DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Amendment and Response filed 12/05/2025 has been entered and made of record. This application contains xx pending claims.
Claims 1, 12 and 14 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amend claim 1 to include the allowable subject matter indicated in previous action (5/27/25). However, Further consideration, examiner regretfully withdraw the allowable subject matter and allowable claim 11 based on a new found reference DOBASHI et al. (US 20200269315) which discloses “water-soluble resin include polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylamide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyethylene oxide, and methylcellulose. Among these, a water-soluble resin is preferable and polyvinyl alcohol is more preferable”. Since Mori discloses the oxide film 40 is removeable by chemical etch, therefore a POSITA can use either oxide or polyvinyl alcohol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori, and further in view of DOBASHI et al. (US 20200269315, hereinafter DOBASHI).
Regarding to claim 1, Mori discloses an electrical connecting device (fig. 1 shows probe card included a guide unit 21) comprising:
a first guide plate (fig. 8s[31A]) having a first guide hole (fig. 6,8s[33]);
a second guide plate (fig. 8s[31B]) having a second guide hole (fig. 6,8s[33]); and
an introduction film (fig. 3 shows guide unit include film 40 as shown in fig. 8) arranged between the first guide plate (fig. 6,8c[31A]) and the second guide plate (fig. 6,8[31B]) and having an introduction guide hole (fig. 8 shows hole 32 coated with layer 40 as introduction guide hole); and
a probe extending through the first guide hole, the introduction guide hole, and the second guide hole (fig. 1-2 show pin 20 extended through the guide unit 21 and fig. 8 shows the guide unit 21 included a film 40 being selectively removed by chemical etching. Therefore, probe 20 would extending through the first guide hole, the introduction guide hole, and the second guide hole);
wherein the introduction film is formed from a material dissolved by a specific solvent that does not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe (fig. 8 shows the oxide film 40 is selectively removed by chemical etching while not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe).
However, Mori does not disclose wherein the introduction film is formed from a material that is any of polyvinyl alcohol, starch, and gelatin.
DOBASHI discloses the water-soluble resin include polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylamide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyethylene oxide, and methylcellulose. Among these, a water-soluble resin is preferable and polyvinyl alcohol is more preferable.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to use polyvinyl alcohol instead of oxide film as a matter of design choice.
Regarding to claim 2, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein the first guide plate (fig. 8[31A]), the second guide plate (fig. 8[31B]), and the introduction film (fig. 6[40]) are arranged such that central axes of the first guide hole (fig. 8 show first guide hole as a center hold of [31A]), the second guide hole (fig. 8 show second guide hole as a center hold of [31B]), and the introduction guide hole conform to each other (fig. 8 shows the center guide holes and the hole form the spacer 32 conform to each other).
Regarding to claim 4, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, further comprising a spacer configured to not be dissolved by the specific solvent (fig. 6-8 show the spacer 32 does not dissolved by chemical etching of film 40), the spacer (fig. 6-8 show the spacer 32) being arranged between an outer circumferential part of the first guide plate (fig. 6-8 (31A)) and an outer circumferential part of the second guide plate (fig. 6-8 (31B)), wherein the introduction film is arranged in a hollow region defined by the spacer between the first guide plate and the second guide plate (see fig. 6-8 shows film 40 is arranged in a hollow region).
Regarding to claim 5, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 4, wherein an outer circumferential part of the introduction film is interposed between partial spacers composing the spacer (see fig. 6).
Regarding to claim 6, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein the electrical connecting device comprises a plurality of the introduction films arranged separately from each other between the first guide plate and the second guide plate (fig. 6 shows oxide film 40 form on top and bottom of spacer 32 creates a plurality of films 40).
Regarding to claim 12, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein: the introduction film has a first introduction guide hole and a second introduction guide hole (fig. 8 shows film 40 with multiple guide hole);
the probe is a first probe (fig. 1-2 show plurality probes thus there is a first probe among probes); the electrical connecting device further comprises a second probe fig. 1-2 show plurality probes thus there is a second probe among probes); and
a respective probe extends through each introduction guide hole (fig. 1-2 show multiple probes through the guide unit 21 which includes film 40).
Regarding to claim 13, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 12, wherein: the first guide plate has two first guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31A with plurality guide holes 33 thus there are two guide holes in the first guide plate);
the second guide plate has two second guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31B with plurality guide hole 33 thus there are two guide holes in the second guide plate); and a
respective probe extends through each first guide hole, introduction guide hole, and second guide hole (fig. 1-2 shows plurality probes through the guide unit 21 which includes first and second guide plates).
Regarding to claim 14, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein:
the probe is a first probe; the electrical connecting device further comprises a second probe; (fig. 1-2 show plurality probes thus there are first and second probes);
the first guide plate has two first guide holes and includes a first middle portion located between the two first guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31A with plurality guide holes 33 thus there are two guide holes in the first guide plate and the two holes are separated by a middle portion);
the second guide plate has two second guide holes and includes a second middle portion located between the two second guide holes (fig. 4 show plate 31B with plurality guide holes 33 thus there are two guide holes in the second guide plate and the two holes are separated by a middle portion);
a portion of the introduction film is located directly between the first middle portion and the second middle portion (fig. 8C shows film 40 surrounded the first and second guide plates); and
a respective probe extends through each first guide hole, introduction guide hole, and second guide hole (fig. 1-2 shows plurality probes through the guide unit 21 which includes first and second guide plates).
