Claims 1, 3-7, 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 recite the limitation "The size of the rovings" in lines 19-20 and 21-22 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0335750.
Adams discloses a cross laid scrim suitable for forming composite materials. The scrim comprises a plurality of layers of unidirectional multifilament bundles which are equated with the claimed rovings, (see paragraph 0033, 0034, 0040) wherein the bundles are spaced apart from each other in each layer to form a gappy structure and wherein the bundles in each layer are parallel to other bundles in that layer and at a different, (non-parallel), angle relative to bundles in other layers. See figure 1. Adams teaches selecting the orientation or angle of each successive layer in order to provide reinforcement in particular directions. See paragraphs 0016 -0018, 0041, 0067.
Adams differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach the particularly claimed spacing or gaps of each layer relative to the other layers.
However, since Adams teaches selectively placing the bundles to provide spaces within each layer and selecting orientation the respective layers to provide angular reinforcement, it would have been obvious to have selected the particular spacing of the bundles within each layer and relative to the other layers which provided the optimum strength to the composite material while maintaining the gappy structure to allow for full impregnation of the composite material. Therefore, while Adams does not teach that the gaps are larger than the size of the bundles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected suitable spacing to allow for full impregnation of the composite material.
With regard to the limitation that the distance between the rovings provides for crimps in the roving, (wherein crimps refers to the undulations produced by one set of spaced unidirectional rovings overlying another set of spaced unidirectional rovings which are oriented in a different direction than the first set of spaced unidirectional rovings), since Adams teaches forming spaced sets of unidirectional bundles or tapes, and then placing another set of spaced unidirectional tapes extending in a different direction over the first set, the same structure which produces the claimed crimps is present in Adams and therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the claimed crimps are necessarily present in Adams and would provide channels as claimed.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0335750 as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Ritti et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0116198.
Adams discloses a composite material as set forth above.
Adams differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose impregnating the structure with a slurry of ceramic particles to form a prepreg or a molded article.
However, Ritti teaches a method of providing a composite material comprising the steps of providing a fibrous reinforcement, placing the fibrous reinforcement in a mold, injection a slurry of ceramic particles under pressure into the mold, removing excess liquid, and forming a prepreg from the molded structure. See paragraphs 0018-0026. The fibrous reinforcement can be a laid fabric. See paragraph 0054.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed the particular gappy scrim of Adams as the laid scrim in Ritti in view of the teaching of Adams that the gappy scrim provides tailorable impregnation and reinforcement to a composite material.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Adams does not disclose the third and fourth plurality of rovings.
However, Adams does teach a plurality of layers and two or more layers, (See paragraph 0057), which at least renders obvious the use of three or four layers.
Applicant argues that Adams does not teach the claimed spacing and does not teach the crimps.
However, since Adams provides the spacing to provide for the infiltration of resin and since the crimps are formed by providing the spacing which is present in Adams, it is reasonable to expect that the crimps would also necessarily be present in Adams.
Applicant argues that Adams does not recognize or solve the problem solved by Applicant. However, it is not necessary that the prior art be seeking to solve the same problem. Additionally, Adams does provide the spacing in order to allow for fuller impregnation of a resin into the layered structure.
Applicant argues that in Adams the gaps refer to gaps between monofilaments in an individual piece of unitape. However, Adams teaches removing fiber tows, (not individual monofilaments), to the gaps. See paragraph 0057. The unitapes of Adams are made up of a plurality of the tows or fiber bundles, wherein the fiber bundles themselves are separated by gaps. See claim 1 of Adams.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789