DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10 and 17-22) in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claim 11-13 and 23) is withdrawn from consideration. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In this case, the present title is too long. See MPEP 606.01.
The following tittle is suggested:
--Capsule for preparation a beverage and method--
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
In the present applicant, no Drawing has been provided to facilitate understanding of the invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1: phrase "wherein the capsule is configured such that it dissolves in in particular hot water" as cited in lines 7-8, should be changed to --wherein the capsule is configured to dissolve in hot water--.
In claim 7: limitations "the binder" as cited in line 2, should be changed to --a binder--.
In claim 17: limitations "a beverage preparation machine" and “a capsule” as cited in lines 1-2, should be changed to --the beverage preparation machine-- and --the capsule--.
In claim 19: limitations "a beverage " as cited in line 1, should be changed to --the beverage--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lach et al. (US 20190177079 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lach discloses
A capsule (capsule 1A, fig.1) for preparing a beverage in a beverage preparation machine [abstract cited: “…capsule for the preparation of a beverage in a beverage machine…”] comprising a compact (beverage precursor 3, fig.1) wherein the compact (beverage precursor 3) consists of a material selected from the group consisting of instant coffee, instant tea, soluble coffee substitute extract, cocoa, drinking chocolate, milk powder, vegan milk substitute powder, dry soup, protein powder, fillers, food supplements and combinations thereof [Par.0038 cited: “…precursor can be green coffee, soluble (instant) coffee, cocoa or chocolate powder, whitener or milk powder, soja, flavourings and combinations thereof…”], wherein the capsule (capsule 1A) is configured to dissolve in hot water [Par.0108 cited: “…For preparing a beverage, liquid in particular hot water is supplied in the capsule thereby interacting with the beverage precursor …”].
Regarding claim 3, Lach discloses
the compact (beverage precursor 3, fig.1) has a shape selected from the group consisting of sphere, ellipsoid, cube, cuboid, cylinder, prism, cone, truncated cone, pyramid, truncated pyramid, torus, tetrahedron, octahedron, dodecahedron, icosahedron, and coffee bean [beverage precursor 3, fig.1, with pellets 4 has a shape of cylinder].
Regarding claim 8, Lach discloses
the milk powder (milk powder, Par.0038) is selected from the group consisting of skim milk powder, whole milk powder, vegan milk substitute powders, or a combination thereof (intended use).
Regarding claim 10, Lach discloses
the compact (beverage precursor 3, fig.1) is homogeneously formed throughout [beverage precursor 3, fig.1, can be homogeneously formed throughout].
Regarding claim 17, Lach discloses
A beverage preparation system (system, fig.7) comprising the beverage preparation machine (beverage machine, abstract) and the capsule (capsule 1A, fig.1), wherein the beverage preparation machine (beverage machine, abstract) comprises a brewing chamber (capsule cage 13, fig.2) for receiving, enclosing and dissolving the capsule (capsule 1A).
Regarding claim 18, Lach discloses
the dissolution of the capsule (capsule 1A, fig.1) in the brewing chamber (capsule cage 13, fig.2) takes place under the influence of hot water [Par.0108 cited: “…For preparing a beverage, liquid in particular hot water is supplied in the capsule thereby interacting with the beverage precursor …”] or hot milk.
Regarding claim 19, Lach discloses
the capsule (capsule 1A, fig.1) for preparing a beverage comprising a shell (side wall 8, fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 9, 12, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lach et al. (US 20190177079 A1).
Regarding claim 4, 7, 9, 12, and 20-23, Lach discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, such as a compact (beverage precursor 3, fig.1) and a capsule (capsule 1A, fig.1).
However, Lach does not disclose the compact has a breaking strength of at least 10 N; the capsule has a weight between 4 g and 15 g; the capsule has a largest diameter between 10 mm and 50 mm; the compact comprises more than 50% by weight binder; the milk powder is a binder; the compact consists of 80% by weight milk powder and 20% by weight instant coffee; compacting the material is performed at a compression pressure in the range of 1-100 MPa; the compact has a breaking strength of at least 20 N; the compact has a breaking strength of at least 30 N; the capsule has a largest diameter between 20 and 35 mm; and/or the compacting is performed at a compression in the range of 5-50 MPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify an invention of Lach, with the compact has a breaking strength of at least 10 N; the capsule has a weight between 4 g and 15 g1; the capsule has a largest diameter between 10 mm and 50 mm; the compact comprises more than 50% by weight binder; the milk powder is the binder; the compact consists of 80% by weight milk powder and 20% by weight instant coffee; compacting the material is performed at a compression pressure in the range of 1-100 MPa; the compact has a breaking strength of at least 20 N; the compact has a breaking strength of at least 30 N; the capsule has a largest diameter between 20 and 35 mm; and/or the compacting is performed at a compression in the range of 5-50 MPa2, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose, in order suitable for the user application.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
03/08/2026
1 See US20200000266 A1, Par.0031
2 See US20200369461 A1, Par.0069