DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 14 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 12-14, 18 are currently amended; claims 8, 9, and 19-62 are cancelled; claims 2, 3, 5-7, 10, 11, and 15-17 are previously presented; claims 63-66 have been added. Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 63-66 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 66 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim does not end with a period. Every claim is to be a sentence which ends with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony: “Discussion on beam management and BWP operation for NTN”, 3GPP draft; R1-2005576, 3GPP, Mobile Competence Center, hereafter referred Sony, in view of Ma et al. (US 2022/0110011 A1), hereafter referred Ma, further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0028843 A1), hereafter referred Zhou. Sony was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 3 November 2023.
Regarding claim 1, Sony teaches a baseband processor, comprising:
receiving a signaling, from the base station (BS) within a cell of a non-terrestrial network (NTN), comprising a channel state indicator reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) of a plurality of BWPs associated with a plurality of beams (Sony, Figure 1, Section 2; UE is used to measure CSI resource on the active BWP and receives DCI that indicates BWP switching from the gNB, where Figure 1 depicts multiple beams per cell using multiple BWPs (frequency reuse 3)), where the CSI-RS configuration comprises a beam measurement configuration for the plurality of beams (Sony, Section 2; CSI report configuration which indicates the UL BWP for CSI reporting and the associated CSI resource configuration which indicates the DL BWP for the reference signal to be used for the measurement, where the UE may assume that the NZP CSI-RS resources within the resource set are each transmitted with a different downlink spatial domain transmission filter, ie. different beam and only one BWP can be activated at a time for each serving cell and UE is not expected to measure CSI resource on inactive BWP),
switching from the second BWP of the plurality of BWPs to the first BWP according to the CSI-RS configuration; measuring one or more beams of the plurality of beams according to the beam measurement configuration (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resources on different BWP s for multiple times with BWP switching, for example, UE firstly measures CSI resource #1 on activated BWP as BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from gNB and the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2).
While the UE of Sony referenced above and described in Section 2 would inherently possess a memory interface connected to a processing circuitry, Sony does not expressly teach a memory interface; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory interface, and
generating a measurement report that includes a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement from the measured one or more of the plurality of beams.
However, Ma teaches a memory interface; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory interface (Ma, [0006]; UE includes a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory), and
generating a measurement report that includes a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement from the measured one or more of the plurality of beams (Ma, [0096]-[0105]; the UE may measure the configured set of CSI-RSs and report the channel estimation to the NTN entity in a CSI report, such as layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), or an RSRP among other examples. The UE may also obtain and report a more accurate measurement of the reference signal, such as perform layer 1 (L1) measurements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ma in order to measure reference signals with polarization (Ma, [0002]).
Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach the CSI-RS configuration is received in a second BWP;
after measuring the one or more plurality of beams, switching from the first BWP to the second BWP, that is an active BWP; and
causing transmission of the measurement report in the second BWP.
However, Zhou teaches the CSI-RS configuration is received in a second BWP (Zhou, [0420]-[0424]; CSI-RS resources may be configured in the same or different BWP);
after measuring the one or more plurality of beams, switching from the first BWP to the second BWP, that is an active BWP (Zhou, [0283]-[0298]; a wireless device measure at least one Tx beam and transmit the reports to the base station where the reports may indicate measurements such as RSRP for the one or more serving beams, the base station may configure a timer where the expiry of the timer, the wireless device may switch an active BWP from BWP1 to BWP2); and
causing transmission of the measurement report in the second BWP (Zhou, [0380]-[0384]; the wireless device may receive and measure CSI-RS to process the channel state information according to a reporting setting associated with a BWP indicated by higher layer parameter BWP-Id and can be a different BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Regarding claim 12, Sony teaches a base station (BS) device, comprising:
configure a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) associated with a plurality of beams in a cell associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (Sony, Figure 1, Section 2; UE is used to measure CSI resource on the active BWP and receives DCI that indicates BWP switching from the gNB, where Figure 1 depicts multiple beams per cell using multiple BWPs (frequency reuse 3)),
transmit, by the transceiver interface, a channel state indicator reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration associated with a first BWP of the plurality of BWPs, where the CSI-RS configuration comprises a beam measurement configuration for the plurality of beams (Sony, Section 2; CSI report configuration which indicates the UL BWP for CSI reporting and the associated CSI resource configuration which indicates the DL BWP for the reference signal to be used for the measurement, where the UE may assume that the NZP CSI-RS resources within the resource set are each transmitted with a different downlink spatial domain transmission filter, ie. different beam and only one BWP can be activated at a time for each serving cell and UE is not expected to measure CSI resource on inactive BWP), and
selectively transmit, by the transceiver interface, an indication to switch to one of the plurality of beams based on the measurement report (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resources on different BWP s for multiple times with BWP switching, for example, UE firstly measures CSI resource #1 on activated BWP as BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from gNB and the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2).
