Response to Arguments
The Section 112 indefiniteness rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are unpersuasive. All of Applicant’s arguments would appear to have been raised previously and, in response, the examiner had included further explanations in the rejections themselves which are believed to be sufficient to address these arguments.
In particular, Applicant argues that ‘the Office Action has not shown that the scheduling request in ZHAO is "for a first logical channel," as the device in ZHAO "determines whether an allocated resources meets data for a first logical channel.” ’ This is unpersuasive. The rejection below specifically addressed this assertion, by point out the following:
‘paragraphs 112-116: “the terminal device receives the uplink resource (for example a first uplink resource) allocated by the network device to the terminal device”, where “the first uplink resource includes uplink resources with two formats, [and] the first logical channel may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a first format in the two formats, or may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a second format in the two formats”, teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated as a result of the SR transmitted on the second logical channel, may be used by and is associated with the “first logical channel” in transmitting the data on that “first logical channel”, thus teaching the recited “resources on the first logical channel”; further see paragraph 112-113, explicitly disclosing and teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated “based on the first scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel” can be used to transmit data on the first logical channel, where “the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink resource means all logical channels that can use the first uplink resource to transmit data and that correspond to the terminal device”, such “logical channels” thus clearly including the first logical channel, thus teaching the recited “resources on the first logical channel” ‘
In any event, the specific recitation at issue here would appear to be “a scheduling request for resources on the first logical channel”, which is not exactly of the same scope as a scheduling request “for a first logical channel”, which would appear to form the basis of Applicant’s arguments here. The remainder of the same paragraph in Applicant’s response is also believed to be addressed by the portion of the rejection cited above, as well as the rejection in its entirety. Applicant limits its focus to the supposedly disclosed “meeting a condition” and “canceling a scheduling request”, but in doing so, omits other disclosed teachings of Zhao cited in the rejection that are specifically relevant to the limitations at issue. In any event, instead of disclosing “canceling a scheduling request” as Applicant would appear to understand Zhao, the disclosure therein in fact discloses “cancel[ing] the first scheduling request (SR) state” [see paragraph 112], which is a significantly different teaching. With all due respect, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9,1,17,24,2-4,6-7,10-12,14-15,18-20,22-23,25-27,29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0178278 A1 to Zhao et al.
AS to claim 9, Zhao discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to (Fig. 4, paragraphs 102-104, disclosing “terminal device” that performs the disclosed methods, teaching “UE” and recited components, to a PHOSITA):
determine that data is buffered for transmission via a first logical channel that does not have a valid scheduling request configuration (Figs. 4, 7 [e.g., S730] and 8 [e.g., S840], paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, disclosing the process being initiated/performed “when the terminal device has the uplink data transmission requirement on the first logical channel”, where the “first logical channel does not have the scheduling request configuration”, teaching this limitation); and
transmit, via a scheduling request resource of a second logical channel that has a valid scheduling request configuration, a scheduling request for resources on the first logical channel to transmit the data buffered for transmission via the first logical channel (Figs. 4, 7 [e.g., S730] and 8 [e.g., S840], paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 105-107, 136-138 [transmitting a scheduling request using the second channel’s SR configuration/resources] and 112 [the step of transmitting the buffered data using the scheduling request response]; further see, in particular, paragraphs 112-116: “the terminal device receives the uplink resource (for example a first uplink resource) allocated by the network device to the terminal device”, where “the first uplink resource includes uplink resources with two formats, [and] the first logical channel may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a first format in the two formats, or may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a second format in the two formats”, teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated as a result of the SR transmitted on the second logical channel, may be used by and is associated with the “first logical channel” in transmitting the data on that “first logical channel”, thus teaching the recited “resources on the first logical channel”; further see paragraph 112-113, explicitly disclosing and teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated “based on the first scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel” can be used to transmit data on the first logical channel, where “the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink resource means all logical channels that can use the first uplink resource to transmit data and that correspond to the terminal device”, such “logical channels” thus clearly including the first logical channel, thus teaching the recited “resources on the first logical channel”, teaching this limitation); and
