Response to Amendment/Arguments
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed 4/22/26. Amended Claims 1-20 are pending.
Regarding the previous drawing objections, applicant’s amended drawings include the claimed subject matter of Claims 11, 12, 15, and 18 so these objections are overcome. Regarding the drawing objection for labels, Fig. 5 now has labeled representations so this objection is overcome. Regarding the previous drawing objection for hatching, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. MPEP 608.02 V and IX address hatching of sectioned parts. Applicant’s Figs. 1-4 do not follow these sections as the hatchings of the sectioned parts do not match the described and claimed invention. The depicted materials are not conventionally depicted, as shown in MPEP 608.02 IX and described by MPEP 608.02 V quoting 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). As one example, in Figs. 1-4 inner pane 2 and outer pane 1 are shown as metal.
Regarding the previous prior art rejection by Thiel, applicant’s argument (p. 14-15) regarding the lack of disclosed ratios between parts is considered persuasive and the rejection is overcome. Please see the following action for treatment of the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The depicted materials in Figs. 1-4 are not in agreement with the described and claimed invention (MPEP 608.02 V and IX).
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes on claim interpretation:
Applicant has provided special definitions (MPEP 2173.01, 2173.05(a) III, and 2111.01 IV):
In the context of the invention, "inner pane" refers to the pane of the composite pane facing the interior (in particular, the vehicle interior). (p. 5)
"Outer pane" refers to the pane facing the external surroundings. (p. 5)
The term "upper edge" refers to that edge which is intended, in the installed
position, to point upward. (p. 5)
The term "lower edge" refers to that edge which is intended, in the installed position, to point downward. (p. 5)
In the case of a windshield, the upper edge is often also referred to as the "roof edge" and the lower edge as the "engine edge". (p. 5)
In the context of the invention, "exterior-side surface" refers to that primary surface intended to face the external surroundings in the installed position. (p. 5)
In the context of the invention, "interior- side surface" refers to that primary surface intended to face the interior in the installed position. (p. 5)
Considered as a "transparent coating" is a coating that has an average transmittance in the visible spectral range of at least 70%, preferably at least 72.5%, i.e., does not significantly restrict vision through the pane. (p. 6)
The term "a dielectric module" thus means dielectric layer which can be formed from a single ply, i.e., a single dielectric layer, or from multiple plies of dielectric layers. (p.6)
In this context, the term "silver layer" designates a layer formed on the basis of silver. (p. 7)
The term “total transmittance” is based on the process for testing the light permeability of motor vehicle windows specified by ECE-R 43, Annex 3, § 9.1. (p. 13)
TTS value refers to the total solar energy transmitted, measured in accordance with ISO 13837 - it is a measure of thermal comfort. (p. 13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (WO 2019206493, previously cited on applicant’s IDS, a machine translation accompanying this office action).
Regarding Claim 1,
A composite pane, comprising an outer pane (outer pane 1) having an exterior-side surface (I) and an interior-side surface (II), an inner pane (2) having an exterior- side surface (III) and an interior-side surface (IV), and a thermoplastic intermediate layer (3: “The composite pane 10 is constructed from an outer pane 1 and an inner pane 2, which are connected to one another via a thermoplastic intermediate layer 3”), which joins the interior-side surface of the outer pane to the exterior-side surface of the inner pane, wherein the composite pane has at least one sun shading coating (20) between the outer pane and the inner pane, wherein
the sun shading coating comprises, starting from the inner pane toward the outer pane, a layer sequence
-first dielectric module (Example 1 (“Beispiel 1”): 22.1 and/or 24.1 and/or 25.2 and/or 22a.2 and/or 22b.2 and/or 23.2 and/or 24.2)
-first silver layer (Example 1: 21.2)
second dielectric module (Example 1: 25.3 and/or 22a.3 and/or 22b.3 and/or 23.3 and/or 24.3)
-second silver layer (Example 1: 21.3),
-third dielectric module (Example 1: 25.4 and/or 22a.4 and/or 22b.4 and/or 23.4 and/or 24.4),
-third silver layer (Example 1: 21.4),
-fourth dielectric module (Example 1: 25.5 and/or 22.5),
wherein the first, second and third silver layers have, relative to one another, a geometrical layer thickness of Ag2>Ag1>Ag3, where Ag1 is the geometrical layer thickness of the first silver layer, Ag2 is the geometrical layer thickness of the second silver layer, and Ag3 is the geometrical layer thickness of the third silver layer, and the first, second and third silver layers of the sun shading coating have a relative geometrical layer thickness of 1.0<Ag1/Ag3 and 1.2<Ag2/Ag3<2.