While the gNB of Sony referenced above and described in Section 2 would inherently possess a memory interface, antenna, transceiver interface, and a processor as base station devices are known to include, Sony does not expressly teach a memory interface; an antenna; a transceiver interface connected to the antenna; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory interface and transceiver interface configured to:
receive a measurement report that includes a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of from the measured one or more of the plurality of beams.
However, Ma teaches a memory interface; an antenna; a transceiver interface connected to the antenna; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory interface and transceiver interface (Ma, Fig. 2, [0061]-[0065]; a base station equipped with memory, controller/processor, Comm unit, and T antennas 234a through 234t) configured to:
receive a measurement report that includes a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of from the measured one or more of the plurality of beams (Ma, [0096]-[0105]; the UE may measure the configured set of CSI-RSs and report the channel estimation to the NTN entity in a CSI report, such as layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), or an RSRP among other examples. The UE may also obtain and report a more accurate measurement of the reference signal, such as perform layer 1 (L1) measurements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ma in order to measure reference signals with polarization (Ma, [0002]).
Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach wherein the CSI-RS configuration is transmitted in a second BWP of the plurality of BWPs that is different from the first BWP; and wherein the measurement report is received in an initial BWP that is different from the first BWP.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the CSI-RS configuration is transmitted in a second BWP of the plurality of BWPs that is different from the first BWP (Zhou, [0420]-[0424]; CSI-RS resources may be configured in the same or different BWP); and
wherein the measurement report is received in an initial BWP that is different from the first BWP (Zhou, [0380]-[0384]; the wireless device may receive and measure CSI-RS to process the channel state information according to a reporting setting associated with a BWP indicated by higher layer parameter BWP-Id and can be a different BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Regarding claim 2, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise selectively receiving an indication to switch to one of the plurality of beams based on the measurement report (Sony, Section 2; the UE firstly measures CSI resrouce#1 on activated BWP as BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from the gNB).
Regarding claim 3, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise switching from the first BWP to the second BWP after generating the measurement report (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resource#1 on BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from the gNB. Thereafter, an aperiodic CSI report associated with CSI resource#2 on BWP#2 would be triggered, the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2 and switch to BWP#3 for CSI resource#3).
Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach causing transmission of the measurement report on the second BWP.
However, Zhou teaches causing transmission of the measurement report on the second BWP (Zhou, [0380]-[0384]; the wireless device may receive and measure CSI-RS to process the channel state information according to a reporting setting associated with a BWP indicated by higher layer parameter BWP-Id and can be a different BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 and the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise measuring a subset of the plurality of beams according to the beam measurement configuration (Sony, Section 2; beam measurement is configured via CSI report configuration which indicates the UL BWP for CSI reporting, where the UE can measure CSI resources on different BWPs with BWP switching).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 and the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise measuring all of the plurality of beams according to the beam measurement configuration (Sony, Section 2; beam measurement is configured via CSI report configuration which indicates the UL BWP for CSI reporting, where the UE can measure CSI resources on different BWPs with BWP switching).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 and the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the first BWP is an initial BWP, and the CSI-RS configuration is in the initial BWP (Sony, Section 2; BWP#0 can be used for initial cell access with all beams and corresponding SSBs and the UE fallback to the initial BWP, BWP#0, for SSB measurement if multiple beams need to be measured).
Regarding claim 10, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise, after measuring the one or more of the plurality of beams, switching to an active BWP, where the active BWP is the second BWP, before generating the measurement report (Sony, Section 2; BWP#0 can be used for initial cell access with all beams and corresponding SSBs and the UE fallback to the initial BWP, BWP#0, for SSB measurement if multiple beams need to be measured).
