DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/12/2023, 7/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims received on 4/12/2023 is acceptable and made of record in accordance with MPEP 714.01 (e). Applicant’s statement of “no new matter entered” is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 (preliminary amendments) are pending. Claims 1-10 are presented for prosecution below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the power supply antenna" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second communication antenna" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second communication unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leabman US 20180241255.
Regarding claim 1, Leabman discloses a power supply control system that supplies power to an electronic device, the power supply control system comprising:
the electronic device [Fig. 1 (see reproduced), electronic device 122a] including a battery [battery 130] that drives the electronic device [par. 0152. See also Fig. 34 which is similar to Fig. 1, electronic device 3400, par. 0069],
a power receiving antenna [antenna 124] that acquires a radio wave for transmitting power to the electronic device [pars. 0148, 0153],
a conversion unit [Fig. 1, power converter 126] that converts the radio wave received by the power receiving antenna to power [par. 0153], and
a charging unit that charges the battery [battery 130] with the power converted by the conversion unit [pars. 0149, 0154, 0155]; and
a power supply control unit [Fig. 1, processor 140 + processor 104] that controls a condition for transmitting the power to the power receiving antenna [antenna 124, par. 0148] so that the electronic device operates without interruption [pars. 0149, 0162, 0165, 0167. Pars. 0700 (Fig. 34)].
Regarding claim 2, Leabman discloses the power supply control system of claim 1, further comprising: a receiver; wherein the electronic device includes: a first communication antenna [receiver sensors 128] that transmits and receives a radio wave for communication with the receiver [par. 0141], and a first communication unit [Fig. 1, 144] that communicates with the receiver by the radio wave transmitted and received by the first communication antenna; the receiver includes: a power supply antenna that sends a radio wave for power transmission to the electronic device, a second communication antenna that transmits and receives a radio wave for communication with the electronic device, and a second communication unit that communicates with the electronic device by the radio wave transmitted and received by the second communication antenna; and the power supply control unit controls the condition for transmitting the power to the power receiving antenna based on information about the electronic device contained in the communication by the second communication unit [Fig. 1, par. 0165. Fig. 34, par. 0700].
Regarding claim 3, Leabman discloses the power supply control system of claim 2, wherein the electronic device further includes a battery level detector that detects a remaining level of the battery, the first communication unit sends the remaining level of the battery detected by the battery level detector to the receiver, the second communication unit acquires the remaining level of the battery from the electronic device, and the power supply control unit controls at least one of an interval or output of the power supply by the radio wave that transmits the power based on the remaining level of the battery acquired by the second communication unit [pars. 0165, 0166].
Regarding claim 4, Leabman discloses the power supply control system of claim 2, wherein the receiver further includes an operation control unit that controls when to achieve the communication by the second communication unit and when to supply the power by the power supply control unit [pars. 0147, 0158].
Regarding claim 5, Leabman discloses the power supply control system of claim 4, wherein the operation control unit performs control so that the second communication unit starts the communication at regular intervals and the power supply control unit sends the radio wave for the power transmission in a free period after the end of the communication and before the start of the next communication [see abstract. At least initially, first communication is established then power is sent. Pars. 0274, 0547, 0554].
Regarding claim 6, Leabman discloses a control system, comprising: the power supply control system of claim 2; a machine tool [par. 0241, cordless power tool]; and a numerical controller [e.g. internal tool controller + processor 104 + processor 140; par. 0241 cordless power tool] that performs numerical control of the machine tool, wherein the electronic device is provided in the machine tool [par. 0242].
Regarding claim 7, Leabman discloses the control system of claim 6, wherein the numerical controller generates control information [e.g. internal tool controller + processor 104 + processor 140; par. 0241 cordless power tool] including when to charge the battery of the electronic device [pars. 00243, 244].
Regarding claim 8, Leabman discloses the control system of claim 6, wherein the numerical controller generates control information including an instruction to move the electronic device to an area with high charging efficiency [par. 0263].
Regarding claim 9, Leabman discloses the control system of claim 6, wherein the numerical controller generates control information including an instruction to move the power supply antenna to an area with high power supply efficiency [par. 0261].
Regarding claim 10, Leabman discloses the control system of claim 6, wherein the power supply antenna and the second communication antenna are components separated from the power supply control unit and the second communication unit, and at least the power supply antenna is provided inside a housing of the machine tool, and at least the power supply control unit and the second communication unit are provided outside the housing of the machine tool [Fig. 1, pars. 0165, 0242. Fig. 34, pars. 0699, 0700].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 103765728 and CN 105743137 are cited for disclosing an energy transmitter and receiver, comprising: a power transmission coil configured to transmit wireless power transmitted to the power receiver, detecting configured to detect foreign matter; and a power storage part, configured to during the detection of the foreign matter, the power supply to the detecting part, wherein the detecting part is configured to measure the quality factor to determine whether the foreign matter in the range of the power transmission coil. However, neither ‘728 or ‘137 discloses the allowable matter as recited above.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859