DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 12/3/2025.
Claims 21-22, 24-30, 32-33 and 36-38 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-38 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 28-29 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (US 2020/0358502 A1); in view of Ibrahim et al. (US 2022/0014298 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 28 and 37; Faxer discloses receiving a channel state reporting configuration, the channel state reporting configuration comprising information to enable determination of one or more channel state quantities (the terminal device receives a CSI report configuration of resources for downlink CSI measurements comprising at least two resources for interference measurements; such a configuration indicates that the measured interferences over the multiple CSI-IM resources shall be filtered or averaged for CSI estimation; see paragraphs [0079], [0126] and Fig. 6); wherein determination of at least one of the one or more channel state quantities is based, at least in part, on a plurality of interference measurements taken at a plurality of times (interference is measured in all or a subset of the downlink slots in a radio frame; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; see paragraph [0129]); determining at least one channel state quantity using, at least, a plurality of interference measurements taken at a plurality of different times, wherein the plurality of interference measurements are enabled, at least in part, by information in the channel state reporting configuration (the terminal device obtains measurements on the resources for downlink CSI measurements in order to estimate the CSI; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; see paragraphs [0082], [0087], [0129] and Fig. 6); and transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity (the terminal device transmits at least one CSI report of the CSI measurements to the network node; see paragraph [0085] and Fig. 6).
Faxer discloses a UE receives a channel state reporting configuration and transmits a CSI reporting to a base station.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose the channel state reporting configuration comprises information to enable determination of a number of interference measurements to be made.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the channel state reporting configuration comprises information to enable determination of a number of interference measurements to be made (a CSI report configuration may indicate a CSI-IM resource set for the UE to use for interference measurements; the CSI-IM resource set includes multiple CSI-IM resources; see paragraphs [0076] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Ibrahim to comprise information to enable determination of a number interference measurements in order to report accurate CSI that reflects inter-cell interference (see paragraph [0076] of Ibrahim).
Specifically for claim 21; Faxer discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor (processing circuitry; see paragraph [0146] and Fig. 14), and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (storage medium and instructions; see paragraph [0146] and Fig. 14).
Specifically for claim 37; Faxer discloses a computer program comprising instructions (software instructions stored in a computer program product; see paragraph [0146]).
Regarding claims 29, 36 and 38; Faxer discloses determining a channel state reporting configuration, the channel state reporting configuration comprising information to enable determination of one or more channel state quantities (the network node configure a CSI report configuration with at least two resources for interference measurements in a radio frame; such a configuration indicates that the measured interferences over the multiple CSI-IM resources shall be filtered or averaged for CSI estimation; paragraphs [0062], [0065], [0126] and Fig. 5), wherein determination of at least one of the one or more channel state quantities is based, at least in part, on a plurality of interference measurements taken at a plurality of times (interference is measured in all or a subset of the downlink slots in a radio frame; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; see paragraph [0129]); transmitting the determined channel state reporting configuration (the network node transmits configuration information; see paragraphs [0063], [0126] and Fig. 5); and receiving at least one channel state quantity determined using, at least, a plurality of interference measurements enabled by information in the channel state reporting configuration (the terminal device obtains measurements on the resources for downlink CSI measurements in order to estimate the CSI; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; the network node receives CSI report; see [0072], [0082], [0087], [0129] and Fig. 5).
Specifically for claim 29; Faxer discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor (processing circuitry; see paragraph [0137] and Fig. 12), and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (storage medium with software instructions; see paragraph [0138] and Fig. 12).
Specifically for claim 38; Faxer discloses a computer program comprising instructions (software instructions; see paragraph [0138] and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 35; Faxer discloses wherein receiving the at least one channel state quantity comprises receiving at least a first channel state quantity at a first time and receiving at least a second channel state quantity at a second, different time (channel sate information and interference information can be reported by the terminal device to the network on a periodic basis; therefore, a UE transmits a first CSI report at a first time and a second CSI report at a second time; see paragraphs [0007] – [0008]) and wherein at least one of the at least first and second channel state quantities comprises the at least one channel state quantity determined using, at least, a plurality of interference measurements taken at a plurality of times (the terminal device obtains measurements on the resources for downlink CSI measurements in order to estimate the CSI; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; see paragraphs [0082], [0087] and [0129]).
