DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/23/2026. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claim 15 is canceled by the applicant.
4. Applicant arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20220014872) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner thoroughly reviewed Applicant’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited reference reasonably and properly meets the claimed limitation as rejected.
Applicant’s argument: As described in the Specification, such reporting, based on what is within a configuration, can solve issues that "rely on positioning services which could be unavailable due to privacy or regulation restrictions" (Specification, paragraph [0054]), such as by defining the content to be included in ranging information and indicating triggering conditions for reporting the ranging information (Specification, paragraph [0061]). Balasubramanian does not disclose such features.
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument above. The signaling exchange 610 in figure 6 of Balasubramanian shows one or more P-UEs may exchange ranging and/or positioning measurements with one or more V-UEs over a sidelink. In paragraph 0073, Balasubramanian teaches “a V-UE may initiate a positioning request with a P-UE over the sidelink, or the P-UE may initiate the positioning request with the V-UE. The V-UE and the P-UE may exchange respective positioning capabilities, and may perform a ranging and/or positioning measurement session according to the respective positioning capabilities. For example, in some aspects, a V-UE may transmit one or more PRSs to the P-UE to enable the P-UE to measure one or more ranging parameters.”
In paragraph 0079, Balasubramanian teaches “As shown in FIG. 7A, and by reference number 710, the P-UE may exchange ranging request and response messages with one or more V-UEs over a sidelink. For example, in some aspects, the P-UE may transmit a ranging request message to a V-UE, or a V-UE may transmit a ranging request message to the P-UE, to initiate a ranging and/or positioning measurement session. In some aspects, the ranging request message may indicate positioning capabilities associated with the initiating device. Furthermore, a ranging request response message may indicate whether a responding device (e.g., the P-UE or a V-UE) is able to participate in a ranging and/or positioning measurement session, and may further indicate positioning capabilities associated with the responding device in cases where the responding device is able to participate in a ranging and/or positioning measurement session. For example, in some aspects, the positioning capabilities may be used to configure one or more PRSs that are transmitted over the sidelink to enable the V-UE to range the P-UE, and to enable the P-UE to obtain ranging measurements that can be provided to the network node to determine the estimated position of the P-UE.” Applicants are remained that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claim. So the Examiner considers “positioning capabilities” to be “configuration indicates content” within the broad meaning of the term. The Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition, which is not specifically set forth in the claims. In re Tanaka et al., 193 USPQ 139, (CCPA) 1977.
In paragraph 0087, Balasubramanian teaches “the position request transmitted by the P-UE may configure one or more event triggers that define conditions in which the network node is to report the estimated position of the P-UE and/or one or more V-UEs to the P-UE. Additionally, or alternatively, as described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 7D, the position request transmitted by the P-UE may configure a periodic interval for reporting position information such that the network node is to report the estimated position of the P-UE and/or one or more V-UEs to the P-UE after the periodic interval expires.” In paragraph 0088, Balasubramanian teaches “the position estimate(s) may be transmitted to the P-UE based at least in part on the network node detecting an occurrence of one or more triggering events.” In paragraph 0091, Balasubramanian teaches “the P-UE may transmit, to the network node, a positioning request that configures one or more triggering events that define conditions for reporting positioning information to the P-UE. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 762, the network node may transmit, to the P-UE, an estimated position of the P-UE and/or one or more V-UEs based at least in part on detecting an occurrence of the one or more triggering events”. Also see, par 0076, 0082, 0092, 0109-0112, 0127-0130.
Thus, Balasubramanian does teach “wherein the configuration identifies content to be included in the ranging information and indicates a first triggering condition for reporting the ranging information; and report the ranging information according to the configuration and in response to an occurrence of one or more events associated with the first triggering condition” as recited in claim 1 and similarly in claims 9 and 16.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20220014872) (hereinafter BALASUBRAMANIAN).
Regarding claims 1 and 16:
As shown in figure 1-11, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses an apparatus (110 see figure 2) for wireless communication (see figures 1-2), comprising:
at least one memory (242 in figure 2); and
at least one processor (240 in figure 2) coupled with the at least one memory (242 in figure 2) and configured to cause the apparatus to (par 0048-0049):
obtain (710 in figure 7A), at a first user equipment (UE) (V-UE in figure 7A), a configuration associated with ranging information (par 0079-0088),
wherein the configuration identifies content (positioning capabilities interpreted to be configuration indicates content. See par 0079) to be included in the ranging information (abstract, par 0079-0088) and indicates a first triggering condition for reporting the ranging information (par 0076, 0082, 0087-0088, also see examiner’s response above); and
report (710 in figure 7A) the ranging information according to the configuration (par 0079-0088) and in response to an occurrence of one or more events associated with the first triggering condition (par 0076, 0082, 0087-0088, also see examiner’s response above).