receive a resource grant that allocates resources for transmission of the data buffered for transmission via the first logical channel (Figs. 4, 7 [e.g., S730] and 8 [e.g., S840], paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see discussion above, in particular, see paragraphs 112: “the terminal device receives the uplink resource … allocated by the network device to the terminal device” and paragraph 112-113, explicitly disclosing and teaching that the “first uplink resource” [teaching the recited “receive a resource grant”] allocated “based on the first scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel” can be used to transmit data on the first logical channel, where “the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink resource means all logical channels that can use the first uplink resource to transmit data and that correspond to the terminal device”, such “logical channels” thus clearly including the first logical channel, thus teaching that the “first uplink resource [the recited “resource grant”]” can be used “for transmission of the data buffered for transmission via the first logical channel”, teaching this limitation;
see, generally, paragraphs 75-88, disclosing that a scheduling request state such as a “first scheduling request (SR) state” means that “a scheduling request is triggered by the first logical channel and is not canceled”, and that “when the data of the first logical channel … is sent to the network device, the terminal device cancels the first SR state …”, teaching to a PHOSITA that this SR state merely indicates that a “state” exists where an SR is expected to be sent to request resources for transmitting data on the first logical channel, and this “state” is canceled when that data on the first logical channel is transmitted, meaning that the cancelation of the SR state does not teach merely just the cancelation of such SR state, it also indicates, as in the paragraphs cited above, that transmission of the first logical channel’s data is complete).
AS to claims 1,17,24 , see rejection for claim 9.
AS to claim 2, Zhao discloses the method as in the parent claim 1.
Zhao further discloses further comprising: determining, after determining that the data is buffered for transmission via the first logical channel that does not have a valid scheduling request configuration, to not initiate a random access channel procedure based at least in part on a determination that the second logical channel has a valid scheduling request configuration. (Figs. 4, 7 and 8, paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 147 [S840,S850] and 117,139,7, where the disclosed methods “reduce an unnecessary random access request” if the Sr configuration of the another/second logical channel is satisfactory).
AS to claim 3, Zhao discloses the method as in the parent claim 1.
Zhao further discloses further comprising:selecting the second logical channel from one or more logical channels that have valid scheduling request configurations based at least in part on a priority-based selection operation. (Figs. 4, 7 and 8, paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 107: second/another logical channel selected based on “priority”).
AS to claim 4, Zhao discloses the method as in the parent claim 1.
Zhao further discloses further comprising:selecting the second logical channel from one or more logical channels that have valid scheduling request configurations based at least in part on a random selection operation. (Figs. 4, 7 and 8, paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 107: “the second logical channel is ANY logical channel with a same priority as the first logical channel”, thus teaching to a PHOSITA that any same-priority logical channel may be randomly selected).
AS to claim 6, Zhao discloses the method as in the parent claim 1.
Zhao further discloses further comprising:transmitting, using the resources allocated by the resource grant, the data via the first logical channel. (Figs. 4, 7 and 8, paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 112-116: “the terminal device receives the uplink resource (for example a first uplink resource) allocated by the network device to the terminal device”, where “the first uplink resource includes uplink resources with two formats, [and] the first logical channel may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a first format in the two formats, or may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a second format in the two formats”, teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated as a result of the SR transmitted on the second logical channel, may be used by and is associated with the “first logical channel” in transmitting the data on that “first logical channel”, thus teaching this limitation; further see paragraph 112-113, explicitly disclosing and teaching that the “first uplink resource” allocated “based on the first scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel” can be used to transmit data on the first logical channel, where “the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink resource means all logical channels that can use the first uplink resource to transmit data and that correspond to the terminal device”, such “logical channels” thus clearly including the first logical channel, thus teaching this limitation).
AS to claim 7, Zhao discloses the method as in the parent claim 1.
Zhao further discloses further comprising:determining that additional data is buffered for transmission via the second logical channel; and transmitting at least a portion of one or more of the data or the additional data using the resources allocated by the resource grant. (Figs. 4, 7 and 8, paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 112-116: “the terminal device receives the uplink resource (for example a first uplink resource) allocated by the network device to the terminal device”, where “the first uplink resource includes uplink resources with two formats, [and] the first logical channel may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a first format in the two formats, or may be used to transmit data by using a resource with a second format in the two formats”, and where “the second logical channel may be used to transmit data only by using resource with the second format in the two formats”, that teaching buffering and transmitting data through the second logical channel, and generally teaching “transmitting at least a portion of one or more of the data or the additional data using the resources allocated by the resource grant”, to a phosita).
