DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/248,853 filed on 04/12/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 16-18, 20-21 and 23-35 are amended. Claims 19 and 22 are cancelled. Claims 36-37 are added. Claims 16-18, 20-21 and 23-37 are pending.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 28 recites "and/or", it is unclear as to what the applicant is trying to claim. For rejection purposes the examiner will interpret the term as OR instead. The claims should recite one of the terms, not both. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed on 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 16-18, 20-21 and 23-37 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection. Examiner provides a new ground(s) of rejections to address Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 20, 23-26, 30-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (Pub. No. 2022/0166569 A1 hereinafter Lin) in view of Si et al. (Pub. No. 2019/0028244 A1 hereinafter Si), and further in view of Ko et al. (Pub. No. 2021/0007065 A1 hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches “a User Equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication comprising” as [(Para. 0068), WD 22] “at least one memory;” [(Para. 0068), memory 88] “and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory” [(Para. 0068), The hardware 80 of the WD 22 further includes processing circuitry 84. The processing circuitry 84 may include a processor 86] “and configured to cause the UE to:” [(Para. 0070), The WD 22 includes memory 88 that is configured to store data, programmatic software code and/or other information described herein. In some embodiments, the software 90 and/or the client application 92 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 86 and/or processing circuitry 84, causes the processor 86 and/or processing circuitry 84 to perform the processes described herein with respect to WD 22.] “receive a Synchronization Signal (“SS”) and Physical Broadcast Channel Block (“PBCH”) structure” [(Para. 0027), A wireless device, configured to, and/or comprising a radio interface and/or comprising processing circuitry configured to receive a master information block, MIB, using two different structures (A and B), both structures occupying the same bandwidth as a PBCH and occupying different time occasions, for example in two (subsequent) SSB occasions…].
However, Lin does not specifically disclose comprising more than four time-domain symbols, wherein the SS and PBCH structure includes at least one time-domain symbol for a Primary SS (“PSS”), at least one time-domain symbol for a Secondary SS (“SSS”), and multiple time-domain symbols for a PBCH, wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal ("DMRS") sequence, and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence; perform cell search based on the received SS and PBCH structure; and access a first cell based on the received SS and PBCH structure.
In an analogous art, Si teaches “comprising more than four time-domain symbols,” as [(Para. 0009), the eSS/PBCH block comprising the multiple consecutive symbols based on the determined resources] “wherein the SS and PBCH structure includes at least one time-domain symbol for a Primary SS (“PSS”), at least one time-domain symbol for a Secondary SS (“SSS”)” [(Para. 0118), Each NR-SS/PBCH block compromises of one symbol for NR-PSS, one symbol for NR-SSS] “and multiple time-domain symbols for a PBCH;” [(Para. 0118), and two symbols for the remaining of NR-PBCH] “perform cell search based on the received SS and PBCH structure” [(Para. 0110), In 1110, a UE 1111 is connected to cell 1112 after performing an initial access procedure which includes detecting the presence of synchronization signals. Synchronization signals can be used for coarse timing and frequency acquisitions as well as detecting the cell identification (cell ID) associated with the serving cell.] “and access a first cell based on the received SS and PBCH structure” [(Para. 0310), For enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block, enhanced NR-PSS (i.e., NR-ePSS) is also responsible for time-domain and frequency-domain synchronization and cell search.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin with the modified system of Si for ensure that a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block can be minimized to enhance channel access opportunity for new-radio unlicensed spectrum [Si: Para. 0129].
