Claim Status
Claims 1-6 and 9 are pending with claims 1-6 and 9 being examined. Claims 7-8 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2026 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/22/2026, along with the amendments have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The 101 rejection stands.
As to the arguments and remarks, the Examiner has found Applicants arguments not persuasive. The rejection has been modified in accord with the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The instant rejection reflects the Guidance published in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidelines (Vol. 84, No. 4, Monday January 7, 2019 at 50) and the October 2019 Updated Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter both referred to as the “Guidance”).
Framework with which to Evaluate Subject Matter Eligibility:
(1) Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter;
(2A) Are the claims directed to a judicially recognized exception, i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (Prong One); If the claims are directed to a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application (Prong Two); and
(2B) If the claims are directed to a judicial exception and do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept.
Framework Analysis as Pertains to the Instant Claims:
With regard to (1), the instant claims recite an “automatic determination system comprising a storage unit configured to store result of detection image information, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table, the information storage unit configured to store analyte information, wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other, wherein the result of determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination, and the result of detection image information is scantron information, and the information storage unit is configured to acquire either or both the analyte information and the test result of detection image information”, and therefore the answer is "yes".
With regard to (2A), Prong One, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the instant claims recite claim steps directed to the judicial exception that is an abstract idea of the type that is in the grouping of “mental process” or “mathematical concepts” (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III)) because said operations could be performed in the mind. Mental operations and mathematical concepts in the instant claims are recited as: “a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination”.
In summary, the claim(s) recite(s) automatic determination system comprising a storage unit configured to store result of detection image information, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table, the information storage unit configured to store analyte information, wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other, wherein the result of determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination, and the result of detection image information is scantron information, and the information storage unit is configured to acquire either or both the analyte information and the test result of detection image information” which is a step that can be performed using a computer which uses mathematical algorithms/formulas as a form of an abstract idea, and the data gathering can be performed in the mind. .
Said recited judicial exception steps are directed to marking entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip, analyzing information against a data table and producing results in scantron information, which under the BRI, cover performance of the limitations in the mind and mathematical concepts, as said steps under said interpretation would involve a making a mental comparison and mental correlation or mathematical correlation. Thus, if a claim, under its BRI, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer elements, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)).
Because the claims are directed to abstract ideas, they must further be analyzed under Prong Two to determine if said judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application as determined by further assessment of the “additional steps” recited in the claims. With respect to Prong Two, the additional elements and the rationale pertaining to why the additional elements are not integrated, are as follows:
(a) The claims recite mathematical process (judicial exception) which are not integrated into a practical application because the system describes storing results of detection image information, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table, store analyte information, store analyte information and acquire either or both the analyte information and the test result of detection image information, wherein the result of detection image information is scantron information” In summary, the claim(s) recite(s) an information unit configured to store results of detection image information, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table, store analyte information, store analyte information and acquire either or both the analyte information and the test result of detection image information, wherein the result of detection image information is scantron, a mathematical process, but the automatic determination system does not describe a resultant action/step that is taken by applying the linked determination of the information stored, and therefore the method does not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea;
(b) Although the claims recite a storage unit configured to store the result of detection image, analyte information in association with the result of detection image information, the result of determination derived by the result of determination deriving unit in association with the analyte information and the result of detection image information, and acquire either or both of the analyte information and the result of detection image information, the claims do not apply the exception, as the claim does not transform the automatic determination system to a different state or thing beyond its ordinary purpose (See MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(c));
(c) A storage unit (or memory) is recited at a high level of generality (as a generic and well-known structure), a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information, such that it is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer/diagnostic system (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) and MPEP 2106.05(d));
(d) The claims include storing information in the memory, which is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., generic computer and processor performing generic computer functions) such that the recitations amount to no more than instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on said generic computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As such, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Because the claims fail under (2A), the claims are further evaluated under (2B). The claims herein do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under (2B) because, as discussed above with regard to integration of the recited abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements herein amount to no more than an automatic determination system that includes generic computer elements (memory) for collecting data, storing the data and comparing the results, which do not provide an inventive concept as a generic diagnostic system with a computer is well-understood, routine and conventional.
Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because (1) the memory and automatic determination system are being used in their ordinary capacity and are merely tools to execute the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(d)), (2) the additional claim elements of determining and linking (compare results against a data table) information, whether considered individually or as a whole, do not meaningfully limit the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(e)), (3) the claims recite insignificant extra-solution activity because the activity of using an automatic determination system to link/store information is not inventive since all automated diagnostic systems have memory that are used to control the processing (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the features represent an abstract idea. Dependent claims 2-6 and 9 amount to no more than determining information, linking information and comparing results, which is an intangible abstract idea or mathematical concept, and similarly does not integrate the exception into a practical application or include additional elements that amount to significantly more. The instant claims do not include an inventive concept.