Regarding claim 9:
As shown in figure 1-11, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses an apparatus (110 see figure 2) for wireless communication (see figures 1-2), comprising:
at least one memory (242 in figure 2); and
at least one processor (240 in figure 2) coupled with the at least one memory (242 in figure 2) and configured to cause the apparatus to (par 0048-0049):
transmit (710 in figure 7A), to a first user equipment (UE) (P-UE in figure 7A), a configuration for ranging information (abstract, par 0079-0088),
wherein the configuration identifies content (positioning capabilities interpreted to be configuration indicates content. See par 0079) included in the ranging information (par 0079-0088) and indicates a first triggering condition for reporting the ranging information (par 0076, 0082, 0087-0088, also see examiner’s response above); and
receiving (710 in figure 7A) the ranging information according to the configuration (par 0079-0088).
Regarding claims 2 and 17:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the configuration is obtained by at least one of:
a parameter set preconfigured in the first UE (abstract, par 0080);
system information or a dedicated signaling from a base station (BS) (see base station 110 and access link in figure 4); and
system information or a dedicated signaling from a second UE different from the first UE (see two different UEs and sidelink (SL) in figure 4).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 18:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the configuration further comprises at least one of:
a maximum number of second UEs whose ranging information can be reported (figure 7A shows plurality of V-UEs (maximum number of UEs) whose ranging information can be reported);
an indication for reporting the ranging information (par 0079); and
a destination to which the ranging information is reported (figure 7A shows LMF as a destination to which the ranging information is reported).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 20:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the first triggering condition for reporting the ranging information (760 in figure 7C, par 0091) comprises one or more events including:
1) an estimated distance between the first UE and the second UE that is smaller than or larger than a first threshold (figure 6 shows an estimated distance between the first UE and the second UE is smaller than a first threshold) (par 0082, 0092);
2) a measurement result of a reference signal from the second UE that is smaller than or larger than a second threshold (see distance threshold in par 0092);
3) a transmission delay between the first UE and the second UE that is smaller than or larger than a third threshold (see RTT measurement in par 0080);
4) the second UE bearing the same area ID as the first UE or bearing a neighboring area ID of the first UE (par 0083);
5) the second UE is disclosed by a discovery procedure for a short-range connection;
6) an event lasts for a duration of time (figure 6 shows second UE is disclosed by a discovery procedure for a short-range connection);
7) an event lasts occurs a first number of times (par 0088); and
8) an event lasts occurs a second number of times in a period of time (par 0088);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: reporting the ranging information in response to the first triggering condition is fulfilled (par 0069, 0076, 0082, 0087-0088, 0089-0090, 0092).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 21:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the first triggering condition for reporting the ranging information comprises a period for reporting the ranging information (in par 0082 teaches “the P-UE may perform ranging and/or positioning measurements with nearby V-UEs and report ranging measurements and V-UE positions to the network node on a periodic or ongoing basis”) (par 0068, 0076, 0082), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: periodically report the ranging information based on the period (par 0068, 0076, 0082).
Regarding claim 7:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the ranging information is reported to a destination including:
a source from which the configuration is received (see 710 V-UE in figure 7);
a destination indicated in the configuration (see 710 P-UE in figure 7);
a destination determined based on a UE type (see 710 P-UE in figure 7);
a destination determined based on a distance or propagation delay between the destination and the first UE (par 0082, 0092, 0112); or
a radio link condition of the first UE (par 0058).
Regarding claims 8 and 14:
BALASUBRAMANIAN transmit an indication of a capability of the first UE associated with the ranging information, wherein the capability comprises at least one of:
the first UE being capable of recording ranging information (par 0010, 0049);
the first UE being capable of reporting ranging information (par 0070);
the content included in ranging information that the first UE is capable of reporting (par 0070); and
at least one triggering condition based on which the first UE is capable of reporting the ranging information (figure 7C, par 0087-0088, 0091-0092, 0109-0112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 4, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN in view of KHORYAEV et al. (US 20220110085) (hereinafter KHORYAEV).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 19:
BALASUBRAMANIAN further discloses wherein the content included in the ranging information comprises at least one of:
an identity (ID) of a second UE different from the first UE (figure 7A shows two different identities to the UEs (i.e. V-UE and P-UE). See abstract);
a distance between the first UE and the second UE is smaller or larger than a threshold (see figure 6, par 0082, 0092);
the distance between the first UE and the second UE (see the distance between the first UE and the second UE in figure 6);
a minimum, maximum, or an average distance between the first UE and the second UE (see a minimum, maximum, or an average distance between the first UE and the second UE in figure 6);
a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID (5G (NR) wireless network shown in figure 1 interpreted to be PLMN ID. See par 0030-0038); and
a cell ID (see Femto and Pico cells in figure 1).
BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching a time stamp for recording the ranging information; a time interval between the ranging information and a previous ranging information.
However, KHORYAEV in the same field of endeavor teaches a time stamp for recording the ranging information (par 0008, 0052-0053); a time interval between the ranging information and a previous ranging information (par 0008, 0052-0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use timestamp information as taught by KHORYAEV to modify the system and method of BALASUBRAMANIAN in order to provide timing estimation (par 0052) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Conclusion
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631