However, the combination of Lin and Si does not specifically disclose wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal ("DMRS") sequence, and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches “wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal ("DMRS") sequence,” as [(Para. 0010), A sequence of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmitted through a symbol to which the PBCH is mapped may be generated based on an identifier of the serving cell and an index of the first SSB … (Para. 0205), the PBCH DMRS sequence may vary with an SSB index] “and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence” [(Para. 0200), the PBCH DMRS sequence is initialized by a cell ID and an SSB index … (Para. 0170), As a value for initializing the PN sequence, at least a cell ID may be used and an SSB index obtained from a PBCH DMRS may be additionally used. If a slot number or an OFDM symbol are derived from the SSB index, the slot number/OFDM symbol number may be used. Additionally, radio half-frame boundary information may also be used as the initialization value. In addition, when partial bits among SFN information may be acquired as a signal or a channel distinguished from a part related to channel coding, such as content or a scrambling sequence, the SFN information may be used as an initialization value of the scrambling sequence… (Para. 0271), Two m-sequences constituting the Gold sequence are configured with the same length. One of the m-sequences may be initialized by a time indication and an initial value of the other one of the m-sequences may be initialized by a cell ID or by the cell ID and another time indication. For example, the Gold sequence may use a length-31 Gold sequence used in LTE. An m-sequence to which a fixed initial value is conventionally applied is initialized by the time indication and another m-sequence is initialized by the cell ID].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin and Si with the modified system of Ko decoding only one synchronization signal block when synchronous signal blocks are respectively received from a serving cell and a neighbor cell to acquire time information of the other synchronous signal block in order to improve PBCH demodulation reliability, distinguish synchronization blocks and enhance channel estimation performance in multi-symbol SS/PBCH transmissions [Ko: Para. 0001].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein the SS and PBCH structure occupies five Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (“OFDM”) symbols in time domain,” as [(Para. 0265), NR-eSSS/NR-ePBCH mapped to #5 symbol within the enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block as in the figure] “and 192 resource elements in frequency domain,” [(Para. 0343), For LTE NR-SS/PBCH block, #1 and #3 symbols within the LTE NR-SS/PBCH block are mapped for NR-PBCH and DMRS, where each symbol has 288 REs (24 PRBs)] “wherein the SS and PBCH structure comprises one OFDM symbol for the PSS,” [(Para. 0250), In FIG. 17, enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block contains NR-PSS (1 symbol)] “one OFDM symbol for the SSS,” [(Para. 0250), NR-SSS (1 partial symbol to be multiplexed with NR-ePBCH), NR-eSSS (1 partial symbol to be multiplexed with NR-ePBCH)] “and three OFDM symbols for the PBCH” [(Para. 0250), NR-ePBCH (3 full symbols and 2 partial symbols to be multiplexed with NR-eSSS/NR-SSS)].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein the SS and PBCH structure occupies six Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (“OFDM”) symbols in time domain,” as [(Para. 0348), NR-ePBCH occupies multiple symbols… (Para. 0310), multiple symbols for NR-ePSS are supported…. (Para. 0331), multiple symbols for NR-eSSS are supported] “and 144 resource elements in frequency domain,” [(Para. 0343), the total number of REs within an LTE NR-SS/PBCH block for DMRS is 144] “wherein the SS and PBCH structure comprises one OFDM symbol for the PSS,” [(Para. 0250), In FIG. 17, enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block contains NR-PSS (1 symbol)] “one OFDM symbol for the SSS,” [(Para. 0250), NR-SSS (1 partial symbol to be multiplexed with NR-ePBCH), NR-eSSS (1 partial symbol to be multiplexed with NR-ePBCH)] “and four OFDM symbols for the PBCH” [(Para. 0256), NR-ePBCH mapped to #0, #2, #4, and #5,].
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein the PSS occupies a plurality of time-domain symbols” as [(Para. 0310), multiple symbols for NR-ePSS are supported (e.g. as in Example 2001 to 2006)].
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein the PSS is configured with two or more sequences,” as [(Para. 0287), Note that, the sequence for two symbols of NR-ePSS may not be the same (e.g. can choose different sequences or using a cover code over the same sequence)] “with each sequence indicating a subset of cell identifiers,” [(Para. 0309), For LTE NR, NR-PSS is constructed by frequency-domain BPSK modulated length-127 M-sequence, where cyclic shifts are performed to represent the cell ID information carried by NR-PSS…. (Para. 0311), In one embodiment 1, the sequence to construct NR-ePSS is the same as NR-PSS, i.e., NR-ePSS is also constructed by frequency-domain BPSK modulated length-127 M-sequence (e.g. generator g(x)=x7+x4+1) with the initial condition x(6:0)=1110110. Three cyclic shifts [0, 43, 86] are performed on the basic sequence to represent the cell ID information NID (2) (the cyclic shifts of NR-ePSS and NR-PSS mapped for the cell ID information NID (2) are the same)] “and wherein each sequence is transmitted in a different time-domain symbol” [(Para. 0287), Note that, the sequence for two symbols of NR-ePSS may not be the same (e.g. can choose different sequences… (Para. 0287), the two NR-ePSS symbols are consecutive (e.g. to allow simpler detection), and two NR-eSSS/ePBCH symbols are not consecutive (e.g. to allow better channel estimation using NR-eSSS as DMRS for NR-ePBCH)].
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Lin teaches “wherein a minimum bandwidth of a Type 0 Control Resource Set (“CORESET_0”) is set equal to a number of Resource Blocks (“RBs”) in frequency of the SS and PBCH structure” as [(Para. 0029), receive a CORESET #0 structure with a bandwidth chosen from 12 RBs, 16 RBs, or 18 RBs… (Para. 0102), FIG. 9 would reduce the existing SSB bandwidth of 20 RBs to a new SSB bandwidth of 12 RBs].
