Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Patent no. 7,166,145) in view of Kang et al. (CN 111549231).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a method for recovering noble metals of and/or from a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a solid carrier material (the source can be automobile catalytic converters or chemical catalysts that can be crushed to increase the amount of surface area, reaction sites and metal recovery – col. 2, lines 46-50 and 62-65; col. 3, lines 3-7), and at least one noble metal which is selected from the group consisting of palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), and rhodium (Rh – Examples I and II in columns 5-6), and is present at least partially in elemental form, comprising the successive steps of:
(a) converting the at least one noble metal present at least partially in elemental form into an oxidation state > 0 by treating the heterogeneous catalyst with oxidizing agent (an oxidant with a high oxidation potential is added to the solution; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 10) in the presence of hydrochloric acid (col. 4, lines 4-10; tables in Examples I-VI) to form a two-phase system A comprising a hydrochloric aqueous phase Al and a solid phase comprising the carrier material that is insoluble therein (figure 1; the resulting product is a slurry that can be separated into a solution and a solid – col. 4, lines 40-46); and
(c) cathodically electro-depositing/electrowinning the at least one noble metal from the hydrochloric aqueous phase Al of the two-phase system A (the precious metal is recovered from the solution by electrowinning – col. 4, lines 46-49; col. 5, lines 4-8).
Han fails to teach, in step (c), cathodically electro-depositing the at least one noble metal in the presence of the solid phase comprising the carrier metal.
Kang teaches a method for recovering noble metals from a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a solid carrier material, i.e. waste aluminum-based platinum palladium catalyst, wherein a final electrodepositing step is performed in the presence of the catalyst particles to deposit platinum and palladium on the cathode (abstract; steps a-e on page 3; see example 2 on page 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to perform the electrodeposition step of Han in the presence of the solid phase comprising the carrier metal, i.e. catalyst particles, because as taught by Kang, this is well-known in the art to be effective to effectively deposit platinum and palladium on the cathode, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
It is important to note that steps (b) and (b’) are optional, and have not been given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses the successive steps (a) and (c) in variant (c1) without steps (b) and (b'), as discussed in detail in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the heterogeneous catalyst of Han is a spent heterogeneous catalyst (the source can be automobile catalytic converters or chemical catalysts that can be crushed to increase the amount of surface area, reaction sites and metal recovery – col. 2, lines 46-50 and 62-65; col. 3, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 8, the heterogeneous catalyst of Han may be subjected to one or more pretreatment steps before step (a - the source can be automobile catalytic converters or chemical catalysts that can be crushed and passed through a US standard screen of 60 mesh per inch to increase the amount of surface area, reaction sites and metal recovery – col. 2, lines 46-50 and 62-65; col. 3, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 9, the oxidizing agent of Han is selected from various nitrogen oxides and ozone, among others (col. 4, lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 10, Han further teaches wherein the noble metal recovery takes place in the sense of an almost complete removal from the carrier material (the source is crushed to increase the amount of surface area, reaction sites and metal recovery – col. 2, lines 46-50 and 62-65; col. 3, lines 3-7. The recovery values of platinum, palladium and rhodium were found to be up to 99% - Examples I-VI).
Regarding claim 11, the cathodic electro-deposition/electrowinning of Han is carried out with spatial separation of the partial reactions (as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses wherein the cathodic electro-deposition/electrowinning takes place until a desired noble metal concentration in the hydrochloric aqueous phase is reached (the remaining solution is recycled back in order to reduce the consumption of lixiviants and enhance the extraction process – col. 5, lines 9-25).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Patent no. 7,166,145) in view of Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2008/0254311) and Kang (CN 111549231).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches a method for recovering palladium of and/or from a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a solid carrier material (the source can be automobile catalytic converters or chemical catalysts that can be crushed to increase the amount of surface area, reaction sites and metal recovery – col. 2, lines 46-50 and 62-65; col. 3, lines 3-7), and palladium present at least partially in elemental form (Examples I and II in columns 5-6), comprising the successive steps of:
(a) converting the at least one noble metal present at least partially in elemental form into an oxidation state > 0 by treating the heterogeneous catalyst with oxidizing agent (an oxidant with a high oxidation potential is added to the solution; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 10) in the presence of hydrochloric acid (col. 4, lines 4-10; tables in Examples I-VI) to form a two-phase system A comprising a hydrochloric aqueous phase Al and a solid phase comprising the carrier material that is insoluble therein (figure 1; the resulting product is a slurry that can be separated into a solution and a solid – col. 4, lines 40-46),
(c') adding a first and a second liquid reagents to the slurry before electrowinning (claims 1; 31; figure 1; col. 4, lines 40-49), and
(c) cathodically electro-depositing the palladium from the hydrochloric aqueous phase of the two-phase system treated in step (c'; cathodic electro-deposition/electrowinning of the at least one noble metal from the hydrochloric aqueous phase Al of the two-phase system A (the precious metal is recovered from the solution by electrowinning – col. 4, lines 46-49; col. 5, lines 4-8).
Han fails to teach wherein step (c’) comprises adjusting a basic pH of the hydrochloric aqueous phase Al of the two-phase system A in the range of > 8 to 14 using ammonium hydroxide.
Chen discloses a method for electroplating palladium comprising a step of adding enough buffering agent, i.e. ammonium hydroxide, to render the electroplating solution to have a pH of about 9 to about 12 (paragraphs 24, 36, Table 3; claims 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add ammonium hydroxide to the solution of Han before the electrowinning step because as taught by Chen, adding enough of this buffering agent to render the solution to have an alkaline pH is well-known in the art to be effective for electroplating palladium, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Hans in view of Chen fails to teach, in step (c), cathodically electro-depositing the at least one noble metal in the presence of the solid phase comprising the carrier metal.
Kang teaches a method for recovering noble metals from a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a solid carrier material, i.e. waste aluminum-based platinum palladium catalyst, wherein a final electrodepositing step is performed in the presence of the catalyst particles to deposit platinum and palladium on the cathode (abstract; steps a-e on page 3; see example 2 on page 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to perform the electrodeposition step of Han in the presence of the solid phase comprising the carrier metal, i.e. catalyst particles, because as taught by Kang, this is well-known in the art to be effective to effectively deposit platinum and palladium on the cathode, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
It is important to note that steps (b) and (b’) are optional, and have not been given patentable weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art made of record fails to teach steps (b) and (b’), as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant argues that the prior art made of record fails to teach, in step (c), cathodically electro-depositing the at least one noble metal in the presence of the solid phase comprising the carrier metal. Therefore, after further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been presented in view of Kang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794