Thus, in light of the above considerations the claims remain non-statutory, and are thus not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 1: Claims 1-6 and 9 are directed towards an automatic determination system.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim 1 recites the abstract idea, “information storage unit configured to store result of detection image information…”, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to store the results of detection image information, and check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table.
Claim 2 recites the abstract idea, “information storage unit configured to store analyte information…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to store analyte information.
Claim 3 recites the abstract idea “information storage unit configured to store analyte information…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to store analyte information.
Claim 4 recites the abstract idea “the result of detection image information is scantron information…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to provide results in scantron information.
Claim 5 recites the abstract idea “information storage unit configured to acquire either or both the analyte information and the result of detection image information…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to store either or both the analyte information and the result of detection image information.
Claim 9 recites the abstract idea “determine a position and an orientation of the chromatographic strip support tool in the single captured image based on the plurality of alignment markers…”, “specify a location of the mark entry region based on the determined position and orientation…”, “check the image of the determination mark located within the mark entry region…” Abstract human reasoning or a generic computer is required to store either or both the analyte information and the result of detection image information.
Step 2A, Prong Two: These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because upon evaluating the automatic determination system comprising an information storage unit and a result of determination deriving unit, nothing further is performed with the abstract evaluation.
Step 2B: Claim 1 recites the elements “store results of detection image information…, check an image included in the result of detection image information against a data table…”
Claim 2 recites the element “store analyte information in association with result of detection image information…”
Claim 3 recites “store the result of determination derived by the result of determination deriving unit…”
Claim 4 recites “the result of detection image information is scantron information…”
Claim 5 recites “acquire either or both the analyte information and the result of detection image information …”
Claim 9 recites “determine a position and an orientation of the chromatographic strip support tool in the single captured image based on the plurality of alignment markers…”, “specify a location of the mark entry region based on the determined position and orientation…”, “check the image of the determination mark located within the mark entry region…”.
These elements are interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process and are mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erikson (US 20160080548 A1; hereinafter “Erikson” already of record) in view of Nipro (JP 6492501 B2; hereinafter “Nipro”).
Regarding claim 1, Erikson teaches an automatic determination system (Erikson; [0018]), comprising:
an information storage unit (Erikson; fig. 8A. 2000) configured to store result-of-detection image information acquired from a chromatographic strip support tool (Erikson; fig.16A. 1604) carrying the result-of-detection image information (Erikson; [0082] “smartphone acquires an image of at least a portion of the test strip and stores the image), the result of detection image information representing transcribed information regarding expression information obtained on a chromatographic strip that has been through testing (Erikson; Abstract); and
a result-of-determination deriving unit configured to check an image included in the result-of-detection image information against a data table, and derive a result of determination included in the data table and corresponding to the image (Erikson; fig. 6 and [0112]-[0113]),
wherein the chromatographic strip support tool separately comprises:
a test strip holding region configured to hold the chromatographic strip (Erikson; fig. 16A. 1604).
Erikson fails to teach the chromatographic strip support tool separately comprises a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip; wherein the result-of-detection image information consists of a single captured image encompassing both (i) analyte identification code information provided on the chromatographic strip support tool, and (ii) image information of the determination mark acquired by capturing an image of the mark entry region, the image information representing the transcribed information; wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other; and wherein the result-of-determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination.
However, Nipro teaches the analogous art of a determination apparatus (Nipro; [Title]) that includes a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip (Nipro; [0040] “the person performing the examination can tap imaging icon 32 while viewing the real time image…”); wherein the result-of-detection image information consists of a single captured image encompassing both (i) analyte identification code information provided on the chromatographic strip support tool (Nipro; [0029]-[0030]), and (ii) image information of the determination mark acquired by capturing an image of the mark entry region (Nipro; [0040] “When the imaging icon is tapped, the control unit detects the tap and acquires the imaging data”), the image information representing the transcribed information (Nipro; [0042]-[0044]); wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information (Nipro; [0042]-[0043] “control unit acquired captured image and extracts the test specimen region”) and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other and wherein the result-of-determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position (Nipro; [0043] “control unit refers marker patter information and reads from the storage unit”) or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination (Nipro; [0043]-[0044]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Erikson’s chromatographic strip support tool to separately comprise a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip; wherein the result-of-detection image information consists of a single captured image encompassing both (i) analyte identification code information provided on the chromatographic strip support tool, and (ii) image information of the determination mark acquired by capturing an image of the mark entry region, the image information representing the transcribed information; wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other; and wherein the result-of-determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination as taught by Nipro because Nipro teaches a determination apparatus (Nipro; [Title]) that includes a mark entry region in which a determination mark is entered by a user based on the expression information on the chromatographic strip (Nipro; [0040] “the person performing the examination can tap imaging icon 32 while viewing the real time image…”); wherein the result-of-detection image information consists of a single captured image encompassing both (i) analyte identification code information provided on the chromatographic strip support tool (Nipro; [0029]-[0030]), and (ii) image information of the determination mark acquired by capturing an image of the mark entry region (Nipro; [0040] “When the imaging icon is tapped, the control unit detects the tap and acquires the imaging data”), the image information representing the transcribed information (Nipro; [0042]-[0044]); wherein the information storage unit is configured to extract the analyte identification code information (Nipro; [0042]-[0043] “control unit acquired captured image and extracts the test specimen region”) and the determination mark from the single captured image, and store the analyte identification code information and the determination mark in association with each other and wherein the result-of-determination deriving unit is configured to specify an entry position (Nipro; [0043] “control unit refers marker patter information and reads from the storage unit”) or a shape of the determination mark from the image information, and check the entry position or the shape against the data table to derive the result of determination (Nipro; [0043]-[0044]).