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Ibrahim; in view of Aiba; and in further view of Ouchi et al. (US 2022/0183079 A1).
Regarding claims 22 and 30; Faxer discloses wherein the channel state reporting configuration comprises information to enable: determination of the radio resources to be used for the plurality of interference measurements (the configuration information specifies slot locations of the at least two resources for interference measurement within the radio frame; see paragraphs [0063], [0065], [0126] and [0129]); determination of the one or more channel state quantities to be determined (the terminal device receives a CSI report configuration of resources for downlink CSI measurements comprising at least two resources for interference measurements; such a configuration indicates that the measured interferences over the multiple CSI-IM resources shall be filtered or averaged for CSI estimation; see paragraphs [0079], [0126] and Fig. 6).
Faxer discloses a UE receives a channel state reporting configuration.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose the channel state reporting configuration comprises information to enable determination of a number of interference measurements to be made.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the channel state reporting configuration comprises information to enable determination of a number of interference measurements to be made (a CSI report configuration may indicate a CSI-IM resource set for the UE to use for interference measurements; the CSI-IM resource set includes multiple CSI-IM resources for multiple interference measurements; see paragraphs [0076] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Ibrahim to comprise information to enable determination of a number interference measurements in order to report accurate CSI that reflects inter-cell interference (see paragraph [0076] of Ibrahim).
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim discloses a UE receives a channel state reporting configuration.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose the configuration includes information for reporting time offset, radio resources to be used for transmitting the report and time interval for interference measurement.
Ouchi discloses and determination of a time interval over which interference measurements are to be made (timeRestrictionForInterferenceMeasurements in the CSI-ReportConfig may be configured so that the time domain can be limited for one or multiple interference measurement; see paragraph [0334]); determination of at least one reporting time offset (slot offset (offset of the time domain) is configured in the CSI-ReportConfig for CSI report; see paragraph [0334]); determination of at least one radio resource to be used for transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity (CSI-ReportConfig includes reportConfigType to be semiPersistentOnPUSCH or semiPersistentOnPUCCH; see paragraph [0334]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim and Ouchi to include information for reporting time offset, radio resources to be used for transmitting the report and time interval for interference measurements to perform communication efficiently (see paragraph [0007] of Ouchi).
Claims 23, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Ibrahim; and in further view of Aiba et al. (US 2021/0014881 A1).
Regarding claim 23; the combination of Faxer and Ibrahim discloses a UE receives a channel state reporting configuration and transmits a CSI reporting to a base station.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose transmitting a CSI reporting in response to receiving a message.
Aiba discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to: receive at least one message (a user equipment receives a DCI indicating a semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH; see paragraph [0018]); and transmit the at least one determined channel state quantity, in response to receiving the at least one message (the UE transmits the semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH; see paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba to transmit a CSI reporting in response to a message to improve communication flexibility and efficiency (see paragraph [0005] of Aiba)
Regarding claim 31; the combination of Faxer and Ibrahim discloses a UE receives a channel state reporting configuration and transmits a CSI reporting to a base station.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly discloses transmitting a CSI reporting in response to receiving a message.
Aiba discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to: transmit at least one message (a user equipment receives a DCI indicating a semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH; see paragraph [0018]) to cause transmission of at least the at least one channel state quantity determined using, at least, a plurality of interference measurements (the UE transmits the semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH; see paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer¸ Ibrahim and Aiba to transmit a CSI reporting in response to a message to improve communication flexibility and efficiency (see paragraph [0005] of Aiba).
