DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/EP2021/078123, filed on 12 October 2021 (12.10.2021).
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept ("requirement of unity of invention"). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression "special technical features" shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III. Claims 13-22 in the reply filed on May 30, 2025. is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "that have not been established by the Office as failing to make a contribution over the prior art. ". This is not found persuasive because of the common technical feature a first material joined with a second material consisting of strands (Pattinson US 20170165908 A1, herein referred to as Pattinson). Pattinson discloses a first material (Abstract: “(1) printing using a polymer (e.g., cellulose acetate) dissolved in a solvent (e.g., acetone); (2) selectively bonding portions of a deposited filament onto one or more surfaces and/or one or more previously deposited filaments; (3) using particular toolpaths to create a fabric or similar material by creating a woven pattern; and (4) printing across multiple layers even when previous layers are not complete”) joined with a second material consisting of stands (Fig 3b, warp filaments 117a’ and weft filaments 117b [0085]]).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. US 20150018968 A1, herein referred to as Sun.
Regarding claim 13, Sun discloses wherein the medical device is obtained by an additive manufacturing process, according to claim 10, and wherein the medical device comprises at least a first material layer formed by one or more infill material strands; wherein the medical device comprises at least (Fig 1A) one second material layer formed by one or more infill material strands building on the first material layer (Fig 1A-1E); and wherein the first and/or second material layer is or are each formed exclusively by the one or more infill material strands (“infill” as defined in [0018] of the instant application as “An infill material strand (also called infill web) is understood to be a material in strand form that is melted and extruded by an extrusion head (of the additive manufacturing device) in a continuous or timed manner, which is applied material layer by material layer and thus additively forms the component”; Sun teaches independent depositing of infill layers see [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun discloses a medical device, wherein the medical device is obtained by an additive manufacturing process, according to claim 10, and wherein the medical device comprises at least a first material layer formed by one or more infill material strands (Fig 3, [0040] and [0063]); wherein the medical device comprises at least one second material layer formed by one or more infill material strands building on the first material layer (Fig 3, [0040] and [0063]); and wherein the first and/or second material layer is or are each formed exclusively by the one or more infill material strands (Fig 3, [0040] and [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun discloses, wherein the second material layer in the formed state has at least one second outer circumferential surface which externally bounds the second material layer (Fig 3), wherein at least the second outer circumferential surface is surface-treated [0053].
Regarding claim 16, Sun discloses the medical device according to claim 14, wherein the first and/or second outer peripheral surface comprises an etch [0012].
Regarding claim 17, Sun discloses the medical device according to claim 16, wherein the first and/or second outer peripheral surface has a coating (Figs 3 and 4, Sun teaches using coating in a plurality of layers see [0021] & [0066].
Regarding claim 18, Sun discloses wherein the first material layer and/or the second material layer each has a layer thickness in a range from about 0.05 mm to about 0.5 mm (Sun teaches a “1200 Dalton” layer, approximately 0.03 mm [0081]. While Sun does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are within the ranges taught by Sun).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the one or more infill material strands of the first material layer and/or the second material layer each has or have a strand thickness in a range of about 0.1 mm to about 1 mm ([0084] “100 microns” While Sun does not teaches the specific range, the claimed ranges are within the ranges taught by Sun).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the one or more infill material strands of the first material layer and the second material layer is or are each straight (Fig 4) and/or curved (Fig 1E, curved terminals).
Regarding claim 21, the medical device according to claim 13, wherein the first material layer and the second material layer each comprise at least one medically compatible plastic and/or at least one plastic that is absorbable by the human or animal body ([0055] and [0050] “acrylamide-based polymers”.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the first material layer is formed exclusively by the one or more infill material strands ([0062] teaches independent nozzles for independent layering) and wherein the second material layer, when formed, has at least one second outer peripheral surface which externally bounds the second material layer , wherein one or more perimeter material strands are formed along the second outer peripheral surface ([0058] when used in culture as taught by Sun the second layer’s perimeter will bind to adjacent tissues).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799