrate 101; pg. 24, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 23, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising fabricating a light emitting aperture (active layer 106a which is inside a hole/space of the layer 109; Fig. 1(a), pg. 29, last paragraph) on a wing region of the ELO layers (the left half of the right 105 in Fig. 1(a)) and device layers (on the bottom of 106b and 106c; Fig. 1(a), pg. 19, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandrothula et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kamikawa et al. (WO 2020/092722 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Gandrothula et al. teach the method of claim 2, the submount (support substrate).
Gandrothula et al. do not teach the submount has an embedded electrode track pad.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Kamikawa et al. teach the submount (heat sink plate 1505 as a support substrate; Fig. 15(f), pg. 23, first paragraph) has an embedded electrode track pad (Au-Sn solder 1506 formed as a pad; Fig. 15(f), pg. 23, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Gandrothula et al. and Kamikawa et al. and to attach the ELO layers (105) and device layers (106) of Gandrothula et al. to the submount (1505) of Kamikawa et al., because the submount (1505) of Kamikawa et al. can be used to check on the characteristics of the device of Gandrothula et al. as taught by Kamikawa et al. (pg. 25, second paragraph of Kamikawa et al.).
Conclusion
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 4/2/2026