Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0184643 to Coudray et al, hereinafter referred to as “Coudray” in view of US 2020/0105413 to Vladimirova et al, hereinafter referred to as “Vladimirova.”
As per claim 1, Coudray discloses an information processing system in Figure 5 comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire a pathologic tissue image of a patient having a target disease (lung cancer [0006]); a division unit configured to divide the pathologic tissue image of the patient into a plurality of region images (“tiling” [0008]); a feature prediction unit configured to input each of the plurality of region images (tiles in Coudray) to each of a plurality of feature prediction models constructed one-to-one for types of histopathological features (see Fig 5, “lung cancer classification”), to acquire prediction information on presence or absence of the histopathological features (See again Fig 5, “LUSC/Normal/LUAD features predicted); a sorting unit configured to sort a plurality of region images of which respective combinations of presence or absence of the histopathological features based on the acquisition match a previously set combination of presence or absence of the histopathological features at time of sorting (See again Fig 5 “Filter out LUSC/Normal tiles”); a gene mutation prediction unit configured to input each of the plurality of region images selected by the sorting to each of gene mutation prediction models constructed one-to-one for types of gene mutations, the gene mutation prediction models each having a combination of presence or absence of the histopathological features, to acquire prediction information on presence or absence of the gene mutations (see [0017]); and a prediction result output unit configured to output (a display [0063]), with the prediction information on presence or absence of the gene mutations acquired for each region image, a prediction result of presence or absence of at least one gene mutation in the patient (the display displays the prediction).
Coudray fails to disclose the one-to-one prediction models for both the feature prediction and gene mutation prediction models.
On the other hand, Vladimirova, in the same field of endeavor as Coudray, discloses an image analysis method for ovarian cancer that employs multiple stages of different machine learning models, with each machine learning model tailored to recognize a specific pathological feature (see [0043]-[0045] “first stage model 452”, “second stage model 454” and “third stage model 456”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Coudray with multiple machine models tailored to recognize specific pathological features in tissue images as taught by Vladimirova as doing this would have increased the accuracy of the various predictions (recognitions) since each machine model would be specifically trained to recognize unique features in the image.
As per claims 3 and 6, Vladimirova at [0043]-[0046] discloses the use of multiple machine learning models trained to recognize different histopathological features of the biopsy image. The use of individual machine learning models tailored for specific prediction of various gene mutations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as tailoring and training a machine model to the specific cancer being diagnosed (e.g. lung, ovarian, colon, breast, etc.) would increase the accuracy of the prediction for that particular form of cancer.
As per claims 4, 8, 10-16, the specific mention of colorectal cancer and the various gene mutations in a tumor would have been obvious in light of the teachings in Coudray of lung cancer, skin cancer (Coudray [0033]) as well as Vladimirova disclosing ovarian cancer and “other disease areas and for other clinical hypotheses.” (Vladimirova [0003]).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected, mutatis mutandis, for reasoning similar to claim 1 above. As per the computer readable medium storing a program, Coudray teaches this at [0062].
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray in view of Vladimirova as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 6-16 above, and further in view of the article “H&E-stained Whole Slide Image Deep Learning Predicts SPOP Mutation State in Prostate Cancer” to Schaumberg et al, hereinafter referred to as “Schaumberg.”
As per claims 2 and 5, Coudray discloses in Figure 5 the sorting of segmented images (tiles) into different lung cancer classifications and subsequently filters out normal cell tiles. Coudray in view of Vladimirova fail to disclose the acquisition unit further acquires a primary lesion site of the target disease, and the sorting unit sorts the plurality of region images, with the acquired primary lesion site of the target disease together with combinations of presence or absence of the histopathological features based on the acquisition.
Schaumberg, in the same field of endeavor as Coudray and Vladimirova (image analysis of slides containing biological tissue), discloses on page 6, under the “Independent evaluation” section that the patches (tiles) of sub-images containing localized lesions are sorted and weighted with respect to the predicted mutation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the classification of histopathological features provided by the combination of Coudray and Schaumberg with the additional ability to also recognize (classify) localized lesion sites in the segmented tiles. The rationale being that doing so would augment the identification and accuracy of the mutations if present in the tissue sample imaged since lesion sites are well known to contain possible gene mutations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2018/207261A1 is exemplary of the state of the art in pathological tissue analysis that employs image recognition in tissue samples in order to obtain cell classifications via machine learning (neural networks).
DAVID OMETZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2672
/DAVID OMETZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672