Examiner note: Examiner notes that Example 2 is also applicable to the current claim language.
Regarding Claim 2,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first (Example 1: ex. 25.2 and 22a.2 and 22b.2 and 23.2 and 24.2) , second (Example 1: ex. 24.3 and 23.3 and 22b.3 and 22a.3), third (Example 1: ex. 24.4 and 23.4 and 22b.4 and 22a.4 and 25.4) and fourth (Example 1: ex. 25.5 and 22.5) dielectric modules have a relative optical layer thickness of M2/M1>1.9, M2/M3>0.8, and M2/M4>2, where M1 is the optical layer thickness of the first dielectric module, M2 is the optical layer thickness of the second dielectric module, M3 is the optical layer thickness of the third dielectric module and M4 is the optical layer thickness of the fourth dielectric module.
Examiner note: Examiner notes that other interpretations are also applicable to the current claim language.
Regarding Claim 3,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric module, the second dielectric module, the third dielectric module, and/or the fourth dielectric module have at least one dielectric layer based on silicon nitride (Example 1: at least one of 22.1 and/or 22a.2 and/or 22a.3 and/or 22a.4).
Regarding Claim 4,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric module, the second dielectric module, the third dielectric module, and/or the fourth dielectric module include at least one first dielectric layer based on silicon nitride (Example 1: at least one of 22.1 and/or 22a.2 and/or 22a.3 and/or 22a.4) and at least one second dielectric layer based on zinc oxide (Example 1: at least one of 24.1 and/or 25.2 and/or 24.2 and/or 25.3 and/or 24.3 and/or 25.4 and/or 24.4 and/or 25.5).
Regarding Claim 5,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric module, the second dielectric module, the third dielectric module, and/or the fourth dielectric module include at least one first dielectric layer based on silicon nitride (Example 1: at least one of 22.1 and/or 22a.2 and/or 22a.3 and/or 22a.4), at least one second dielectric layer based on zinc oxide (Example 1: at least one of 24.1 and/or 25.2 and/or 24.2 and/or 25.3 and/or 24.3 and/or 25.4 and/or 24.4 and/or 25.5), and at least one third dielectric layer based on a mixed tin-zinc oxide (Example 1: at least one of 23.2 and/or 23.3 and/or 23.4).
Regarding Claim 6,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the sun shading coating includes, above and/or below the first, second and third silver layers, in each case at least one metallic blocking layer (Example 1: at least one of 26.2 and/or 26.3 and/or 26.4), which has a geometrical thickness of less than 1 nm.
Regarding Claim 7,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first silver layer, the second silver layer, and the third silver layer have, in each case, a geometrical thickness of 5 nm to 25 nm (Example 1: 15.6nm, 18.3nm, 12.5nm).
Regarding Claim 9,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 25.2 and 22a.2 and 22b.2 and 23.2 and 24.2), the second dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 25.3 and 22a.3 and 22b.3 and 23.3 and 24.3), the third dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 24.4 and 22a.4 and 22b.4 and 23.4 and 24.4), and the fourth dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 25.5 and 22.5) have, in each case, a geometrical thickness of 10 nm to 100 nm.
Examiner note: Examiner notes that other interpretations are also applicable to the current claim language.
Regarding Claim 10,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the sun shading coating is applied on the exterior-side surface of the inner pane (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the sun shading coating has at least two bus bars via which the sun shading coating is connectable to an electrical voltage source (ex. “When the electrically conductive coating is provided as a heatable coating, it is typically provided with busbars connected to connecting cables which extend beyond the side edge of the composite disk. By means of the connecting cables, the busbars can be connected to an external voltage source. The bus bars are arranged in the edge region along two opposite side edges along a large part of the entire coating width and conduct the electric current as homogeneously as possible into the conductive coating. The bus bars are typically formed as strips of a conductive foil (eg, copper foil) and placed on or over the coating, or printed as a conductive paste (typically containing silver particles and glass frit) on the coating or on the pane under the coating.”).
