DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 12/22/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 11-13, 15-17, 20, and 23-25 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 22 December, 2025. Claims 1, 8, 9, 17, 20, have been amended. Claims 24-25 have been newly added. Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 14, 18-19, and 21-22 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 11-13, 15-17, 20, and 23-25 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 20 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 12, 20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0045438), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Cavalcanti et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0022154), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a multi-link communication method ([see, [0030-0033], and Fig. 1, multi-link modes of operation between the STA and the AP]), comprising:
determining information associated with a constrained target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) ([see, [0029], early and/or late termination (i.e., information associated with a constrained) of the TWT SP as determined by the STA]);
scheduling a communication transmission between a first station and an access point according to the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0029-0030], scheduled between the multiple modes of operation between the STA and the AP, according to late termination instructions that the TWT SP shall not exceed the time set by the TWT start time and duration when one of the STA and/or the AP has connections with other devices (i.e., information associated with the restricted TWT SP)]);
wherein determining the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0051], determine the TWT SP can be terminated]) comprises:
receiving the information associated with the restricted TWT SP from the access point ([0051-0053, 0083-0084], and Fig. 5, wherein determine the information whether the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 to terminate the TWT SP, the message received by the AP 102 on processing proceeds to block 508 at which the TWT negotiator 304 accesses the contents]),
wherein the restricted TWT SP is configured for a second station ([see, [0088], the TWT negotiator 304 terminates the TWT SP between the AP 102 and respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108]);
wherein the first station belongs to a multi-link device (MLD) ([see, [0033], and Fig. 1, wherein the multi-link communication system 100, includes STAs 104, 106, 108]), and the information associated with the restricted TWT SP is received from the access point by broadcast ([see, [0025, 0083-0084], and Fig. 5, the message received by the AP 102 on processing proceeds to block 508 at which the TWT negotiator 304 accesses the contents. Wherein simultaneous uplink and downlink with announced TWT system can be associated with the announced TWT SP operation, both for broadcast and individual TWT]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: controlling the first station to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP; and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously transmit & receive (STR) MLD.
However, D2 discloses controlling the first station (i.e., device 140) to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0147], the STA-specific TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to communication of TSN frames at least of device 140]), and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously (corresponding to as transmission only TSN communications) transmit & receive (STR) MLD ([see, [0125-0127], wherein the device 102, the TWT scheduling message to schedule the TSN-enabled TWT SP including the indication that the TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to only TSN communications]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency for time sensitive networking-enabled target wakeup time is configured to serve the proper time sensitive networking stream (D2, [0017]]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
determining the restricted (i.e., not allow) TWT SP based on the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0051-0053], the TWT negotiator 208 can determine the TWT SP can be terminated or not allow based on in response to the information that includes the query of the connection manager 206 indicating a scheduled connection between the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and a device other than the AP 102]).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein controlling the first station to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP comprises prohibiting the first station from sending pending remaining data within the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0127], the wireless communication station implemented by device 140 to receive from an AP, e.g., device 102, the TWT scheduling message to schedule the TSN-enabled TWT SP including the indication that the TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to only TSN communications]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency for time sensitive networking-enabled target wakeup time is configured to serve the proper time sensitive networking stream (D2, [0017]]).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses a multi-link communication method ([see, [0033], and Fig. 1, multi-link communication system disclosed]), comprising:
determining a restricted (i.e., control state mode) target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) of a second station ([see, [0029], early and/or late termination (i.e., information associated with a constrained) of the TWT SP as determined by the STA]); and
scheduling a communication transmission between an access point and at least one of a first station and the second station according to the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0029-0030], scheduled between the multiple modes of operation between the STA and the AP, according to late termination instructions that the TWT SP shall not exceed the time set by the TWT start time and duration when one of the STA and/or the AP has connections with other devices (i.e., information associated with the restricted TWT SP)]);
scheduling the communication transmission between the access point and at least one of the first station ([see, [0029-0030], scheduled between the multiple modes of operation between the STA and the AP, according to late termination instructions that the TWT SP shall not exceed the time set by the TWT start time and duration when one of the STA and/or the AP has connections with other devices (i.e., information associated with the restricted TWT SP)]); and
the second station according to the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0088], the TWT negotiator 304 terminates the TWT SP between the AP 102 and respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108]) comprises sending an acknowledgment message to the first station according to the restricted TWT SP.
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: controlling the first station to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP; and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously transmit & receive (STR) MLD.