The modification allows a user to obtain results, information on the pattern of markers to identify the type of test specimen, and based on the data, enter information that the control unit refers to when executing processing Nipro; [0030], [0032] [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Erikson teaches the automatic determination system according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the information storage unit is configured to store analyte information in association with the result-of-detection image information (Erikson; Abstract), the analyte information being acquired from the chromatographic strip support tool (Erikson; fig. 5A, and 8A. 1000) further carrying the analyte information, the analyte information being regarding an analyte supplied to the chromatographic strip (Erikson; Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, modified Erikson teaches the automatic determination system according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the information storage unit is configured to store the result of determination derived by the result-of-determination deriving unit in association with the analyte information and the result-of-detection image information (Erikson; [0019] “the smartphone is capable of running a program suited for executing the embodied functionality” such as storing results (Erikson; Abstract). Erikson also teaches a detector that displays the determined selected quantitative indicia of the analyte on the smartphone (Erikson; [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Erikson teaches the automatic determination system according to claim 2 (see above),wherein the analyte information is code information, and the result-of- detection image information is scantron information (Erikson; [0137] teaches the smartphone collects the sample information and display results on the smartphone screen for immediate use).
It is known in the art that smartphones can read and display information in barcode and QR code formats and can also read and display scantron information.
Regarding claim 5, modified Erikson teaches the automatic determination system according to claim 2 (see above), further comprising: an information acquiring unit configured to acquire either or both of the analyte information and the result-of-detection image information (Erikson; [0173] “smartphone obtains analyte data”, and [0174] “Camera that interprets the results”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Erikson teaches the automatic determination system according to claim 5 (see above), wherein the information acquiring unit is an image capturing unit (Erikson; [0173] “camera”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In addition to the remarks of record, the instant claims define over the prior art because the cited prior art does not teach or fairly suggest an automatic determination system , wherein the chromatographic strip support tool has a support surface comprising a plurality of alignment markers provided ate predetermined positions, and t he mark entry region arranged in a predetermined geometric relationship with the plurality of alignment markers; and
wherein the result-of-determination deriving unit is configured to (i) determine a position and orientation of the chromatographic strip support tool in the single captured image based on the plurality of alignment markers, (ii) specify a location of the mark entry region based on the determined position and orientation, and (iii) check the image of the determination mark located within the mark entry region recited in claim 9, and there is no motivation to modify Erikson to provide these structures.
Response to Remarks
As to the remarks and arguments filed on 04/22/2026 in view of Erikson have been fully considered and are not persuasive and will be addressed below.
With respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection. Applicant’s arguments have been considered and the rejection has been modified to address the issues.
With respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection in view of Erikson.
Applicant argues Erikson does not teach providing a separate mark entry region on a support tool for use as a transcribe mark, nor does Erikson teach a user entering a determination mark.
Examiner disagrees. Nipro teaches a separate mark entry region on a support tool for use as a transcribe mark, nor does Erikson teach a user entering a determination mark.
Applicant also argues Erikson does not teach capturing a single image file that simultaneously captures an analyte code from a support tool along with a physically transcribed user determination mark.
Examiner disagrees. Nipro teaches capturing a single image file that simultaneously captures an analyte code from a support tool along with a physically transcribed user determination mark.
Applicant further argues Erikson does not teach extracting and associating these two distinct elements from a single unified captured image.
Examiner disagrees. Nipro teaches extracting and associating these two distinct elements from a single unified captured image.
Applicant argues Erikson fails to teach a physical entry position or shape of a human-transcribed mark to derive a result.
Examiner disagrees. Nipro teaches a user enter a position or shape of a transcribed mark to derive a result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798 /P. Kathryn Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798