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Lin teaches “wherein the CORESET_0 occupies up to 6 Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (“OFDM”) symbols in the time-domain,” as [(Para. 0019), transmitting a CORESET #0 structure with a bandwidth chosen from 12 RBs, 16 RBs, or 18 RBs, wherein, optionally, the CORESET duration in time may be extended to include values such as 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 14 symbols] “wherein a length of the CORESET_0 is based on the SS and PBCH structure” [(Para. 0043), Certain embodiments use on or more signals, for example: an SSB structure with 12-RB bandwidth; and/or an SSB configuration with 2 structures; and/or a PDCCH transmission and reception in CORESET #0 of at least 24 RBs for carrier or UE with bandwidth less than 24 RBs by restricting the valid PDCCH candidates to the subset of PDCCH candidates that are fully (entirely) contained in the carrier or UE bandwidth; and/or a CORESET #0 signal with reduced bandwidths].
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein a first time-domain symbol of the SS and PBCH structure contains the PSS,” as [(Para. 0118), Each NR-SS/PBCH block compromises of one symbol for NR-PSS, one symbol for NR-SSS] “wherein a second time-domain symbol of the SS and PBCH structure contains the SSS” [(Para. 0118), Each NR-SS/PBCH block compromises of one symbol for NR-PSS, one symbol for NR-SSS].
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 32, Lin teaches “a base station for wireless communication” as [(Para. 0048), The term “network node” used herein can be any kind of network node comprised in a radio network which may further comprise any of base station (BS).] “comprising: at least one memory;” [(Para. 0065), a memory 72] “and a least one processor coupled with the at least one memory;” [(Para. 0065), the hardware 58 of the network node 16 further includes processing circuitry 68. The processing circuitry 68 may include a processor 70] “and configured to cause the base station to:” [(Para. 0066), Thus, the network node 16 further has software 74 stored internally in, for example, memory 72, or stored in external memory (e.g., database, storage array, network storage device, etc.) accessible by the network node 16 via an external connection. The software 74 may be executable by the processing circuitry 68. The processing circuitry 68 may be configured to control any of the methods and/or processes described herein and/or to cause such methods, and/or processes to be performed, e.g., by network node 16.] “transmit a Synchronization Signal (“SS”) and Physical Broadcast Channel Block (“PBCH”) structure” [(Para. 0017), In one embodiment, a network node configured to, and/or comprising a radio interface and/or comprising processing circuitry configured to transmit a master information block, MIB, using two different structures (A and B), both structures occupying the same bandwidth as a PBCH and occupying different time occasions, for example in two (subsequent) SSB occasions…].
However, Lin does not specifically disclose comprising more than four time-domain symbols, wherein the SS and PBCH structure includes at least one time-domain symbol for a Primary SS (“PSS”), at least one time-domain symbol for a Secondary SS (“SSS”), and multiple time-domain symbols for a PBCH, wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal (“DMRS”) sequence, and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence; and receive a connection request from a User Equipment (“UE”).
In an analogous art, Si teaches “comprising more than four time-domain symbols” as [(Para. 0009), the eSS/PBCH block comprising the multiple consecutive symbols based on the determined resources] “wherein the SS and PBCH structure includes at least one time-domain symbol for a Primary SS (“PSS”), at least one time-domain symbol for a Secondary SS (“SSS”),” [(Para. 0118), Each NR-SS/PBCH block compromises of one symbol for NR-PSS, one symbol for NR-SSS] “and multiple time-domain symbols for a PBCH;” [(Para. 0118), and two symbols for the remaining of NR-PBCH] “and receive a connection request from a User Equipment (“UE”)” [(Para. 0114), As shown in FIG. 12, the aforementioned initial access procedure 1210 and the aforementioned mobility or radio resource management 1220 from the perspective of a UE are described. The initial access procedure 1210 includes cell ID acquisition from DL synchronization signal(s) 1211 as well as retrieval of broadcast information (along with system information required by the UE to establish DL and UL connections) followed by UL synchronization (which can include random access procedure). Once the UE completes 1211 and 1212, the UE is connected to the network and associated with a cell].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin with the modified system of Si for ensure that a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for enhanced NR-SS/PBCH block can be minimized to enhance channel access opportunity for new-radio unlicensed spectrum [Si: Para. 0129].