Regarding to claim 15, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first guide plate has two first guide holes and includes a first middle portion located between the two first guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31A with plurality guide holes 33 thus there are two guide holes in the first guide plate and the two holes are separated by a middle portion);
the second guide plate has two second guide holes and includes a second middle portion located between the two second guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31B with plurality guide holes 33 thus there are two guide holes in the second guide plate and the two holes are separated by a middle portion); and
a portion of the introduction film is located directly between the first middle portion and the second middle portion (fig. 8C shows film 40 surrounded the first and second guide plates).
Regarding to claim 16, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein:
the introduction film has a first surface and an opposite second surface (fig. 8C shows film 40 with two opposite faces);
the introduction guide hole extends from the first surface to the second surface (fig. 8C shows film 40 with two opposite faces and holes extended through the two faces);
the first surface is uncovered adjacent to the introduction guide hole (fig. 8C); and
the second surface is uncovered the introduction guide hole (fig. 8C).
Regarding to claim 17, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein: a hollow region is defined between the first guide plate and the second guide plate; and the introduction film spans across the hollow region (fig. 3-8 shows a hollow region 32S).
Regarding to claim 18, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein: a hollow region is defined between the first guide plate and the second guide plate; and the introduction film spans across the hollow region to divide a first portion of the hollow region from a second portion of the hollow region; and the introduction guide hole interconnects the first portion of the hollow region and the second portion of the hollow region (fig. 3-8 show a hollow region 32S between the first and first and second guide plates and the introduction guide hole).
Regarding to claim 19, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1, wherein: the probe comprises a plurality of probes (fig. 1-2 show plurality probes);
the first guide plate has a plurality of first guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31A with plurality guide holes 33);
the second guide plate has a plurality of second guide holes (fig. 4 shows plate 31B with plurality guide holes 33); and
the introduction film has a plurality of introduction guide holes (fig. 8C shows film 40 with plurality guide holes);
wherein each probe in the plurality of probes extends through a respective first guide hole, a respective introduction guide hole, and a respective second guide hole (fig. 1-2 show plurality probes through the guide unit 21 which includes first and second guide plates).
Regarding to claim 20, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 19, wherein each introduction guide hole receives a single probe from the plurality of probes (fig. 1-2 show each probe inserted to corresponding hole).
Regarding to claim 11, Mori discloses a method of manufacturing an electrical connecting device (abstract discloses to provide a manufacturing method of a probe card), comprising:
preparing a probe head including a first guide plate (fig. 6-8[31A]) having a first guide hole (fig. 6-8[33]),
a second guide plate (fig. 6-8[31B]) having a second guide hole (fig. 6-8[33]), and
an introduction film having an introduction guide hole (fig. 8C shows 32 coated with layer 40 as introduction guide hole) and arranged between the first guide plate (fig. 6-8[31A]) and the second guide plate (fig. 6-8[31B]);
continuously inserting a probe (fig. 1-2 shows pin 20) through the first guide hole, the introduction guide hole (pin 20 is inserted through hole 33 of first and second guide plates), and the second guide hole; and
dissolving the introduction film by a specific solvent that does not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe (fig. 8 shows the oxide film 40 is selectively removed by chemical etching while not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe).
However, Mori does not disclose, wherein the introduction film is formed from a material that is any of polyvinyl alcohol, starch, and gelatin.
DOBASHI discloses the water-soluble resin include polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylamide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyethylene oxide, and methylcellulose. Among these, a water-soluble resin is preferable and polyvinyl alcohol is more preferable.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to use polyvinyl alcohol instead of oxide film as a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori in view of DOBASHI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn.
Regarding to claim 3, Mori in view of DOBASHI discloses the electrical connecting device according to claim 1.
Mori in view of DOBASHI does not disclose wherein a relative position of the second guide hole with respect to the first guide hole is allowed to be shifted in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the probe.
Fig. 6-7 of Ahn shows a probe card with first and second guide plates each guide plate has corresponding guide hole and is allowed to be shifted in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the probe.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to incorporate the design of Ahn into Mori in view of DOBASHI in order to improve surface strength, and prevent a problem of warpage deformation due to heat under a high-temperature atmosphere.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are allowed.
Regarding to claim 7, Mori discloses a method of manufacturing an electrical connecting device (abstract discloses to provide a manufacturing method of a probe card), comprising:
preparing a probe head including a first guide plate (fig. 6-8[31A]) having a first guide hole (fig. 6-8[33]),
a second guide plate (fig. 6-8[31B]) having a second guide hole (fig. 6-8[33]), and
an introduction film (fig. 6 shows film 40) having an introduction guide hole (fig. 6[32S] as the hole of spacer 32 interpreted as introduction guide hole) and arranged between the first guide plate (fig. 6-8[31A]) and the second guide plate (fig. 6-8[31B]);
continuously inserting a probe (fig. 1-2 shows pin 20) through the first guide hole, the introduction guide hole, and the second guide hole (pin 20 is inserted through hole 33 of first and second guide plates and the hole 32S of spacer 32); and
dissolving the introduction film by a specific solvent that does not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe (fig. 8 shows the oxide film 40 is selectively removed by chemical etching while not dissolve the first guide plate, the second guide plate, and the probe).
However, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest “after continuously inserting the probe through the first guide hole, the introduction guide hole, and the second guide hole” including all limitations as claimed.
Claims 8-10 are allowed for dependent upon claim 7.
Conclusion
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863