Regarding claim 34; the combination of Faxer and Ibrahim discloses a base station receives a CSI reporting from a UE.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose receiving the CSI reporting on a PUSCH.
Aiba discloses wherein receiving the at least one channel state quantity comprises receiving the at least one channel state quantity on a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, or physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH (the UE transmits the semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUSCH; see paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba to receive a CSI reporting on a PUSCH to improve communication flexibility and efficiency (see paragraph [0005] of Aiba).
Claims 24-25 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Ibrahim; in view of Aiba; and in further view of Ouchi.
Regarding claims 24 and 32; the combination of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba discloses a UE receives a DCI message for CSI reporting.
The combination of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba does not explicitly disclose the message comprises information to enable determination of radio resource to be used.
Ouchi discloses determination of at least one radio resource to be used for transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity (CSI-ReportConfig includes reportConfigType to be semiPersistentOnPUSCH or semiPersistentOnPUCCH; see paragraph [0334]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim, Aiba and Ouchi to include radio resources to be used for transmitting the report to perform communication efficiently (see paragraph [0007] of Ouchi).
Regarding claims 25 and 33; the combination of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba discloses a UE receives a DCI message for CSI reporting.
The combination of Faxer, Ibrahim and Aiba does not explicitly disclose the message comprise one or more timing indicators.
Ouchi discloses and one or more timing indicators, relative to which one or more reporting time offsets can be determined (the CSI-ReportConfig includes configured periodicity and slot offset (offset of the time domain) in which a CSI report is to be transmitted; see paragraph [0334]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim, Aiba and Ouchi to include one or more timing indicators to perform communication efficiently (see paragraph [0007] of Ouchi).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Ibrahim; and in further view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0178223 A1).
Regarding claim 26; the combination of Faxer and Ibrahim discloses a UE transmits a CSI reporting to a base station.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose transmitting the CSI reporting on a PUCCH with a selected time offset.
Kang discloses wherein transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity comprises transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity on a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, wherein transmitting on PUCCH comprises selecting a reporting time offset from a list of offsets indicated in the channel state reporting configuration (PUCCH-based aperiodic CSI reporting timing is indicated by DCI; the UE may interpret that the slot offset value to be used for PUCCH-based CSI reporting is one of {1,2,3,4}; see paragraphs [0393] and [0396]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim and Kang to transmit the CSI reporting on a PUCCH with a selected time offset to achieve aperiodic CSI on PUCCH (see paragraph [0393] of Kang).
Claim27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Ibrahim; and in further view of Ouchi.
Regarding claim 27; Faxer discloses wherein transmitting the determined at least one channel state quantity comprises transmitting at least a first channel state quantity at a first time and transmitting at least a second channel state quantity at a second, different time (channel sate information and interference information can be reported by the terminal device to the network on a periodic basis; therefore, a UE transmits a first CSI report at a first time and a second CSI report at a second time; see paragraphs [0007] – [0008]) and wherein at least one of the at least first and second channel state quantities comprises the at least one channel state quantity determined using, at least, a plurality of interference measurements taken at a plurality of times (the terminal device obtains measurements on the resources for downlink CSI measurements in order to estimate the CSI; the interference measurements corresponding to slots are filtered (e.g. averaged) and used as one interference measurement; see paragraphs [0082], [0087] and [0129]).
Faxer discloses a UE transmits a first and a second CSI reporting to a base station.
The combination of Faxer and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose the first and the second CSI report time offsets are defined in the channel state reporting configuration.
Ouchi discloses wherein the first and second transmissions use different reporting time offsets indicated in the channel state reporting configuration and/or derived from timing indicators (periodicity and slot offset are configured in CSI-ReportConfig for CSI report in the PUCCH; see paragraph [0343]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Ibrahim and Ouchi to transmit the first and the second CSI report time offsets in the channel state reporting configuration to compliance with 3GPP standard (see paragraph [0002] of Ouchi).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot in view of a new reference Ibrahim et al. (US 2022/0014298 A1) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415