However, the combination of Lin and Si does not specifically disclose wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal (“DMRS”) sequence, and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches “wherein each time-domain symbol containing the PBCH comprises a different Demodulation Reference Signal (“DMRS”) sequence,” as [(Para. 0010), A sequence of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmitted through a symbol to which the PBCH is mapped may be generated based on an identifier of the serving cell and an index of the first SSB… (Para. 0205), the PBCH DMRS sequence may vary with an SSB index] “and wherein each DMRS sequence is initiated with a different sequence” [(Para. 0200), the PBCH DMRS sequence is initialized by a cell ID and an SSB index … (Para. 0170), As a value for initializing the PN sequence, at least a cell ID may be used and an SSB index obtained from a PBCH DMRS may be additionally used. If a slot number or an OFDM symbol are derived from the SSB index, the slot number/OFDM symbol number may be used. Additionally, radio half-frame boundary information may also be used as the initialization value. In addition, when partial bits among SFN information may be acquired as a signal or a channel distinguished from a part related to channel coding, such as content or a scrambling sequence, the SFN information may be used as an initialization value of the scrambling sequence…. (Para. 0271), Two m-sequences constituting the Gold sequence are configured with the same length. One of the m-sequences may be initialized by a time indication and an initial value of the other one of the m-sequences may be initialized by a cell ID or by the cell ID and another time indication. For example, the Gold sequence may use a length-31 Gold sequence used in LTE. An m-sequence to which a fixed initial value is conventionally applied is initialized by the time indication and another m-sequence is initialized by the cell ID.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin and Si with the modified system of Ko decoding only one synchronization signal block when synchronous signal blocks are respectively received from a serving cell and a neighbor cell to acquire time information of the other synchronous signal block in order to improve PBCH demodulation reliability, distinguish synchronization blocks and enhance channel estimation performance in multi-symbol SS/PBCH transmissions [Ko: Para. 0001].
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko, specifically Si teaches “wherein the PSS occupies a plurality of time-domain symbols,” as [(Para. 0310), multiple symbols for NR-ePSS are supported (e.g. as in Example 2001 to 2006)] “wherein the PSS is configured with two or more sequences,” [(Para. 0287), Note that, the sequence for two symbols of NR-ePSS may not be the same (e.g. can choose different sequences or using a cover code over the same sequence)] “with each sequence indicating a subset of cell identifiers,” [(Para. 0309), For LTE NR, NR-PSS is constructed by frequency-domain BPSK modulated length-127 M-sequence, where cyclic shifts are performed to represent the cell ID information carried by NR-PSS…. (Para. 0311), In one embodiment 1, the sequence to construct NR-ePSS is the same as NR-PSS, i.e., NR-ePSS is also constructed by frequency-domain BPSK modulated length-127 M-sequence (e.g. generator g(x)=x7+x4+1) with the initial condition x(6:0)=1110110. Three cyclic shifts [0, 43, 86] are performed on the basic sequence to represent the cell ID information NID (2) (the cyclic shifts of NR-ePSS and NR-PSS mapped for the cell ID information NID (2) are the same)] “and wherein each sequence is transmitted in a different time-domain symbol” [(Para. 0287), Note that, the sequence for two symbols of NR-ePSS may not be the same (e.g. can choose different sequences… (Para. 0287), the two NR-ePSS symbols are consecutive (e.g. to allow simpler detection), and two NR-eSSS/ePBCH symbols are not consecutive (e.g. to allow better channel estimation using NR-eSSS as DMRS for NR-ePBCH)].
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 32.
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Si, further in view of Ko, and further in view of Akkarakaran et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0412590 A1 hereinafter Akkarakaran).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko does not specifically disclose wherein the PSS and SSS occupy a same number of Resource Blocks (“RBs”) in frequency and wherein the PBCH occupies at least as many RBs in frequency as the PSS.
In an analogous art, Akkarakaran teaches “wherein the PSS and SSS occupy a same number of Resource Blocks (“RBs”) in frequency” as [(Para. 0124), In some cases, the symbol to which the SSS may be mapped may include a same number of REs (e.g., corresponding to a number RBs or a bandwidth) as other symbols of the SSB to which one or more other synchronization signals (e.g., PSS, PBCH) of the set of synchronization signals are mapped.] “and wherein the PBCH occupies at least as many RBs in frequency as the PSS” [(Para. 0109), In another example, PSS 305-b, PBCH 310-b, and SSS 315-b may each occupy a same number of subcarriers or same bandwidth (e.g., corresponding to 20 RBs), in order to simplify communications and standardize a length of each SSB synchronization signal (e.g., sequence lengths)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin, Si and Ko with the modified system of Akkarakaran to improve communication accuracy and reliability to save power and increase battery life by reducing complexity and reducing a number of retransmissions to be received at a user equipment [Akkarakaran: Para. 0139].