AS to claims 10-12,14-15 , see rejection for claim 2-4,6-7.
AS to claims 18-20,22-23 , see rejection for claim 2-4,6-7.
AS to claims 25-27,29-30, see rejection for claim 2-4,6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0178278 A1 to Zhao et al., in view of EP 3,668,238 A1 to Huawei (provided by Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter “Huawei”)
As to claim 8, Zhao discloses the method as in parent claim 1
Zhao discloses wherein transmitting the scheduling request comprises: transmitting the scheduling request via a channel associated with the valid scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel. (Figs. 4, 7 [e.g., S730] and 8 [e.g., S840], paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, see, in particular, paragraphs 105-107, 136-138 [transmitting a scheduling request using the second channel’s SR configuration/resources] and 112 [the step of transmitting the buffered data using the scheduling request response])
Zhao does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting the scheduling request via a physical uplink control channel.
Huawei discloses transmitting the scheduling request via a physical uplink control channel. (Abstract: “sending the first SR to an access network device by the first uplink control channel resource”)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Zhao’s teachings may be combinable with Huawei’s teachings to reject this claim, i.e., “wherein transmitting the scheduling request comprises:transmitting the scheduling request via a physical uplink control channel associated with the valid scheduling request configuration of the second logical channel”, since the SR transmitted in Zhao may further be transmitted through the PUCCH, as the SR taught in Huawei is likewise transmitted through a pucch. The cited references are directed to wireless communication infrastructures and methods. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and signaling therefor in wireless communication systems. (Zhao, paragraphs 1-26; Huawei, Abstract, paragraphs 1-8). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
AS to claim 16 , see rejection for claim 8.
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0178278 A1 to Zhao et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0043438 A1 to Fwu et al.
As to claim 31, Zhao discloses the method as in parent claim 1
Zhao does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling request for the resources comprises a request for PUSCH resources.
Fwu discloses wherein the scheduling request for the resources comprises a request for PUSCH resources. (paragraphs 32-33: “the SR uses simple On-Off signaling … to request a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource …”)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Zhao’s teachings may be combinable with Fwu’s teachings to reject this claim, since it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA that the SR transmitted in Zhao may be further characterized by Fwu’s SR teachings discussed above. The cited references are directed to wireless communication infrastructures and methods. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and signaling therefor in wireless communication systems. (Fwu, paragraphs 1-33; Zhao, paragraphs 1-26; Huawei, Abstract, paragraphs 1-8). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
As to claim 32, Zhao discloses the method as in parent claim 1
Zhao discloses wherein determining that the data is buffered for transmission via the first logical channel that does not have the valid scheduling request configuration comprises: determining that the logical channel does not have valid resources for the scheduling request (Figs. 4, 7 [e.g., S730] and 8 [e.g., S840], paragraphs 5-17, 102-117, 132-148, disclosing the process being initiated/performed “when the terminal device has the uplink data transmission requirement on the first logical channel”, where the “first logical channel does not have the scheduling request configuration”, teaching this limitation)
Zhao does not appear to explicitly disclose having valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request.
Fwu discloses having valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request (paragraph 30: “the PUCCH may be used by a UE to send an SR to request resource allocation …”)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Zhao’s teaching of “wherein determining that the data is buffered for transmission via the first logical channel that does not have the valid scheduling request configuration comprises: determining that the logical channel does not have valid resources for the scheduling request” may be combinable with Fwu’s teaching of “having valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request” to reject “wherein determining that the data is buffered for transmission via the first logical channel that does not have the valid scheduling request configuration comprises: determining that the logical channel does not have valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request” since both teachings pertain to conditions for determining insufficiencies in resource allocation, and it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA that the insufficiency condition disclosed in Zhao may be further characterized by lacking Fwu’s condition of “having valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request” discussed above. The cited references are directed to wireless communication infrastructures and methods. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and signaling therefor in wireless communication systems. (Fwu, paragraphs 1-33; Zhao, paragraphs 1-26; Huawei, Abstract, paragraphs 1-8). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
As to claims 33,34, see rejections for claims 31,32, in the same order.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463