Regarding claim 11, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the operations further comprise, after measuring the one or more of the plurality of beams, switching to a configured BWP of the plurality of BWPs that is different from the first BWP and second BWP, before generating the measurement report (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resources on different BWP s for multiple times with BWP switching, for example, UE firstly measures CSI resource #1 on activated BWP as BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from gNB and the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2, then the UE can switch to BWP#3 for CSI resource #3 measurement).
Regarding claim 13, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony does not expressly teach wherein a user equipment (UE) switches from the second BWP to the first BWP to measure L1-RSRP (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resources on different BWP s for multiple times with BWP switching, for example, UE firstly measures CSI resource #1 on activated BWP as BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from gNB and the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2, then the UE can switch to BWP#3 for CSI resource #3 measurement).
Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach transmits the measurement report in the second BWP.
However, Zhou teaches transmits the measurement report in the initial BWP (Zhou, [0380]-[0384]; the wireless device may receive and measure CSI-RS to process the channel state information according to a reporting setting associated with a BWP indicated by higher layer parameter BWP-Id and can be a different BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Regarding claim 15, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein only a single BWP of the plurality of BWPs comprises the CSI-RS configuration (Sony, Section 2; the associated CSI resource configuration which indicates the DL BWP for the reference signal to be used for the measurement).
Regarding claim 65, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the CSI-RS configuration is transmitted in only a single BWP of the plurality of BWPs, wherein the single BWP is the second BWP (Sony, Section 2; the associated CSI resource configuration which indicates the DL BWP for the reference signal to be used for the measurement).
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0291522 A1), hereafter referred Hu.
Regarding claim 14, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the BS of claim 12 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the plurality of BWPs associated with the plurality of beams are configured such that adjacent beams of the plurality of beams have a different BWP relative to one another (Sony, Section 2; UE measures CSI resource#1 on BWP#1, then UE switches to BWP#2 after receiving DCI indicating BWP switching from the gNB. Thereafter, an aperiodic CSI report associated with CSI resource#2 on BWP#2 would be triggered, the UE performs CSI measurement on BWP#2 and switch to BWP#3 for CSI resource#3).
Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein non-adjacent beams of the plurality of beams reuse at least one of the BWPs of the adjacent beams, resulting in a frequency reuse factor equal to or greater than one.
However, Hu teaches wherein non-adjacent beams of the plurality of beams reuse at least one of the BWPs of the adjacent beams, resulting in a frequency reuse factor equal to or greater than one (Hu, [0040]-[0043]; in the NTN, a frequency reuse factor is used to characterize the number of non-overlapping frequency bands the entire system bandwidth is divided into, where when the reuse factor is equal to 1, then all beams use the same frequency band and when the reuse factor is greater than 1, then adjacent beams may use different frequency bands but non-adjacent beams use the same frequency band).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Hu in order to improve the accuracy of measurement and estimation with the reference signal (Hu, [0042]).
Claims 63 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farag et al. (US 2021/0274503 A1), hereafter referred Farag.
Regarding claim 63, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 above. Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach wherein a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state) jointly indicates a reception beam for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a reception beam for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with at least one of the first BWP and the second BWP.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state) jointly indicates a reception beam for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a reception beam for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with at least one of the first BWP and the second BWP (Zhou, Fig. 16, [0278] and [0337]-[0338]; the base station may indicate one TCI state, which may be used for the reception of downlink channels (e.g. PDCCH, PDSCH) among the configured TCI states in RRC configurations of the wireless device, where for each DL BWP configured to a wireless device in a serving cell, the wireless device may be provided with antenna port quasi co-location information provided by TCI-State, and the Rx beam setting of a wireless device for monitoring PDCCH on one or more beam pairs are through an indication of spatial QCL assumption between the antenna ports which is the TCI state).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, in the second BWP, radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the base station comprising a beam indication radio network temporary identifier (BI-RNTI) associated with a group of user equipments (UEs) configured for common beam switching among the plurality of BWPs; receiving, in the second BWP, downlink control information scrambled with the BI-RNTI and comprising a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
However, Farag teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, in the second BWP, radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the base station comprising a beam indication radio network temporary identifier (BI-RNTI) associated with a group of user equipments (UEs) configured for common beam switching among the plurality of BWPs; receiving, in the second BWP, downlink control information scrambled with the BI-RNTI and comprising a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Farag, [0279]-[0296] and [0350]; a beam indication channel has a CRC scrambled with a beam indication RNTI, where the beam indication is based on a configuration (via higher layer RRC signaling) and the beam indication channel includes a DL TCI-state of one or more UEs in a group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Farag in order to enhance operational efficiency of beam indication by using 2-stage beam indication (Farag, [0344]).