Regarding Claim 14,
A method for producing a composite pane according to claim 1 comprising:
a) applying a sun shading coating (20, ex. Fig. 1) to the interior-side surface of the outer pane, or to the exterior-side surface of the inner pane, or introducing the sun shading coating into a thermoplastic intermediate layer,
b) producing a layer stack comprising at least, in this order, the outer pane (1), the thermoplastic intermediate layer (3), and the inner pane (2), and
c) joining the layer stack comprising at least the outer pane, the thermoplastic intermediate layer, and the inner pane to form the composite pane (ex. “The composite pane 10 is constructed from an outer pane 1 and an inner pane 2, which are connected to one another via a thermoplastic intermediate layer 3.”).
Regarding Claim 15,
A method comprising providing a composite pane according to claim 1 in a motor vehicle as a windshield (ex. “Fig. 1 shows an embodiment of a composite disc 10 according to the invention, which is provided as a windshield of a passenger car.”), rear window, side window, and/or roof panel.
Regarding Claim 16,
The composite pane according to claim 9, wherein (Example 1: ex. 25.2 and 22a.2 and 22b.2 and 23.2 and 24.2), the second dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 25.3 and 22a.3 and 22b.3 and 23.3 and 24.3), the third dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 24.4 and 22a.4 and 22b.4 and 23.4 and 24.4), and the fourth dielectric module (Example 1: ex. 25.5 and 22.5) have, in each case, a geometrical thickness of 20 nm to 90 nm.
Examiner note: Examiner notes that other interpretations are also applicable to the current claim language.
Regarding Claim 18,
The method according to claim 15, wherein the composite pane is a windshield of a motor vehicle (ex. “Fig. 1 shows an embodiment of a composite disc 10 according to the invention, which is provided as a windshield of a passenger car.”).
Regarding Claim 20,
The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the sun shading coating exhibits an external reflection color that is blue both at a viewing angle of 8* and at a viewing angle of 60* wherein, at a viewing angle of 60*, the external reflection color has CIE color coordinates a*R (60*) of -5.0 to 0 (Example 1: -0.1) and b*R (60*) of -8.0 to 0 (Example 1: -3.2), the color coordinates being determined in reflection on the exterior-side surface of the composite pane (see Table 6 and associated description for Example 1, partially reproduced below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Fischer et al. (US 9215760, corresponding to WO 2013/104439 on applicant’s IDS), hereinafter Klaus to avoid confusion.
Regarding Claim 12, Fischer teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein heating wires are present between the exterior-side surface of the inner pane and the interior- side surface of the outer pane.
Fischer teaches:
When the electrically conductive coating is provided as a heatable coating, it is typically provided with busbars connected to connecting cables which extend beyond the side edge of the composite disk. By means of the connecting cables, the busbars can be connected to an external voltage source. The bus bars are arranged in the edge region along two opposite side edges along a large part of the entire coating width and conduct the electric current as homogeneously as possible into the conductive coating. The bus bars are typically formed as strips of a conductive foil (eg, copper foil) and placed on or over the coating, or printed as a conductive paste (typically containing silver particles and glass frit) on the coating or on the pane under the coating.
That is, while Fischer teaches bus bars “typically formed as strips of a conductive foil (eg, copper foil) and placed on or over the coating” and “connecting cables”, the claimed “heating wires” do not appear to be taught.
Klaus teaches
For a composite pane,
wherein heating wires (13 - busbar and/or 16- feed line, Figs. 2, 4 and Col. 9, lines 56-Col. 10, line 3, Col. 10, lines 32-36) are present between the exterior-side surface of the inner pane and the interior- side surface of the outer pane.
Klaus teaches using either a strip or wire as the busbar (“In an alternative embodiment, thin and narrow metal foil strips or metal wires are used as busbars...”) or using a wire to connect to the busbar (“Alternatively, thin metal wires can also be used as feed lines.”).
Since both references are directed to composite panes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite pane of Fischer to use wires as connections (feed lines) to the bus bars and/or swap the strips of conductive foil forming the bus bars for wires as taught by Klaus in order to provide alternative manners of construction to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8, 13, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745