However, D2 discloses controlling the first station (i.e., device 140) to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0147], the STA-specific TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to communication of TSN frames at least of device 140]), and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously (corresponding to as transmission only TSN communications) transmit & receive (STR) MLD ([see, [0125-0127], wherein the device 102, the TWT scheduling message to schedule the TSN-enabled TWT SP including the indication that the TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to only TSN communications]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency for time sensitive networking-enabled target wakeup time is configured to serve the proper time sensitive networking stream (D2, [0017]]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 9, and D1 further discloses further comprising: generating information associated with the restricted TWT SP based on the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0053], determine scheduled for the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108, initialize a first mode for the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108, the first mode including instructions to not allow for an extension of the TWT service period (SP)]); and
sending the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0050], transmit each of the EOSP bit]).
As per Claim 20, D1 discloses a multi-link communication device ([see, [0033], and Fig. 1, multi-link communication system disclosed]), comprising:
a processor ([see, [0074], and Fig. 15, processor 1512]); and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor ([see, [0074], and Fig. 15, a computer processor such as the processor 1512 with stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium]),
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine information (state mode information) associated with a restricted (i.e., control state mode) target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) ([see, [0039, 0048-0049, 0051-0053], wherein the AP based target wake time (TWT) controller 114, capable of parameters and characteristics control that associated with the AP 102, and determine the state modes and determine the first mode that not allow for an extension of the TWT service period (e.g., in order to facilitate the scheduled connections of the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and a device other than the AP 102)]); and
schedule a communication transmission between a first station and an access point according to the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0051], the TWT negotiator 208 can determine the TWT SP can be terminated in response to the query of the connection manager 206 indicating a scheduled connection between the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and a device other than the AP 102]),
scheduling the communication transmission between the access point and at least one of the first station ([see, [0029-0030], scheduled between the multiple modes of operation between the STA and the AP, according to late termination instructions that the TWT SP shall not exceed the time set by the TWT start time and duration when one of the STA and/or the AP has connections with other devices (i.e., information associated with the restricted TWT SP)]); and
the second station according to the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0088], the TWT negotiator 304 terminates the TWT SP between the AP 102 and respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108]) comprises sending an acknowledgment message to the first station according to the restricted TWT SP.
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: controlling the first station to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP; and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously transmit & receive (STR) MLD.
However, D2 discloses controlling the first station (i.e., device 140) to stop the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0147], the STA-specific TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to communication of TSN frames at least of device 140]), and the second station belongs to a non-simultaneously (corresponding to as transmission only TSN communications) transmit & receive (STR) MLD ([see, [0125-0127], wherein the device 102, the TWT scheduling message to schedule the TSN-enabled TWT SP including the indication that the TSN-enabled TWT SP is restricted to only TSN communications]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency for time sensitive networking-enabled target wakeup time is configured to serve the proper time sensitive networking stream (D2, [0017]]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 disclose the multi-link communication device of claim 23, and D1 further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine the restricted TWT SP based on the information associated with the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0039, 0048-0049, 0051-0053], determine the state modes and determine the first mode that not allow for an extension of the TWT service period (e.g., in order to facilitate the scheduled connections of the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and a device other than the AP 102)]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 1, wherein the first station and the second station communicate on different links ([see, [0033], and Fig. 1, the STAs 104, 106, 108, the example radio architectures 110A,B,C,D may be physically similar but can operate on different (e.g., separate) transmission and/or reception frequencies]).
Claims 5, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of GUO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021055 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the information associated with the restricted TWT SP indicates at least one of: a start time or an end time of the restricted TWT SP, or a time offset of the restricted TWT SP with respect to the first station ([0051-0053], an end time of the restricted TWT SP as discloses as set an end of service period (EOSP) bit to 0 (e.g., terminate the TWT SP)]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 9, and D1 further discloses wherein the first station belongs to a non-MLD, the second station belongs to a non-STR MLD ([see, [[0039], and Fig. 1, information associated with one or more of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and/or TWT rules and/or agreements between the AP 102 and one or more of the STAs 104, 106, 108, among others]), and
scheduling the communication transmission between the access point and at least one of the first station and the second station according to the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0051], the TWT negotiator 208 can determine the TWT SP can be terminated in response to the query of the connection manager 206 indicating a scheduled connection between the respective one of the STAs 104, 106, 108 and a device other than the AP 102]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the first station and the second station according to… adjusting the restricted TWT SP according to a contention-free period (CFP) (i.e., no collision) of the second station, wherein the contention-free period (CFP) is synchronized with a CFP of the first station.
However, D2 discloses adjusting the restricted TWT SP according to a contention-free period (CFP) (i.e., no collision) of the second station, wherein the contention-free period (CFP) is synchronized with a CFP of the first station ([see, [0017], a time interval between TWT service periods can be adjusted based on service intensity between the first station and the second station]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency (D3, [0017]]).
As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the communication method of claim 9, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the acknowledgment message is configured to inform the first station that the access point receives.