Sony in view of Ma in view of Zhou further in view of Farag does not expressly teach in response to receiving the TCI state, delaying, by a configured number of slots, switching between the first BWP and the second BWP or from the second BWP to another BWP of the plurality of BWPs before applying the TCI state.
However, Nory teaches in response to receiving the TCI state, delaying, by a configured number of slots, switching between the first BWP and the second BWP or from the second BWP to another BWP of the plurality of BWPs before applying the TCI state (Nory, [0230]-[0233]; switching delay from a dormant BWP to regular BWP can be based on whether some attributes of the dormant BWP are same as that of the regular BWP, for example if TCI state assumptions (e.g. for CSI measurements) of dormant and regular BWP are same, the switching delay can be a first value, otherwise it can be a second value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma in view of Zhou further in view of Farag to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nory in order to make a lot of information/processing from dormant BWP to be readily available and usable when the other regular BWP is activated for data transmission/reception (Nory, [0227]).
Regarding claim 64, Sony in view of Ma in view of Zhou in view of Farag further in view of Nory teaches the baseband processor of claim 63 above. Sony in view of Ma in view of Zhou further in view of Farag does not expressly teach wherein the delaying by the configured number of slots comprises:
prior to the switching from the second BWP to the first BWP according to the CSI-RS configuration, delaying switching from the second BWP to the first BWP by a first slot delay when the TCI state is associated with the first BWP; and prior to the switching from the first BWP to the second BWP that is the active BWP, delaying switching from the first BWP to the second BWP by a second slot delay when the TCI state is associated with the second BWP.
However, Nory teaches wherein the delaying by the configured number of slots comprises:
prior to the switching from the second BWP to the first BWP according to the CSI-RS configuration, delaying switching from the second BWP to the first BWP by a first slot delay when the TCI state is associated with the first BWP; and prior to the switching from the first BWP to the second BWP that is the active BWP, delaying switching from the first BWP to the second BWP by a second slot delay when the TCI state is associated with the second BWP (Nory, [0230]-[0233]; switching delay from a dormant BWP to regular BWP can be based on whether some attributes of the dormant BWP are same as that of the regular BWP, for example if TCI state assumptions (e.g. for CSI measurements) of dormant and regular BWP are same, the switching delay can be a first value, otherwise it can be a second value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma in view of Zhou further in view of Farag to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nory in order to make a lot of information/processing from dormant BWP to be readily available and usable when the other regular BWP is activated for data transmission/reception (Nory, [0227]).
Claims 4 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou as applied to claims 1 and 65 above, and further in view of Yiu (US 2019/0230550 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 66, Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 and the BS of claim 65 above. Further, Sony teaches wherein the CSI-RS configuration appears in only a single BWP of the plurality of BWPs within the cell (Sony, Section 2; the associated CSI resource configuration which indicates the DL BWP for the reference signal to be used for the measurement).
Sony in view of Ma does not expressly teach wherein the measuring of the one or more of the plurality of beams is performed based on the CSI-RS configuration with only a single BWP switch from the second BWP to the first BWP.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the measuring of the one or more of the plurality of beams is performed based on the CSI-RS configuration with only a single BWP switch from the second BWP to the first BWP (Zhou, [0297]-[0298]; a wireless device measure one or more beams associated with the base station as the UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhou in order to support effective data transmission via a wireless channel between a base station and a wireless device (Zhou, [0380]).
Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein the CSI-RS configuration comprises the beam management configuration for all of the plurality of beams, and wherein the measuring of the one or more of the plurality of beams is performed based on the CSI-RS configuration with only a single BWP switch from the second BWP to the first BWP.
However, Yiu teaches wherein the CSI-RS configuration comprises the beam management configuration for all of the plurality of beams (), and wherein the measuring of the one or more of the plurality of beams is performed based on the CSI-RS configuration with only a single BWP switch from the second BWP to the first BWP (Yiu, [0045]-[0050] and [0126]; when there are multiple CSI-RS configurations the network can configure multiple CSI-RSs on different BWPs for a same serving frequency and enable switching BWPs, where the CSI resource configuration can be a configuration of beam management).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Sony in view of Ma further in view of Zhou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yiu in order to perform the measurement on the non active BWP (Yiu, [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416