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18.
Claims 27-29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Si, further in view of Ko, and further in view of Hong et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0072085 A1 hereinafter Hong).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Lin, Si and Ko does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to further cause the UE to receive a configuration for a time pattern of SS and PBCH Block (“SSB”) repetition, the configuration indicating a number of contiguous repetitions for an SSB using a same beam.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches “wherein the at least one processor is configured to further cause the UE to receive a configuration for a time pattern of SS and PBCH Block (“SSB”) repetition,” as [(Para. 0040), a base station sends a plurality of SSBs (corresponding to different SSB indexes) to cover different directions. The UE receives a plurality of SSBs with different signal strength … (Para. 0098), For a higher subcarrier spacing (Subcarrier Spacing, SSB SCS), if FR2 is still used, one SSB pattern (64 SSBs) occupies only a small part of the entire period of 5 ms. Therefore, identical SSB patterns may be repeatedly sent one or more times in the period of 5 ms, so that coverage is repeatedly enhanced in a time domain. In this case, additional timing information is required.] “the configuration indicating a number of contiguous repetitions for an SSB using a same beam” [(Para. 0040), As shown in FIG. 2 , in a range of 5 ms, a base station sends a plurality of SSBs… (Para. 0098), one SSB pattern (64 SSBs) occupies only a small part of the entire period of 5 ms].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Lin, Si and Ko with the modified system of Hong to provide a method and an apparatus for processing a synchronous signal block to improve coverage enhancement of the SSB [Hong: Para. 0004 and 0016].
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Lin, Si, Ko and Hong, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the number of contiguous repetitions for the SSB is based on a frequency range used by the first cell and/or a subcarrier spacing of the first cell” as [(Para. 0098), For a higher subcarrier spacing (Subcarrier Spacing, SSB SCS), if FR2 is still used, one SSB pattern (64 SSBs) occupies only a small part of the entire period of 5 ms. Therefore, identical SSB patterns may be repeatedly sent one or more times in the period of 5 ms, so that coverage is repeatedly enhanced in a time domain.].
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Lin, Si, Ko and Hong, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the at least one processor is configured to further cause the UE to receive a configuration for a time pattern of SS and PBCH Block (“SSB”) repetition,” as [Para. 0040), a base station sends a plurality of SSBs (corresponding to different SSB indexes) to cover different directions. The UE receives a plurality of SSBs with different signal strength … (Para. 0098), For a higher subcarrier spacing (Subcarrier Spacing, SSB SCS), if FR2 is still used, one SSB pattern (64 SSBs) occupies only a small part of the entire period of 5 ms. Therefore, identical SSB patterns may be repeatedly sent one or more times in the period of 5 ms, so that coverage is repeatedly enhanced in a time domain. In this case, additional timing information is required.] “the configuration indicating a number of repetitions for each of the PSS, SSS, and PBCH within a particular SSB is separately configured” [(Para. 0089), the user terminal may determine, in at least one of the following manners, information that is about a configured SSB and on which frequency domain repeated sending is to be performed: … (Para. 0090), (1) A configured SSB frequency group, that is, SSBs in the configured SSB frequency group are is repeatedly sent… (Para. 0091), (2) An SSB frequency and frequency domain repetition times are configured. The UE deduces another SSB frequency according to a predefined rule.].
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Lin, Si, Ko and Hong, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the at least one processor is configured to further cause the base station to transmit a configuration for a time pattern of SS and PBCH Block ("SSB") repetition,” as [Para. 0040), a base station sends a plurality of SSBs (corresponding to different SSB indexes) to cover different directions. The UE receives a plurality of SSBs with different signal strength … (Para. 0098), For a higher subcarrier spacing (Subcarrier Spacing, SSB SCS), if FR2 is still used, one SSB pattern (64 SSBs) occupies only a small part of the entire period of 5 ms. Therefore, identical SSB patterns may be repeatedly sent one or more times in the period of 5 ms, so that coverage is repeatedly enhanced in a time domain. In this case, additional timing information is required.] “the configuration indicating a number of repetitions for each of the PSS, SSS, and PBCH within a particular SSB is separately configured” [(Para. 0089), the user terminal may determine, in at least one of the following manners, information that is about a configured SSB and on which frequency domain repeated sending is to be performed: … (Para. 0090), (1) A configured SSB frequency group, that is, SSBs in the configured SSB frequency group are is repeatedly sent… (Para. 0091), (2) An SSB frequency and frequency domain repetition times are configured. The UE deduces another SSB frequency according to a predefined rule.].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463