However, D3 discloses wherein the acknowledgment message is configured to inform the first station that the access point receives ([see, [0074], the second station sends an acknowledgment frame to the first station after successfully receiving the data frame/management frame, and the first station successfully receives the acknowledgment frame sent by the second station]) or does not receive the communication transmission from the first station during the TWT SP.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide beacon frame includes first indication information results improving communication efficiency (D3, [0017]]).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3, and further in view of ASTERJADHI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170311258), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 15, D1, D2, and D3 discloses the communication method of claim 13, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the information associated with the restricted TWT SP is sent to the second station by unicast, and scheduling the communication transmission between the access point and at least one of the first station and the second station according to the restricted TWT SP comprises sending an acknowledgment message to the first station according to the restricted TWT SP.
However, D4 discloses wherein the information associated with the restricted (control) TWT SP is sent to the second station by unicast ([see, [0077], the STA 306 may negotiate for a different scheduled TWT by transmitting another message to the AP 302 requesting a different TWT (e.g., via unicast frames)]), and
scheduling (TWT scheduling, Fig. 3, on timing flow diagram 350) the communication transmission between the access point (the AP 302) and at least one of the first station and the second station (the STA 306) according to the restricted (control) TWT SP (control deferential mode of the STA 114 may enter an awake or doze state during TWT service periods) comprises sending an acknowledgment message to the first station according to the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0047-0048, 0074-0075, 0141], and Fig. 3, wherein TWT scheduling on timing flow diagram 350, between the STA 306 and the AP 302 may negotiate the TWT scheduling, the wireless device may enter an awake state during TWT service periods, and the STA may inform the AP through a successful frame exchange that is initiated by the STA, frame may include an acknowledgment (ACK) that the STA may adopt upon successful completion of the entire frame exchange]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine schedule for target wake times based on the message results improve channel contention by spreading out the wake-up times of STAs if the STAs are operating in single user (SU) mode or concentrate the STAs wake up times if they are operating in multi-user (MU) mode (D4, [0076]]).
As per Claim 16, D1, D2, and D3 discloses the communication method of claim 15, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein scheduling the communication transmission between the access point and at least one of the first station and the second station according to the restricted TWT SP comprises adjusting the restricted TWT SP according to a contention-free period (CFP) of the second station, wherein the contention-free period (CFP) is synchronized with a CFP of the first station.
However, D4 discloses wherein scheduling the communication transmission (TWT scheduling, Fig. 3, on timing flow diagram 350) between the access point (the AP 302) and at least one of the first station and the second station (the STA 306) according to the restricted (control) TWT SP (control deferential mode of the STA 114 may enter an awake or doze state during TWT service periods) comprises adjusting the restricted TWT SP according to a contention-free period (CFP) of the second station ([see, [0047-0048, 0074-0075, 0141], and Fig. 3, wherein TWT scheduling on timing flow diagram 350, between the STA 306 and the AP 302 may negotiate the TWT scheduling, the wireless device may enter an awake state during TWT service periods, and the STA may inform the AP through a successful frame exchange that is initiated by the STA, frame may include an acknowledgment (ACK) that the STA may adopt upon successful completion of the entire frame exchange]),
wherein the contention-free period (CFP) is synchronized with a CFP of the first station ([see, [0061], the subsequent or next TWT may be determined based on the value of the TWT of the current TWT service period plus a multiple of the TWT wake interval (e.g., TWT period=TWT wake interval mantissa*2wake interval exponent, such that next TWT=current TWT+TWT period).This allows periodic scheduling of the TWTs, which is simple and flexible for normal operations (no conflict or contention-free period (CFP)).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine schedule for target wake times based on the message results improve channel contention by spreading out the wake-up times of STAs if the STAs are operating in single user (SU) mode or concentrate the STAs wake up times if they are operating in multi-user (MU) mode (D4, [0076]]).
As per Claim 17, D1, D2, and D3 discloses the communication method of claim 9, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein preventing the first station from performing the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP comprises prohibiting the first station from sending pending remaining data within the restricted TWT SP.
However, D4 discloses wherein preventing the first station from performing the communication transmission within the restricted TWT SP comprises prohibiting the first station from sending pending remaining data within the restricted TWT SP ([see, [0061], the subsequent or next TWT may be determined based on the value of the TWT of the current TWT service period plus a multiple of the TWT wake interval (e.g., TWT period=TWT wake interval mantissa*2wake interval exponent, such that next TWT=current TWT+TWT period).This allows periodic scheduling of the TWTs, which is simple and flexible for normal operations (no conflict or contention-free period (CFP)).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine schedule for target wake times based on the message results improve channel contention by spreading out the wake-up times of STAs if the STAs are operating in single user (SU) mode or concentrate the STAs wake up times if they are operating in multi-user (MU) mode (D4, [0076]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418